$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1132 out of 1132
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
keru
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Feb 25, 2012

A little run down

After arriving at the Whitehall, it was immediately apparent how run down the rooms were. The furniture was scratched and torn, and the TV was incredibly outdated. The bed was very comfortable, but there were holes in the sheets. Also, the lighting was very poor, which made it hard to work on anything after the sun went down. However, the location is great for anywhere downtown, but the price is a little much for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
On the way
Family
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 26, 2012

family trip to Chicago

We chose this hotel because of its wonderful location. The room is clean and the bed is quite comfortable. We had valet parking which is USD 49 per day. The service was always on time. However, it does not provide disposable toothbrush, toothpaste, slippers and electric water heater. We were told that the hotel staff will help provide the hot water. But sometime the service was just not available. The internet passward has been changing almost every 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wumi
Family
Troy, MI
Jul 30, 2012

Very old hotel, poor management, don't like a 4 star

The location is fantastic, just one block from Johnhancock tower. This hotel is very old with small rooms and tiny bathroom. And they don't have swimming pool. They don't offer free internet access. And they charge 49 for parking. The management is terrible. We called twice to make sure we have a baby crib in our room before we arrive.They said it was all set. BUT we still didn't have the crib when we checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
christikeeg
Couples
Canterbury, Ct
Jul 30, 2012

Not so Four Star

Parts of the Hotel were under construction. You had to go to the lobby to get a bucket of ice. On Sunday check out only one person was working the desk. Our air conitioner stopped working not once but twice. Not some place I would go to again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The average traveler
Couples
Ohio
Jun 11, 2012

Not impressed!

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in a king-superior room and were not impressed! The room was small, our toilet didn't flush (we told front desk and they were well aware of the problem, told us the "trick" to flushing but weren't going to fix it), phone didn't work, and we were treated poorly due to profiling since we are a young couple! Another couple we met checked into their "clean" room and it looked half lived in! The location is the only thing this hotel has going for it! The valet told us parking was built into our room rate, only to find a bill for $49/night parking under our door the last day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the double decker bus tour at night! Tickets can be bought outside of John Hancock building.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unenthused
Chicago
Jun 8, 2012

Disappointing

Like a behemoth held up by toothpicks, so too was my experience at this burgeoning tower in the heart of the city. I enjoyed the look of the place, but the crumbling ceiling stucco in my room and the nasty price of wi-fi (which didn't even end up working) kept me from liking this particular place. ...That and I paid for a king suite and was shuffled into a room with two regular sized beds, not a king to be found.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KristyM
Couples
Denver, co
Sep 26, 2012

Old and smelly

The hallways were smelly...that kind of smell they use in nursing homes to cover up the old people smell. The room was damages (parts were hanging off of the closet doors) the shower barely drained and the faucets were hooked up backwards. The tv was from 1982, and there were no ice machines/beverage machines on our floor. The staff, however, was quite friendly. All in all, I would have chosen a different hotel. 4 star? Not so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ken Sheri
Couples
Detroit , mi
Oct 8, 2012

Dated and

Very dated facility, clean. Very average. Friendly and helpful doormen. Personal sweaters and gloves for check in staff?? Lacking finish, needs updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kenny and jaz
Family
Irvine, California
Oct 22, 2012

not very good

When we walked in we were expecting fancy, to my surprise we were very dissapointed. The hotel needs a renovation especially since the lobby is the first thing you see and we did not have a good first impression. The check in area was run down with cracks on the wall and pieces of crown molding missing. The room was better however still not up to standards. The tv was small and the bed was not that comfortable, there was also a $49 charge for parking which is not so bad but I would have liked to be warned. One of the good things was the view other than that everything else was mediocre. Definitely not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the locals about the best places to eat. Try the pizza and hot dogs.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bozo1
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 16, 2013

Pathetic

Poor lightnening in rooms. Front desk staff could not find my reservation even though I had a hotel reservation number and asked me to call this website. It happened to another guest while I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top