$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,207 reviews
This is a jewel in the city

We got this hotel for a steal of a price, was a bit worried what we would end up with but this... See full review

  • tcdlm
  • Oct 21, 2014
Doesnt get any better, in the heart of Chicago, Great surrounding area

Staff is great, friendly, helpful. Location, great views, walkable, near shopping and dinning.... See full review

  • BrandonGallegos
  • Oct 2, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1207)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1207 out of 1207
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jun 12, 2009

WORST HOTEL EVER

The room that was provided had nothing working. My shower curtains. The hair dryer that was provided didn't work. The lamp's didn't have nobs in them to turn on the lamps. And the people at the front desk didn't cared at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Jul 21, 2009

Bummer

Requested non-smoking room but were told they only had a smoking room. They make no guarantees when reservations are made through Orbitz. Indeed, one employee said they give the bad rooms to those who make reservations through third parties. I should have known that will will not use Orbitz again to make hotel reservations, as I assume that's a common hotel practice. You get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Father's Day
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 6, 2009

Not Worth the Price

We had a small stream of water as a shower. The air conditioning didn't work; rooms were very humid and sticky. The hotel was still under renovation/restoration; it would have been nice to know this prior to booking this hotel. The staff at The Whitehall Hotel were very friendly, which is about all that I can say about my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 5, 2010

No Sleep, No Hot Water

I wanted to love the Whitehall, I really did. As a former long-time resident of Chicago, I always loved its old world charm and its great Gold Coast location. The hotel looks older these days but not ragged inside. The staff was friendly and the room itself was clean with a nice re-done bathroom. I was really enjoying the hotel experience, until bed time. During the night the heating system in my room made persistent clanking and knocking noises which woke me up at least three-four times...I finally just turned the system off, not the ideal thing you want to do in Chicago in early March. Then in the morning, determined to grab a quick shower before heading out for an early flight, I couldn't believe that the hot water was practically non-existent. It wasn't broken because it was slightly warmer than none at all, but it never got to the level you'd want to take a shower in. Alas, I washed my hair by leaning into the cool stream of water from the shower head, got dressed, and got the heck out of there, wondering what I had just paid for. So, no hot water and old mechanicals which bang through the night keeping you awake after a long day on the road...not exactly the business travel solution you're looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TrustmyReview
Business
N/A
May 28, 2010

Enter at your own risk

Upon arrival we had to wait in a line to get service because only one Hotel Desk Host was on Duty. Once checked in the first room we were given we found roaches in near the closet. I quickly asked for my money back or another room. They moved us to another room and we left for the evening. Upon return we found the lights on in our room (even after we left the privacy notice on the door - so we would not have "turn down" service)and on the bed a platter with pizza bread on it and some sparkling water and coke. We thought they were trying to be nice to us after the "roaches" incident. Of course we did not eat ANYTHING from the hotel and put all of the stuff on a table in the hallway outside our room door. The next morning we checked out and guess what they were not trying to make up for the roaches instead they added 29.05 to my bill for a meal I never ordered. They corrected quickly but I will NEVER EVER go back to this hotel (FYI parking is 48.00 per night - but you can come and go as you wish)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PeriwinkleFoolery
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 3, 2011

A Huge Disappointment!

My husband and I traveled to Chicago for the Paul McCartney concert, to shop, and to ride bikes along the lakeshore. The Whitehall was a convenient choice for those activities, but location is its only positive attribute. We have visited Chicago 3-4 times yearly for several years now, always staying in 4-star hotels, and this is the first time our hotel experience has been unpleasant. Our room at the Whitehall and its furnishings were shabby - large holes in the bed linens, strings hanging from frayed upholstery on the chair, closet door off-track and multiple rips in the bathroom wallpaper. Further, we valet parked with the hotel because we were assured of secure parking. However, our SUV was parked in an alley behind the hotel, unsecured and next to the trash dumpster. I was unsuccessful in two attempts to speak with the manager during our stay and called her after we were home. She was apologetic that we hadn't enjoyed our stay, but didn't share my concern about parking because the hotel has never experienced a problem with cars parked in the alley. She said they rely on guests to bring problems with the rooms to the attention of the staff and then address them. I prefer to stay where the staff looks for problems and addresses them before customers arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Book a garden table at Piccolo Sogno for a delightful dining experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 24, 2010

WARNING: Smelly Smoking Rooms

[...]The hotel should be ashamed to rent rooms with such a horrible odor, in the curtains, linens, carpet, everywhere. You and your clothes smell of smoke when you leave. Basically, you have no choice and the staff is less than professional in they way they handle the issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Okc
Jul 30, 2011

Worst hotel ever

This was probably one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at! It is not even a category 2 star, the only good thing I can say about this hotel is location. My room smelled like feces, literally. The bed was hard as a rock, and the room was way small. I ordered room service for a pot of coffee they charged me 50 bucks. There's a Starbucks on the next block, go there! Four seasons is right across the street stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks! You think that they serve expensive coffee here! Don't stay at Whitehall!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southfield, MI
Nov 6, 2010

first and last time

This was a shopping and theater trip. The location is wonderful--but the hotel is seriously lacking in major areas. Our bathroom was missing a piece of the light switch and the switch plate was put on incorrectly. The bedroom lamp was falling apart. The hotel front desk staff could not even direct us to a restaurant that was 4 blocks away. The concierge nor the front desk staff could not give us instruction on how to avoid the Ryan expressway. In addition, we checked our luggage when we left for the day, and it just sat in the lobby from morning until late afternoon, often unattended. I would not stay at this hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orange was a great breakfast spot--15 minute walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy Birthday Vacation
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 17, 2009

Not impressed with this Hotel Stay

Was not impressed with this hotel. The pictures on the website were not the same as the actual hotel room that we were in. The room was very small for the price that was paid. I have stayed in other hotels for less price and was more impressed and satisfied. The walls were very thin and heard a lot of banging on the walls and could here conversations of the other hotel guests. Whenever someone took a shower or bath you had to close the bathroom door in your room or you could not hear the TV. The view from the room was a dirty alley. Will not be staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top