$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,217 reviews
Great stay

I like this hotel a lot is was really great! I would totally recomment this one to anyone. See full review

  • thewallflower
  • Dec 23, 2014
Great stay

This was an overall great experience and I would really recommend it. See full review

  • thewallflower
  • Dec 21, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1217)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1217 out of 1217
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 7, 2008

great location, needs work

I know this hotel has been recently renovated but this hotel is dark and the rooms are sparse..sorry I wanted to love it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Altos
Sep 27, 2008

Great location for shopping

The Whitehall has a great location for shopping in Chicago. The concierge was fabulous. She helped us with dining choices, sightseeing adventures, shopping events. Although the king bed was very comfortable,our room was quite small for 2 people. There was hardly room for 2 suitcases and our bodies. It took 2 days for us to get ice delivered.The bathroom was nicely appointed, but so narrow that we had to pass sideways. Each day we needed to call for another washcloth and handtowel as we wanted one each. The bathmat didn't arrive until the second day. Staff was pleasant and cheerful, nevertheless. There was a closet with enough hanging space, ironing board and iron. However, the sliding doors didn't slide without great effort. It was difficult/awkward to use the few drawers available. I used the nightstand drawers fpr a few small things and lived out of my suitcase. Usually for a 3 day stay I like to unpack. Folded things go in drawers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy', Bloomingdale's, every store you could think of was an easy walk. There's a great cafe/deli across the street and below groundlevel....L'Appetito.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenfield, IN
Oct 3, 2008

Good location, but...

The room was clean and comfortable, but my view was the top of air conditioning units with several pair of men?s underwear laying on top. At least one elevator was out of service each day, and one day the only working elevator was the service elevator. I stayed for 5 nights. On the second day, the restaurant in the hotel was shut down do to losing it's license and therefore no room service or ice was available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Plat traveler
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Won't stay here again - roaches and water damage

There were two people working the desk and it took me about 20 minutes to check in with just two people in line in front of me. I get up to my room and noticed water damage in the bathroom that they didn't repair. I sat down at the desk and the light didn't work, I couldn't log on to the internet with the code the provided, and a after a few minutes of sitting down, a saw a roach crawl up my computer screen. The bed and sheets were comfortable but I won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eureka, CA
Sep 5, 2008

Great location

I have stayed at the Whitehall numerous times through the years. This year I had problems with the air conditioning not working. Then when they fixed it, the fan was so noisy that I had problems sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice park three blocks away. I sometimes go down there to sit and enjoy the fountain and people watch. Lots of dogs at the park so if your a dog person you're sure to find your breed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Jan 4, 2010

Old...Nice beds.

The lobby and halls are a bit sketchy, but the rooms are pretty nice--especially the beds (all feather). You should DEFINITELY ask for a room that doesn't look out at the side of a large building (so close you could touch it). Half of the hotel does, so be sure to avoid this. The restaurant in the hotel is nice, and the staff is friendly. Although they're remodeling, I think they will still be lacking. BUT, if you're looking for a clean hotel in a great location and don't care about much else, the Whitehall would be fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rush street is not far at all from the hotel, and has some great restaurants and is beautiful at night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WASHINGTON DC
Jan 4, 2010

GROSS

Staff was beyond friendly, however this is by no means a 4 star hotel. I am not a snob by any means but I would have trouble classifying this as a 3 star hotel. The place needs serious work, and even lacks the character of a old boutique hotel that one might desire. The water in the bathroom didnt appear drinkable as my glass appeared to resemble skim milk as I drew it from the faucet. The tv, which was oddly placed at a 90 degree angle from the bed, was probably the talk of the technological world in 1979. I was really dissapointed with this hotel considering I could have stayed at several other 4 star hotels for the price I paid. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Or
Feb 8, 2010

Meh

I stayed here once before. I was hoping that my disappointment with the hotel was a fluke, and the price was good, so I gave it another shot. Maybe I am extra critical, because I've managed hotels for the past 5 years, but this hotel is such a disappointment. Tried preordering roomservice breakfast with instructions to have it delivered at 930am. At 900am the next day, I woke up to the breakfast being delivered early. There is little that can be more frustrating that getting woken up 30 minutes before you intended. Then I drank a sprite and gingerale out of the minibar, and they tried to charge me $40. I got the bill corrected, but these mistakes were frequent and unnecessary. Someone needs to take charge at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to eat at Avec.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gary, IN
Feb 8, 2010

The Whitehall

I enjoyed the theme of the hotel. It was antique and vintage. What I didn't like was the plastic on the carpet of the hallway, and the hotel staff (room service) knocking twice on the door and actually opening the door on us two hours before our check out. Our view was the windows of another building... So we did not get to really open the windows and enjoy any kind of skyline. The front door staff was friendly and the area of the hotel was accommodating for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
c0709
Business
minneapolis, mn
Jun 25, 2011

old ragedy and broken

I must say the only thing nice about this hotel is the location it was a very central location that made it easy to go to the beach site see and hit up the night life with out spending a fortune on taxis and other transportation. Other than that the hotel was way over packed due to some stupid convention. the hall ways are in shambles the rooms are old with ancient tv's and to top off the over crowdedness there was only one working elevator the whole 5 days i was there making it almost imposible to get back to the room unless you wanted hike up the steep double tiered type stairs. the workers there were very nice but dont bother asking for directions if going somewhere, they dont know. or if they think they know they're probably wrong. and to top it all off for the price that you spend a free continental breakfast would have been nice instead they wanted like $20 for some eggs and toast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

if your not scared to try something new and aren't a homophobe check out boystown on the weekends its really hoppin

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top