$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,200 reviews
Chicago Trip for Two

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was beautiful and the bed was amazing. The... See full review

  • Missing Chicago 2014
  • Sep 16, 2014
Chicago getaway

Best front desk and doorman I have experienced there. Great location-easy access to "L", bars and... See full review

  • Westparkman
  • Sep 5, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1200)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1200 out of 1200
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
slope
New York, NY
Aug 23, 2011

Whitehall = Meh

Maybe I expected too much seeing as the hotel was pretty well located and looked good online. The Superior King was neither a King (bed was Queen-sized) nor superior (rotten TV, bed had been slept in by someone 500 lbs or more judging by the divot on the right side). Service was okay but nothing exceptional. Wi-fi was intermittent and slow. The place is old and dumpy. Not bad for the price I guess but still, lousy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
c0709
minneapolis, mn
Jun 25, 2011

old ragedy and broken

I must say the only thing nice about this hotel is the location it was a very central location that made it easy to go to the beach site see and hit up the night life with out spending a fortune on taxis and other transportation. Other than that the hotel was way over packed due to some stupid convention. the hall ways are in shambles the rooms are old with ancient tv's and to top off the over crowdedness there was only one working elevator the whole 5 days i was there making it almost imposible to get back to the room unless you wanted hike up the steep double tiered type stairs. the workers there were very nice but dont bother asking for directions if going somewhere, they dont know. or if they think they know they're probably wrong. and to top it all off for the price that you spend a free continental breakfast would have been nice instead they wanted like $20 for some eggs and toast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

if your not scared to try something new and aren't a homophobe check out boystown on the weekends its really hoppin

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
zetyr
new york, ny
Jun 13, 2011

small rooms, elevators do not work ...

hotel was expensive, had small rooms, 2 elevators one of which did not work, had to go up the stairs 7 floors twice. i don't think i will go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Michigan St.
Utah
Nov 29, 2011

Poor

The room itself was clean and the cost reasonable. However we were nickle and dimmed for everything else. For the cost of the room the Internet should be free. Speaking of the Internet; I timed the 24 hour period we should have had for the $9.95 fee and we were always cut off one hour shie of 24 hours. Good way to make money. The water and soda pop cost too much. I guess with no place close to buy those things it is also a good way to ding your guests. Your web page advertises all the amenities but you leave out the small print. We don't like untruths. No I won't stay at your hotel again nor will I recommend it to anyone else. Oh, and on the day housekeeping didn't restock the bar, I was treated like a lied and a thief when I called to ask for 2 cokes. What happened to "the customer is always right"?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay at your hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Claymore
Ypsilanti, MI, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Disappointed from Michigan

When i arrived i was shocked as to how small the lobby was you could barely turn around if there was another couple there with you, service was what i would expect at a motel 8, rooms are impossible to regulate the tempature, and if it rains i hope you brought your own umbrella, they never have any. i understand why no one smiles there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a AWESOME Breakfeast you have to go to the ORIGINAL HOUSE of PANCAKES. Unbelievable CREPES

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
May 25, 2009

Skip Unless it's a good deal

Ok first the good. Great location. I guess if you travel to Chicago for the first time stayin off Michigan avenue uptown (North Side) is ideal. But I guess the glamour ends there. We were able to visit a lot of sites thanks to the location, but time in the room (although infrequent) was not exactly up to par. First, they ga e us the wrong room. I booked a king size bed and they gave us a full. Now I don't quite care about bed size since a full will do the job, but the problem is I am pretty sure they knew. I refuse to believe that there are "mix-ups" like this these days. I think we've come to the day in age where overbooking and room mix-ups are behind us (thanks to computers). That said, I think they intentionally gave us a full size bed BECAUSE we booked 3rd party (orbitz). Second, the room needs a serious upgrade. It's described as having a "European sense of grace and grandeur". LOL. Are they serious? Are they talking about the 1998 26" zenith television? Or MAYBE the old eurpoean water pressure that drizzles on you and the cold water knob for the bathroom sink that had to be pressed down I. Order to turn properly. Ok I know I've hit them hard, they did have a good staff who were friendly and nice and like I said it has a GREAT location....but at some timethey have to upgrade to the modern world....great stay if you're trying to save a buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're not planning on leaving the city area no real need to rent a car. The L train is good enough to get you where you need to go in good time. Save the money and pollution take mass transit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pau Pau
Stockton, California
Jun 21, 2013

Family visit

The location was great as my family was staying a block away. However, we had a problem because the vent in the room was blowing right at my roommate. We asked the front desk for someone to adjust the vent and asked for a blanket. The engineer came and took care of the vent. Perfect! But the blanket that was brought to us was gross and unacceptable. We didn't want to use it and brought it down to the front desk the next morning in a plastic bag. We told the receptionist that it should be "taken out of service". She asked if we wanted to see the House Keeping Manager, but we opted not to as what we told her was sufficient., When I went to notify the front desk that I was going to check out a few days later the same receptionist was rude and disrespectful alluding to the return of the blanket. I was shocked at her attitude. The rest of the staff was totally helpful and congenial. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends because of the "blanket" incident and the attitude of the said receptionist. Also, the room maid was not consistent in leaving towels in the room. Twice in my seven day stay she neglected to leave two face cloths and my last night she didn't leave ANY face cloth. I had stayed at The Whitehall years ago and had a nice room and stay. But, I must say that the bathroom has no storage space for toiletries that a traveler would bring so I had to use the shelf in the closet. I'm sorry I had to report this, but it's something The Whitehall has to know this if they want to be a "real" four star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ACMC
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Not Happy

I was not happy with my stay. It did not look anything like the pics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
damjan
Chicago suburbs
Apr 26, 2013

Great location and staff, not much else.

Our room was small and a bit musty and our bath even smaller - very difficult for two women. No space on vanity for toiletries, safe did not work, TV was an antique with very few stations, and only one outlet. Location was great and the price a good value, but, would not return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street from the 900 N Michigan shops and only one block from Water Tower Place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy Godmom
North Carolina
Sep 24, 2013

Family getaway

Very disappointed with our stay. The location was the only high point. Neither double room we had had mattress protective cover, nor did the bottom sheet cover the entire bed; for any of the 4 beds! The lighting in the room was very poor. The rooms were not vacuumed daily. We took photos and shared with the manager about the sheets and lack of mattress cover, housekeeping called to apologize. We were offered 10% off our next stay. We will not return. Sorely disappointed in what we learned was a misapplied 4 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search