$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,913 reviews
birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was... See full review

  • Lebowski666
  • Jul 11, 2014
trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff, See full review

  • Mom North
  • Jun 7, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1913)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1913 out of 1913
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jun 12, 2009

WORST HOTEL EVER

The room that was provided had nothing working. My shower curtains. The hair dryer that was provided didn't work. The lamp's didn't have nobs in them to turn on the lamps. And the people at the front desk didn't cared at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Father's Day
Charlotte, NC
Jul 6, 2009

Not Worth the Price

We had a small stream of water as a shower. The air conditioning didn't work; rooms were very humid and sticky. The hotel was still under renovation/restoration; it would have been nice to know this prior to booking this hotel. The staff at The Whitehall Hotel were very friendly, which is about all that I can say about my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Father's Day
Charlotte, NC
Jul 6, 2009

Not Worth the Price

We had a small stream of water as a shower. The air conditioning didn't work; rooms were very humid and sticky. The hotel was still under renovation/restoration; it would have been nice to know this prior to booking this hotel. The staff at The Whitehall Hotel were very friendly, which is about all that I can say about my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Okc
Jul 30, 2011

Worst hotel ever

This was probably one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at! It is not even a category 2 star, the only good thing I can say about this hotel is location. My room smelled like feces, literally. The bed was hard as a rock, and the room was way small. I ordered room service for a pot of coffee they charged me 50 bucks. There's a Starbucks on the next block, go there! Four seasons is right across the street stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks! You think that they serve expensive coffee here! Don't stay at Whitehall!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TrinaP
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Without a doubt .. a miserable place to stay!

Starting with a front desk clerk named Alyce who has not been taught how to deal with an irate guest and chooses to give you the "talk to the hand" sign AND correct you when you mispronounce her name .. to rooms that had no functioning heaters, life endangering situations (lightbulbs hanging from lamps by wires), mold in showers, peeling wall paper .. to staff deciding to do a "deep clean" of a room mid-stay (completely turning the room upside down without security overseeing personal items) .. to checking out with Barbara taking 30 minutes AND forcing you to take cash when, in fact, you weren't entitled to it (of course, they charge you for it later). HORRIBLE!!!! The ONLY bright spot is Night Manager, Carlos Gonzalez Jr. He went over and above in an attempt to rectify the situations my guest and I encountered. He was also the ONLY one to be appropriately embarrassed by conditions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ready to vacate
Chicago
Jul 17, 2013

Time to Vacate this property

I traveled to Chicago for one day, for my niece's Birthday celebration (American G Store). The check-in went well, however, once we arrived into the room, it was very muggy. Soon after we checked-in we got a knock at the door, however, we unable to respond right away. Low and behold, one of the housekeepers used her key-card to enter into my room, with no real valid explanation (she was very startled I should add). She was accompanied by another housekeeper, however, she ended up walking off after they discovered there was someone in the room. I asked the last standing housekeeper the reasoning behind this, she stated that she wanted to make sure that we had towels. Mind you, she did not have a towel in her hand, nor a stocked cart to provide towels, in the event that we did not have towels. She did have an empty bin like cart, most likely to drop our goods into once they helped themselves to our belongings. Just to add, she knocked on the door around 6pm, which check in is at 3pm. By 6 o'clock, the rooms are well complete for the 3 o'clock check in. We just happened to be in the room, because we checked in late. I would not want to believe that her motive was to "steal from us" however, I can't make any sense out of this otherwise. There would have been no way to prove that someone came into our room while we were away, and stole from us. They do have a disclaimer in the rooms that states they are not responsible for lost or stolen items, so perhaps, they have had issues in the past. Back to the first issue. The air conditioner did not work properly, so as a result, it was hot, muggy, and I could not breath all night. I ended up getting sick days after, as a result of the dirty air. Although we did not spend alot of time in the room, I was ready to go. I had not had such a bad experience in a long time. The next day we checked our bags in with the baggage attendants, and made a few runs while we were awaiting our departure from Chicago. When it was time to leave, we requested our bags. It took the attendants at least 30 minutes to find our bags, which as a result caused us to barely make it to Union Station. The taxi-cab driver, bless his heart, made miracles for us to make it. On our way to the cab (at the hotel), my daughter noticed that her American G doll back-pack bag strap was torn/broken, so she was devastated. We had concluded that they must have known they damaged the bag, which is why it took them so long to bring our items out. At this point, we had to go, because we were running late. So, I contacted the hotel immediately via cell phone to determine how they deal with replacements. Obviously, if we had the time to deal with it then, we would have, but they had already thrown us completely off of schedule.I got the run around for days about this bag, and yet, I do not have a replacement (it's been weeks now). I spent 200 for the night roughly, my other family spent 99 for the night. They had a much better experience than us. No matter how much you spend, great customer service should always be most important in any establishment. I reported each event to Management every step of the way. Not one time did a Manager state that they apologized at all for anything that we experienced that day. So, to say the least, we will never lodge at WhiteHall again. I am sure that some people have had great experiences, but in this case, it was horrible. I fogot to add that once it was time to lie down for the night, we discovered puberty hairs on the bedding (gross). We ended up taking that layer off, and just laying on one sheet. I did not know so much could go wrong in just a days time. It has really left me scarred. I used to love Chicago, however, I have no intentions of coming back there anytime soon. They now have opened an American Girl Doll store in Ohio, so my next trip will be there. Hopefully, we will have much better customer service in that City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of dinning and shopping options in the area. You are within walking distance to a ton of places.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AmyK
Ann Arbor, MI
Mar 23, 2009

Wedding Anniversary Fiasco

My spouse of 26 years and I were meeting to celebrate our anniversary in Chicago. He was traveling via train from South Carolina where he spent his first 6 weeks of retirement. I was traveling via train from Ann Arbor. Imagine my dismay when after a pleasant train trip and a strong need for some R & R I encountered the hotel staff insisting I did not have a reservation for the Whitehall Hotel. As an information technology professional for over 20 years - I was prepared for such a snafu and had the confirmation on email. My iPhone was readily available as proof. I discovered just how naive and trustful I was over the course of the next several hours. As layers of management asked questions, asked to see the email (I allowed them to take my iPhone), and continued to attempt to placate me, I became more and more annoyed. Either they had a room or not - my husband was arriving the next morning and I had no way to contact him to discuss a change of plans. Now, not only did I have confirmation on my iPhone but also on my MacAir. Again management asked to see the email and again I obliged. At this point the only person I was feeling friendly towards was the bartender who was emphasizing with my situation. Some ill-informed manager presented me with my devices and said "we do not see the confirmation." Alas! The confirmation email had disappeared! Trust me when I say email does not just disappear. It goes to email purgatory for a while before it eventually goes away. In my agitated state I let the hotel staff know that this travesty of justice was not going unaccounted for. Eventually they decided a hysterical woman was better off in a hotel room than making a scene in the hotel lounge. My husband arrived just as I was insisting to speak with upper management. Early that morning I had contacted my IT staff who retrieved my deleted message. Not only the message but the log: Size: 14683 Sent: Sat Jan 31 12:00:00 2009 Recv: Sat Jan 31 14:30:06 2009 Expg: Mon Mar 16 19:29:03 2009 - this means it was deleted! From: cheapticketstravelercare I was composing myself to have another conversation with the manager. He had miraculously found my confirmation. He took me aside to a quiet area and explained that his staff would never have a reason to delete my personal message. Okay, so I can't prove who hit the button - but what would I gain by removing my evidence? Now, if you look closely you will see that I was not blameless. I had made the reservation for a month earlier than I intended. Oops. But I do remember that my anniversary is on St. Patrick's Day. To the staff and management of the Whitehall Hotel - you can do better! Show me my mistake and we can figure out how to make things right. You ruined my trip and taught me a valuable lesson. Don't worry - this righteous woman won't be back! And I have not been so embarrassed as to not share my story further. And that's most of the story. To the staff at Dublins - thanks for picking up the spirits of this Irish lass.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
el paso
May 27, 2011

Not clean

The hotel was very dirty. We did not stay after we saw what the room looked like. We left and checked in at a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Okc
Jul 30, 2011

Worst hotel ever

This was probably one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at! It is not even a category 2 star, the only good thing I can say about this hotel is location. My room smelled like feces, literally. The bed was hard as a rock, and the room was way small. I ordered room service for a pot of coffee they charged me 50 bucks. There's a Starbucks on the next block, go there! Four seasons is right across the street stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks! You think that they serve expensive coffee here! Don't stay at Whitehall!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 5, 2010

No Sleep, No Hot Water

I wanted to love the Whitehall, I really did. As a former long-time resident of Chicago, I always loved its old world charm and its great Gold Coast location. The hotel looks older these days but not ragged inside. The staff was friendly and the room itself was clean with a nice re-done bathroom. I was really enjoying the hotel experience, until bed time. During the night the heating system in my room made persistent clanking and knocking noises which woke me up at least three-four times...I finally just turned the system off, not the ideal thing you want to do in Chicago in early March. Then in the morning, determined to grab a quick shower before heading out for an early flight, I couldn't believe that the hot water was practically non-existent. It wasn't broken because it was slightly warmer than none at all, but it never got to the level you'd want to take a shower in. Alas, I washed my hair by leaning into the cool stream of water from the shower head, got dressed, and got the heck out of there, wondering what I had just paid for. So, no hot water and old mechanicals which bang through the night keeping you awake after a long day on the road...not exactly the business travel solution you're looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top