$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1233 out of 1233
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 25, 2009

Skip Unless it's a good deal

Ok first the good. Great location. I guess if you travel to Chicago for the first time stayin off Michigan avenue uptown (North Side) is ideal. But I guess the glamour ends there. We were able to visit a lot of sites thanks to the location, but time in the room (although infrequent) was not exactly up to par. First, they ga e us the wrong room. I booked a king size bed and they gave us a full. Now I don't quite care about bed size since a full will do the job, but the problem is I am pretty sure they knew. I refuse to believe that there are "mix-ups" like this these days. I think we've come to the day in age where overbooking and room mix-ups are behind us (thanks to computers). That said, I think they intentionally gave us a full size bed BECAUSE we booked 3rd party (orbitz). Second, the room needs a serious upgrade. It's described as having a "European sense of grace and grandeur". LOL. Are they serious? Are they talking about the 1998 26" zenith television? Or MAYBE the old eurpoean water pressure that drizzles on you and the cold water knob for the bathroom sink that had to be pressed down I. Order to turn properly. Ok I know I've hit them hard, they did have a good staff who were friendly and nice and like I said it has a GREAT location....but at some timethey have to upgrade to the modern world....great stay if you're trying to save a buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're not planning on leaving the city area no real need to rent a car. The L train is good enough to get you where you need to go in good time. Save the money and pollution take mass transit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Plat traveler
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Won't stay here again - roaches and water damage

There were two people working the desk and it took me about 20 minutes to check in with just two people in line in front of me. I get up to my room and noticed water damage in the bathroom that they didn't repair. I sat down at the desk and the light didn't work, I couldn't log on to the internet with the code the provided, and a after a few minutes of sitting down, a saw a roach crawl up my computer screen. The bed and sheets were comfortable but I won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
c0709
Business
minneapolis, mn
Jun 25, 2011

old ragedy and broken

I must say the only thing nice about this hotel is the location it was a very central location that made it easy to go to the beach site see and hit up the night life with out spending a fortune on taxis and other transportation. Other than that the hotel was way over packed due to some stupid convention. the hall ways are in shambles the rooms are old with ancient tv's and to top off the over crowdedness there was only one working elevator the whole 5 days i was there making it almost imposible to get back to the room unless you wanted hike up the steep double tiered type stairs. the workers there were very nice but dont bother asking for directions if going somewhere, they dont know. or if they think they know they're probably wrong. and to top it all off for the price that you spend a free continental breakfast would have been nice instead they wanted like $20 for some eggs and toast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

if your not scared to try something new and aren't a homophobe check out boystown on the weekends its really hoppin

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
zetyr
Business
new york, ny
Jun 13, 2011

small rooms, elevators do not work ...

hotel was expensive, had small rooms, 2 elevators one of which did not work, had to go up the stairs 7 floors twice. i don't think i will go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flamington Hills
Sep 1, 2008

No bang for my Buck

The location of the Whitehall is its best feature. The bed and its comfort was the next best feature. The room was ok, but several upgrades need to be done for it to compare to other 4 or 5 stars. The air conditioner was too loud, the bath fauset constantly dripped, and the tv needed to be upgraded, with batteries needed changing. Also the fitness center was limited and very dissapointing. Overall,this hotel was not what I expected for the price per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Rush Street is 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 7, 2008

great location, needs work

I know this hotel has been recently renovated but this hotel is dark and the rooms are sparse..sorry I wanted to love it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Altos
Sep 27, 2008

Great location for shopping

The Whitehall has a great location for shopping in Chicago. The concierge was fabulous. She helped us with dining choices, sightseeing adventures, shopping events. Although the king bed was very comfortable,our room was quite small for 2 people. There was hardly room for 2 suitcases and our bodies. It took 2 days for us to get ice delivered.The bathroom was nicely appointed, but so narrow that we had to pass sideways. Each day we needed to call for another washcloth and handtowel as we wanted one each. The bathmat didn't arrive until the second day. Staff was pleasant and cheerful, nevertheless. There was a closet with enough hanging space, ironing board and iron. However, the sliding doors didn't slide without great effort. It was difficult/awkward to use the few drawers available. I used the nightstand drawers fpr a few small things and lived out of my suitcase. Usually for a 3 day stay I like to unpack. Folded things go in drawers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy', Bloomingdale's, every store you could think of was an easy walk. There's a great cafe/deli across the street and below groundlevel....L'Appetito.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenfield, IN
Oct 3, 2008

Good location, but...

The room was clean and comfortable, but my view was the top of air conditioning units with several pair of men?s underwear laying on top. At least one elevator was out of service each day, and one day the only working elevator was the service elevator. I stayed for 5 nights. On the second day, the restaurant in the hotel was shut down do to losing it's license and therefore no room service or ice was available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Jan 4, 2010

Old...Nice beds.

The lobby and halls are a bit sketchy, but the rooms are pretty nice--especially the beds (all feather). You should DEFINITELY ask for a room that doesn't look out at the side of a large building (so close you could touch it). Half of the hotel does, so be sure to avoid this. The restaurant in the hotel is nice, and the staff is friendly. Although they're remodeling, I think they will still be lacking. BUT, if you're looking for a clean hotel in a great location and don't care about much else, the Whitehall would be fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rush street is not far at all from the hotel, and has some great restaurants and is beautiful at night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WASHINGTON DC
Jan 4, 2010

GROSS

Staff was beyond friendly, however this is by no means a 4 star hotel. I am not a snob by any means but I would have trouble classifying this as a 3 star hotel. The place needs serious work, and even lacks the character of a old boutique hotel that one might desire. The water in the bathroom didnt appear drinkable as my glass appeared to resemble skim milk as I drew it from the faucet. The tv, which was oddly placed at a 90 degree angle from the bed, was probably the talk of the technological world in 1979. I was really dissapointed with this hotel considering I could have stayed at several other 4 star hotels for the price I paid. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top