$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1237 out of 1237
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Faculty
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 12, 2012

Bed Bugs

Unfortunately, the first room that I stayed in had bed bugs. The next day the staff kindly moved me to another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ready to vacate
Business
Chicago
Jul 17, 2013

Time to Vacate this property

I traveled to Chicago for one day, for my niece's Birthday celebration (American G Store). The check-in went well, however, once we arrived into the room, it was very muggy. Soon after we checked-in we got a knock at the door, however, we unable to respond right away. Low and behold, one of the housekeepers used her key-card to enter into my room, with no real valid explanation (she was very startled I should add). She was accompanied by another housekeeper, however, she ended up walking off after they discovered there was someone in the room. I asked the last standing housekeeper the reasoning behind this, she stated that she wanted to make sure that we had towels. Mind you, she did not have a towel in her hand, nor a stocked cart to provide towels, in the event that we did not have towels. She did have an empty bin like cart, most likely to drop our goods into once they helped themselves to our belongings. Just to add, she knocked on the door around 6pm, which check in is at 3pm. By 6 o'clock, the rooms are well complete for the 3 o'clock check in. We just happened to be in the room, because we checked in late. I would not want to believe that her motive was to "steal from us" however, I can't make any sense out of this otherwise. There would have been no way to prove that someone came into our room while we were away, and stole from us. They do have a disclaimer in the rooms that states they are not responsible for lost or stolen items, so perhaps, they have had issues in the past. Back to the first issue. The air conditioner did not work properly, so as a result, it was hot, muggy, and I could not breath all night. I ended up getting sick days after, as a result of the dirty air. Although we did not spend alot of time in the room, I was ready to go. I had not had such a bad experience in a long time. The next day we checked our bags in with the baggage attendants, and made a few runs while we were awaiting our departure from Chicago. When it was time to leave, we requested our bags. It took the attendants at least 30 minutes to find our bags, which as a result caused us to barely make it to Union Station. The taxi-cab driver, bless his heart, made miracles for us to make it. On our way to the cab (at the hotel), my daughter noticed that her American G doll back-pack bag strap was torn/broken, so she was devastated. We had concluded that they must have known they damaged the bag, which is why it took them so long to bring our items out. At this point, we had to go, because we were running late. So, I contacted the hotel immediately via cell phone to determine how they deal with replacements. Obviously, if we had the time to deal with it then, we would have, but they had already thrown us completely off of schedule.I got the run around for days about this bag, and yet, I do not have a replacement (it's been weeks now). I spent 200 for the night roughly, my other family spent 99 for the night. They had a much better experience than us. No matter how much you spend, great customer service should always be most important in any establishment. I reported each event to Management every step of the way. Not one time did a Manager state that they apologized at all for anything that we experienced that day. So, to say the least, we will never lodge at WhiteHall again. I am sure that some people have had great experiences, but in this case, it was horrible. I fogot to add that once it was time to lie down for the night, we discovered puberty hairs on the bedding (gross). We ended up taking that layer off, and just laying on one sheet. I did not know so much could go wrong in just a days time. It has really left me scarred. I used to love Chicago, however, I have no intentions of coming back there anytime soon. They now have opened an American Girl Doll store in Ohio, so my next trip will be there. Hopefully, we will have much better customer service in that City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of dinning and shopping options in the area. You are within walking distance to a ton of places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sticher12345
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 18, 2013

don't keep word

Was there October 22 to 24. Was woken up each morning by drilling on the hotel outside. Small room, paid big price for. When checking out, we were told we would get refund on breakfast charged to room. This never happened. The Manager even called us and say this would be done plus because of the noise, he would try to get one night paid for - didn't happen. Would not stay here ever again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cici from NC
Business
North Carolina
Aug 21, 2010

Good location horrible staff and service

The room was horribly located over viewing a tight alley way full of AC units that were LOUD not very restful stay. The staff were unfriendly, they did not communicate well at check in, they over charged my credit card and my husbands. When questioned no one could answer why or further were willing to address our concerns. We were treated horribly simply because we had a prepaid package they said to us directly we cant really trust people will pay for additional amenties used. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT RENT A CAR...parking is too expensive, cabs, transit or buses are the best transportation other than walking. Get the Chicago Go Card it allows you entrance into all the main attractions plus more avoiding long tickets lines and do the Land/Architecture tours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Nov 27, 2009

Don't bother!

We booked the trip several weeks in advance, but when we arrived at the hotel were informed there were "no vacancies." They arranged a "complimentary" stay at their sister 1-star hotel but we never received the refund that was promised. Four months and several letters later, still no refund . . . don't risk it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stillwater, OK
Oct 5, 2011

Business

I was on business and the internet kept dropping. Had to call each day to get a new password, pay $9.95 for service that did not work. No one at the front desk would offer any help, nor did they seem to care. When the internet dropped, I had to sign in each time and the $9.95 charge would come up again. The room was dark, hard to conduct business in. I had a lamp that the bulb was burned out, I took it apart and left the bulb laying on a table next to the lamp, shade on a chair for housekeeping to fix. It sat there for two days until it was replaced. I left a day early as I could not get my work done in this place. If you travel on business, avoid this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Jan 3, 2010

The good, the bad and the ugly

The front desk at the Whitehall Hotel sits just indide the front door. As you are standing there to check in all I felt every time the door opened was cold air blowing in. And I was there at least 30 minutes waiting to chek in. I might as well been standing outside. Very bad location for a front desk and very cold and when busy very congested.Once I got to my room, it was very cold and the temp in the room read 59. (The temperature outside was 15 degrees)I turned the heat up for over a half hour and it never got past 60. I went down to complain and was moved to another room. Later that night when I returned from dinner I had to turn the heat up to 80 due to the drafts coming through the windows. It was so bad I had to put a towel in one window to cut down on the draft and close the blinds which means the floor area was very cold and there was ice and frost forming on the inside of the window. So bad I couldn't even see out the window. When I went to complain the next morning I was told that "since I went through [...] they wouldn't do anything because that was like getting the room for $2.00." The most they would do might be to offer a breakfast coupon. (Which I never got.) I guess when you go thru [...] you get a good deal but there's nothing one can do since all is prepaid and they apparently look down on this type of reservation. To be told it's like paying $2.00 is kind of like being hit in the gut, especially when I paid $158.99 per night.The hotel is a great location but I wouldn't recommend staying here in the winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed this time
Business
MN
Jul 31, 2009

Disappointing this time

We have stayed here many times and loved it. Hoever, this time, when we arrived we found out that the hotel was under construction. They told us we would get a different room with a better view, all we had to do was have our suitcases packed...then they never moved us. The air conditioning was being repaired. The first night the room temperature was fine, the second, warm and by the third night very hot and uncomfortable. (They tried to fix it, but it kept freezing up.) We love this hotel, great character and wonderful location, but I was disappointed in the response we got when we talked with the person in charge and am not sure I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the Bongo room for breakfast. Amazing! Pancakes like you will never taste again and wonderful omelets as well. Worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
old pro
Business
west bloomfield, mi
Aug 24, 2009

good & bad

room was small and the bed was almost unusable--too soft breakfast was very mediocre

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dbartz24
Business
Chicago, Il
Jul 28, 2011

Very disappointing hotel

My girlfriend and I were in Chicago for three days, two nights for the Bar Exam. We spent most of our evenings in the hotel studying and had a chance to discover many of its problems. It is an old, beat up hotel with very little to offer. There was a lamp in the bathroom that the guests before us must have taken out and put in there, the hotel staff failed to put it back in the main room. A testament to there thorough cleaning job. There was no soap in the bathroom. The floors were filthy, we found dvds, caps to old beer bottles, and countless dust balls. The beds had spaghetti/pizza sauce on them. There was no room service menu in the room, we had to call for one and when we got the food, it was terrible (AND $60). The list goes on and on, but I would highly recommend against this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top