$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 21, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,217 reviews
Great stay

I like this hotel a lot is was really great! I would totally recomment this one to anyone. See full review

  • thewallflower
  • Dec 23, 2014
Great stay

This was an overall great experience and I would really recommend it. See full review

  • thewallflower
  • Dec 21, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1217)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1217 out of 1217
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bozo1
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 16, 2013

Pathetic

Poor lightnening in rooms. Front desk staff could not find my reservation even though I had a hotel reservation number and asked me to call this website. It happened to another guest while I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
damjan
Business
Chicago suburbs
Apr 26, 2013

Great location and staff, not much else.

Our room was small and a bit musty and our bath even smaller - very difficult for two women. No space on vanity for toiletries, safe did not work, TV was an antique with very few stations, and only one outlet. Location was great and the price a good value, but, would not return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street from the 900 N Michigan shops and only one block from Water Tower Place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pau Pau
Business
Stockton, California
Jun 21, 2013

Family visit

The location was great as my family was staying a block away. However, we had a problem because the vent in the room was blowing right at my roommate. We asked the front desk for someone to adjust the vent and asked for a blanket. The engineer came and took care of the vent. Perfect! But the blanket that was brought to us was gross and unacceptable. We didn't want to use it and brought it down to the front desk the next morning in a plastic bag. We told the receptionist that it should be "taken out of service". She asked if we wanted to see the House Keeping Manager, but we opted not to as what we told her was sufficient., When I went to notify the front desk that I was going to check out a few days later the same receptionist was rude and disrespectful alluding to the return of the blanket. I was shocked at her attitude. The rest of the staff was totally helpful and congenial. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends because of the "blanket" incident and the attitude of the said receptionist. Also, the room maid was not consistent in leaving towels in the room. Twice in my seven day stay she neglected to leave two face cloths and my last night she didn't leave ANY face cloth. I had stayed at The Whitehall years ago and had a nice room and stay. But, I must say that the bathroom has no storage space for toiletries that a traveler would bring so I had to use the shelf in the closet. I'm sorry I had to report this, but it's something The Whitehall has to know this if they want to be a "real" four star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steve Conference Traveler
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 23, 2013

White Hall only so-so

Chose this hotel for its proximity to a conference I was attaending. The conference hotel was sold out. The hotel overall was very average. The room was small and very plain. The sliding closet door did not function properly. Engineering was called for repairs but it was not fixed. Plumbing was exposed in the bathroom and fixtures were not up to par. Housekeeping did not replace the used toiletries on the second day. I will not book my next visit to Chicago at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy Godmom
Business
North Carolina
Sep 24, 2013

Family getaway

Very disappointed with our stay. The location was the only high point. Neither double room we had had mattress protective cover, nor did the bottom sheet cover the entire bed; for any of the 4 beds! The lighting in the room was very poor. The rooms were not vacuumed daily. We took photos and shared with the manager about the sheets and lack of mattress cover, housekeeping called to apologize. We were offered 10% off our next stay. We will not return. Sorely disappointed in what we learned was a misapplied 4 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 25, 2009

Skip Unless it's a good deal

Ok first the good. Great location. I guess if you travel to Chicago for the first time stayin off Michigan avenue uptown (North Side) is ideal. But I guess the glamour ends there. We were able to visit a lot of sites thanks to the location, but time in the room (although infrequent) was not exactly up to par. First, they ga e us the wrong room. I booked a king size bed and they gave us a full. Now I don't quite care about bed size since a full will do the job, but the problem is I am pretty sure they knew. I refuse to believe that there are "mix-ups" like this these days. I think we've come to the day in age where overbooking and room mix-ups are behind us (thanks to computers). That said, I think they intentionally gave us a full size bed BECAUSE we booked 3rd party (orbitz). Second, the room needs a serious upgrade. It's described as having a "European sense of grace and grandeur". LOL. Are they serious? Are they talking about the 1998 26" zenith television? Or MAYBE the old eurpoean water pressure that drizzles on you and the cold water knob for the bathroom sink that had to be pressed down I. Order to turn properly. Ok I know I've hit them hard, they did have a good staff who were friendly and nice and like I said it has a GREAT location....but at some timethey have to upgrade to the modern world....great stay if you're trying to save a buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're not planning on leaving the city area no real need to rent a car. The L train is good enough to get you where you need to go in good time. Save the money and pollution take mass transit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Aug 19, 2010

Not worth the price

My son and I decided to attend a midweek Cubs game and wanted the "Chicago" experience. We opted to stay downtown and thought we would stay away from the hotel chains. Mistake. The Whitehall Hotel speaks of old world charm.... if stale smoke smells, malfunctioning air conditioning, slow tiny elevators and wifi for a fee is your idea of old world charm than this is the place to stay. If you would like any of the creature comforts of hotels, i.e. ice machines with reasonably priced bottles of water (not cash bar $3.50 and $3.00 m&m's), closets that have both doors on them, not just one, less than $18.00 breakfast, and rooms with all the trim work (whole sections missing), cut off pipes coming thru the bathroom tile floor. I could go on and on.[...] I requested a non smoking room.Upon arrival my son and I got to our room and low and behold.... a smoking room. I called the front desk to have my room changed and was told that there were not any available rooms until the next day. The front desk manager offered to have housekeeping use a machine to "change" the air but we would have to leave the room for at least an hour or two.When we came back later the room smelled marginally better but the dangerous air machine was still sitting on the table and was never removed. I thought if we could turn the A/C unit cooler and the fan faster that it might help, wrong again the unit was malfunctioning so it never got cooler than 74 degrees unless we wanted to open the window and listen to the cooling units in the alley.We were switched the next morning to a lower floor that had A/C and did not stink of smoke but by then my opinion was set on the hotel.There are many hotels in the downtown area that would be a better choice than this one. Chicago is a great town and I can see returning again in the future but not to the Whithall Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giordano's Casual Italian. Lizzie O'Neil's on the Chicago river.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stamford, Connecticut
Oct 26, 2010

Whitehall, Chocago

Price good for location. Terrible elevator service. Have stayed here before and have one of only two elevators down is not unusual. Room spacious and clean but dark, no view. TV old. No food service. morning coffee is no great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Water Tower Place and Michigan avenue are just out the door. This is the most compelling reason to stay here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 31, 2011

Not the right choice for my demographic

It was small in every aspect pertaining to the room. TV was outdated & the picture didn't work but the audio did. we ordered room service & 2 chicken caesar salads were 44 dollars. ridiculous! Plus Tip! There wasn't a bartender at the bar when we would go to the bar area. I think this place is for an older demographic that just needs a place to stay. I didn't need much service but when I did, they were very quick, probably because it wasn't very busy. The place was clean but it just wasn't what I wanted for a vacation in chacago as a 23 year old with his 24 year old wife. Very boring hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flamington Hills
Sep 1, 2008

No bang for my Buck

The location of the Whitehall is its best feature. The bed and its comfort was the next best feature. The room was ok, but several upgrades need to be done for it to compare to other 4 or 5 stars. The air conditioner was too loud, the bath fauset constantly dripped, and the tv needed to be upgraded, with batteries needed changing. Also the fitness center was limited and very dissapointing. Overall,this hotel was not what I expected for the price per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Rush Street is 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top