$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,194 reviews
Updated and charming

Love The Whitehall, one of the great Chicago hotels. The staff was amazing, thank you!! See full review

  • Kim L.S.
  • Aug 26, 2014
birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was... See full review

  • Lebowski666
  • Jul 11, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1194)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 1194
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Father's Day
Charlotte, NC
Jul 6, 2009

Not Worth the Price

We had a small stream of water as a shower. The air conditioning didn't work; rooms were very humid and sticky. The hotel was still under renovation/restoration; it would have been nice to know this prior to booking this hotel. The staff at The Whitehall Hotel were very friendly, which is about all that I can say about my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ready to vacate
Chicago
Jul 17, 2013

Time to Vacate this property

I traveled to Chicago for one day, for my niece's Birthday celebration (American G Store). The check-in went well, however, once we arrived into the room, it was very muggy. Soon after we checked-in we got a knock at the door, however, we unable to respond right away. Low and behold, one of the housekeepers used her key-card to enter into my room, with no real valid explanation (she was very startled I should add). She was accompanied by another housekeeper, however, she ended up walking off after they discovered there was someone in the room. I asked the last standing housekeeper the reasoning behind this, she stated that she wanted to make sure that we had towels. Mind you, she did not have a towel in her hand, nor a stocked cart to provide towels, in the event that we did not have towels. She did have an empty bin like cart, most likely to drop our goods into once they helped themselves to our belongings. Just to add, she knocked on the door around 6pm, which check in is at 3pm. By 6 o'clock, the rooms are well complete for the 3 o'clock check in. We just happened to be in the room, because we checked in late. I would not want to believe that her motive was to "steal from us" however, I can't make any sense out of this otherwise. There would have been no way to prove that someone came into our room while we were away, and stole from us. They do have a disclaimer in the rooms that states they are not responsible for lost or stolen items, so perhaps, they have had issues in the past. Back to the first issue. The air conditioner did not work properly, so as a result, it was hot, muggy, and I could not breath all night. I ended up getting sick days after, as a result of the dirty air. Although we did not spend alot of time in the room, I was ready to go. I had not had such a bad experience in a long time. The next day we checked our bags in with the baggage attendants, and made a few runs while we were awaiting our departure from Chicago. When it was time to leave, we requested our bags. It took the attendants at least 30 minutes to find our bags, which as a result caused us to barely make it to Union Station. The taxi-cab driver, bless his heart, made miracles for us to make it. On our way to the cab (at the hotel), my daughter noticed that her American G doll back-pack bag strap was torn/broken, so she was devastated. We had concluded that they must have known they damaged the bag, which is why it took them so long to bring our items out. At this point, we had to go, because we were running late. So, I contacted the hotel immediately via cell phone to determine how they deal with replacements. Obviously, if we had the time to deal with it then, we would have, but they had already thrown us completely off of schedule.I got the run around for days about this bag, and yet, I do not have a replacement (it's been weeks now). I spent 200 for the night roughly, my other family spent 99 for the night. They had a much better experience than us. No matter how much you spend, great customer service should always be most important in any establishment. I reported each event to Management every step of the way. Not one time did a Manager state that they apologized at all for anything that we experienced that day. So, to say the least, we will never lodge at WhiteHall again. I am sure that some people have had great experiences, but in this case, it was horrible. I fogot to add that once it was time to lie down for the night, we discovered puberty hairs on the bedding (gross). We ended up taking that layer off, and just laying on one sheet. I did not know so much could go wrong in just a days time. It has really left me scarred. I used to love Chicago, however, I have no intentions of coming back there anytime soon. They now have opened an American Girl Doll store in Ohio, so my next trip will be there. Hopefully, we will have much better customer service in that City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of dinning and shopping options in the area. You are within walking distance to a ton of places.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kygrl
Burlington, Kentucky
Aug 12, 2012

Overcharged..and Ignored

I had recently written a review to evaluate the overall hotel. In that review I indicated that I would absolutely reccommend the hotel, and would stay here again. However, I have since discovered that I was overcharged on my credit card for an extra day of parking ($49). I called the hotel initially and was told that I would see a refund in 3-5 business days. It has been over a month, and I have not seen a refund nor a return phone call when attempting to call their management staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lux-Vagabond
Nice, France
Jul 9, 2010

Nothing Great

I stayed three days with my two children. My cousin stayed down the hall with her 9 year old daughter. It has a great location - right next to the John Hancock building on the Magnificent Mile. We spent time on Navy Pier, in Millennium Park, at the Filed Museum of Natural History and shopping. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The maids and bellmen, friendly, helpful and efficient. Now, the downside - the front desk staff were neither friendly nor efficient. No smiles, not even a "Hello" upon arrival. I did early check-in, (before my room was ready) and when I returned later in the day, they could no longer find my reservation. The front desk (unlike the rooms) was far from spotless. When we pointed out the spilled pop on the reception desk the clerk did nothing to clean it up (either she thought such work was beneath her or it wasn't in her job description). Also, I am always annoyed when I pay for a luxury hotel and they then charge extra to have internet in my room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The John Hancock Center is a short walk from the hotel. If you go there around 6:00 - while everyone else is headed for supper - you will have the entire observation deck to yourself! There is a choice of two self-guided, narrated tours - one geared to adults and one for children which come with the price of admission. They are informative & entertaining. I loved it - and so did my 10 year old son.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kenny and jaz
Irvine, California
Oct 22, 2012

not very good

When we walked in we were expecting fancy, to my surprise we were very dissapointed. The hotel needs a renovation especially since the lobby is the first thing you see and we did not have a good first impression. The check in area was run down with cracks on the wall and pieces of crown molding missing. The room was better however still not up to standards. The tv was small and the bed was not that comfortable, there was also a $49 charge for parking which is not so bad but I would have liked to be warned. One of the good things was the view other than that everything else was mediocre. Definitely not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the locals about the best places to eat. Try the pizza and hot dogs.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Mar 28, 2011

OK, not sure if I would stay there again

This was our first trip to Chicago which I mentioned to the front desk as we checked in. Was asked if rm#302 would be OK, well I guess, seeing that this is our first time here and not filmier with the Hotel. That night we were kept awake 1/2 the night with the safe buzzing we tried everything and still kept buzzing, I called the front desk the lady who answered wasn't very pleasant she asked what it was doing as I told her my husband sat it outside of our room because it wouldn't stop she then says to me do you want me to send someone up? WELL, Yes I do because I'm sure the people next door wouldn't like it sitting out there either. She didn't offer a new room or any apologizes to me. So the next morning I called down and talked with Carlos, what a nice person he was, right away he asked us if we would like to move into a different room? This is after I explained to him that the TV wasn't working correctly and the safe kept us up half the night. The Hotel was OK but not what we were expecting according to the web site details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping and dining were phenomenal and the site seeing was a lot of fun as well. Everywhere you would go people were extremely friendly. Fun town to visit for sure.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pemm
Pacific Grove, CA, USA
Sep 2, 2011

poor service

good location but poor service...a king-sized bedroom downgraded to queen-sized for no reason...housekeeping staff's annoying...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brazil
Aug 8, 2010

It has seen better days. Great location

The hotel is located in a walk distance to the Magnificent Mile and the Hancock Tower. it is also close to the red line which can be used to go up and down through Chicago. Our staying would have been better if the room was better maintained, the bathroom ceiling had problems with the painting, the closet doors were not working properly, putting my kids in risk, and the old TV had lost its colors. Besides, a couple argued/fought in the room next to mine one night when it was necessary to call the police and medical service. The problem was the following day when the staff did not say a word about it even after I questioned what happened. I understand this could happen anywhere, but I expected a better service to the guests afterwards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is one block away from Michigan Ave. - Magnificent Mile. Where you can find all types of stores for nice shopping.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kheri
Fort Myers
Jun 2, 2010

Somethings Missing

Have stayed in same area. Whitehall is missing the touch of a caring General Manager. Room was to be non-smoking,had a air purifier in the room, didn't work. When requested to change roomI was instructed to check in later, it was full occupancy. We stayed for 4 days, location saved the reservation. Staff were friendly, Concierge was very helpful. Will not choose to stay at this hotel in future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
On the way
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 26, 2012

family trip to Chicago

We chose this hotel because of its wonderful location. The room is clean and the bed is quite comfortable. We had valet parking which is USD 49 per day. The service was always on time. However, it does not provide disposable toothbrush, toothpaste, slippers and electric water heater. We were told that the hotel staff will help provide the hot water. But sometime the service was just not available. The internet passward has been changing almost every 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search