$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,209 reviews
This is a jewel in the city

We got this hotel for a steal of a price, was a bit worried what we would end up with but this... See full review

  • tcdlm
  • Oct 21, 2014
Doesnt get any better, in the heart of Chicago, Great surrounding area

Staff is great, friendly, helpful. Location, great views, walkable, near shopping and dinning.... See full review

  • BrandonGallegos
  • Oct 2, 2014
The Whitehall Hotel remains a landmark destination in downtown Chicago, offering a very European sense of grace and grandeur. Thanks to meticulous restorations. In perfect harmony with the old world charm are modern conveniences such as a fitness center. In-room features include three multi-line telephones with voicemail, high speed internet (for fee). Step outside and you'll find that the hotel is ideally located in the heart of the Gold Coast, nestled amid the Magnificent Mile's shops, restaurants, theaters, entertainment, and the business district. The Whitehall Hotel, Downtown Chicago's True Independent Boutique Hotel, proudly and successfully endures the test of time. The hotel will exceed your expectations and invite you to explore The Whitehall Hotel today.

This property is 100% smoke free

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1209)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1209 out of 1209
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 13, 2009

Mixed feelings

The hotel as clean and well located. The staff was truly unfriendly. A first for me, and I travel extensively for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jul 30, 2009

not so good

arrived and was unable to get non-smoking room although book 3 weeks in advanced and requested same. room smelled; fortunately able to open window slightly. ac did not work-- front desk said hotel was installing central air

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
English traveller
Business
Delhi India
Jun 17, 2009

Poor

The hotel was in a good location. Just off the magnificent mile and near to the local train station. The hotel business centre was not usable due to (long term?) renovation, and no alternative fax email business service was provided. A request to download an important email was turned down. The day after we arrived we went out and returned at 6pm to find that our room had not been cleaned. The cleaner informed was contacted and offered to do it that evening sayinfg she had had too many rooms to do and had to do the vacated rooms first. Next mornings tea came with out milk and only half the required tea bags. There was nothing in the mini bar, and the phone on the desk did not work so that we had to use the one in the bathroom. Th e facilities and the service was far below our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison WI
May 2, 2010

An unpleasant experience

When we made our reservation, we weren't told that non-smoking rooms were not available. Upon check-in we were assigned a smoking room on the smoking floor. The room and hall ways reeked of smoke which made our one-night stay unpleasant. The staff was helpful in sending up a machine to deodorize the room and although it helped somewhat, the smoking odors were still there. Had we known that non-smoking rooms were not available, we would have stayed elsewhere; and the result is that will noty stay here again. In addition thre was no TV remote; no clock and the TV was old,and outdated and not working properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lux-Vagabond
Business
Nice, France
Jul 9, 2010

Nothing Great

I stayed three days with my two children. My cousin stayed down the hall with her 9 year old daughter. It has a great location - right next to the John Hancock building on the Magnificent Mile. We spent time on Navy Pier, in Millennium Park, at the Filed Museum of Natural History and shopping. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The maids and bellmen, friendly, helpful and efficient. Now, the downside - the front desk staff were neither friendly nor efficient. No smiles, not even a "Hello" upon arrival. I did early check-in, (before my room was ready) and when I returned later in the day, they could no longer find my reservation. The front desk (unlike the rooms) was far from spotless. When we pointed out the spilled pop on the reception desk the clerk did nothing to clean it up (either she thought such work was beneath her or it wasn't in her job description). Also, I am always annoyed when I pay for a luxury hotel and they then charge extra to have internet in my room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The John Hancock Center is a short walk from the hotel. If you go there around 6:00 - while everyone else is headed for supper - you will have the entire observation deck to yourself! There is a choice of two self-guided, narrated tours - one geared to adults and one for children which come with the price of admission. They are informative & entertaining. I loved it - and so did my 10 year old son.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ines Ng
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 31, 2010

Unhappy!

I was very displeased when I noticed that my room was not what the online pictures displayed. So much for a four star hotel. Also, when I laid down on the bed you could feel the bed springs. Although, the staff were nice, but they did not even help us and showed us our room when we first checked in. Another thing is that they failed to mention that there was additional cost for parking. I was very surprised to pay $48 per night. I will never go back to this hotel again. I do not recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ro si
Business
Houston Texas
Feb 15, 2010

The Hotel Was Nice but a few glitches!

The service and staff were extremely nice and accomodating. However the water was only luke warm and would not get hot, so we could not take a shower for two of the days we were there. Chicago with 20 degree weather and cold showers do not mix. Also the television in our room had a horrible picture the color was green, and it was very old. Aside from those two things , the location and the food from the resturaunt were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brazil
Aug 8, 2010

It has seen better days. Great location

The hotel is located in a walk distance to the Magnificent Mile and the Hancock Tower. it is also close to the red line which can be used to go up and down through Chicago. Our staying would have been better if the room was better maintained, the bathroom ceiling had problems with the painting, the closet doors were not working properly, putting my kids in risk, and the old TV had lost its colors. Besides, a couple argued/fought in the room next to mine one night when it was necessary to call the police and medical service. The problem was the following day when the staff did not say a word about it even after I questioned what happened. I understand this could happen anywhere, but I expected a better service to the guests afterwards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is one block away from Michigan Ave. - Magnificent Mile. Where you can find all types of stores for nice shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TU Law Traveler
Business
Tulsa, OK
Mar 21, 2010

Great Location, That's about it

For the price the staff was very unfriendly. Stayed at Hampton Inn earlier same week and had a much better experience. All you are doing is paying for location. Got stuck in elevator for 10-15 minutes. Walls made out of cardboard heard everything in rooms and halls. Paid for "premier room", and did have a nice bathroom but upgraded bedding was simply a terrible mattress wrapped in a thick mattress pad. Woke up sore every morning. [...]Went to front desk to ask about something and never heard back from front desk. Much better options for price. Only concierge was a machine in the lobby. Staff not helpful at all when asking questions. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Sep 12, 2009

Could have been better

Had stayed here before and loved it, good location and adequate rooms at a reasonable price. This time I was disappointed by the plastic sheeting on the carpets in the halls, the noisy air conditioner, and curtains that didn't close to block out the light from outside. I should have complained, but I was too tired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top