$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,912 reviews
birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was... See full review

  • Lebowski666
  • Jul 11, 2014
trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff, See full review

  • Mom North
  • Jun 7, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1912)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1912 out of 1912
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sstamper
Michigan
May 30, 2012

Staff is horrible

Not sure if it's b/c we ordered our stay through Obritz or if The WhiteHall is the last place in Chicago you want to stay but the moment we checked in they took us for all we were worth. They promised us a comp on our car ($100) for their error when we checked in, then we when checked out they went back on everything. I could write a novel on what they promised With what they really came through on with was nothing. The worse hotel in Chicago by far!!! Do not waste your money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier it's only a 30 minute walk or a $7 taxi

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arizona
Jul 21, 2009

Bummer

Requested non-smoking room but were told they only had a smoking room. They make no guarantees when reservations are made through Orbitz. Indeed, one employee said they give the bad rooms to those who make reservations through third parties. I should have known that will will not use Orbitz again to make hotel reservations, as I assume that's a common hotel practice. You get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TrustmyReview
N/A
May 28, 2010

Enter at your own risk

Upon arrival we had to wait in a line to get service because only one Hotel Desk Host was on Duty. Once checked in the first room we were given we found roaches in near the closet. I quickly asked for my money back or another room. They moved us to another room and we left for the evening. Upon return we found the lights on in our room (even after we left the privacy notice on the door - so we would not have "turn down" service)and on the bed a platter with pizza bread on it and some sparkling water and coke. We thought they were trying to be nice to us after the "roaches" incident. Of course we did not eat ANYTHING from the hotel and put all of the stuff on a table in the hallway outside our room door. The next morning we checked out and guess what they were not trying to make up for the roaches instead they added 29.05 to my bill for a meal I never ordered. They corrected quickly but I will NEVER EVER go back to this hotel (FYI parking is 48.00 per night - but you can come and go as you wish)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kygrl
Burlington, Kentucky
Aug 12, 2012

Overcharged..and Ignored

I had recently written a review to evaluate the overall hotel. In that review I indicated that I would absolutely reccommend the hotel, and would stay here again. However, I have since discovered that I was overcharged on my credit card for an extra day of parking ($49). I called the hotel initially and was told that I would see a refund in 3-5 business days. It has been over a month, and I have not seen a refund nor a return phone call when attempting to call their management staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis
Jan 3, 2010

The good, the bad and the ugly

The front desk at the Whitehall Hotel sits just indide the front door. As you are standing there to check in all I felt every time the door opened was cold air blowing in. And I was there at least 30 minutes waiting to chek in. I might as well been standing outside. Very bad location for a front desk and very cold and when busy very congested.Once I got to my room, it was very cold and the temp in the room read 59. (The temperature outside was 15 degrees)I turned the heat up for over a half hour and it never got past 60. I went down to complain and was moved to another room. Later that night when I returned from dinner I had to turn the heat up to 80 due to the drafts coming through the windows. It was so bad I had to put a towel in one window to cut down on the draft and close the blinds which means the floor area was very cold and there was ice and frost forming on the inside of the window. So bad I couldn't even see out the window. When I went to complain the next morning I was told that "since I went through [...] they wouldn't do anything because that was like getting the room for $2.00." The most they would do might be to offer a breakfast coupon. (Which I never got.) I guess when you go thru [...] you get a good deal but there's nothing one can do since all is prepaid and they apparently look down on this type of reservation. To be told it's like paying $2.00 is kind of like being hit in the gut, especially when I paid $158.99 per night.The hotel is a great location but I wouldn't recommend staying here in the winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Faculty
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 12, 2012

Bed Bugs

Unfortunately, the first room that I stayed in had bed bugs. The next day the staff kindly moved me to another room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
old pro
west bloomfield, mi
Aug 24, 2009

good & bad

room was small and the bed was almost unusable--too soft breakfast was very mediocre

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PeriwinkleFoolery
St. Louis, MO
Aug 3, 2011

A Huge Disappointment!

My husband and I traveled to Chicago for the Paul McCartney concert, to shop, and to ride bikes along the lakeshore. The Whitehall was a convenient choice for those activities, but location is its only positive attribute. We have visited Chicago 3-4 times yearly for several years now, always staying in 4-star hotels, and this is the first time our hotel experience has been unpleasant. Our room at the Whitehall and its furnishings were shabby - large holes in the bed linens, strings hanging from frayed upholstery on the chair, closet door off-track and multiple rips in the bathroom wallpaper. Further, we valet parked with the hotel because we were assured of secure parking. However, our SUV was parked in an alley behind the hotel, unsecured and next to the trash dumpster. I was unsuccessful in two attempts to speak with the manager during our stay and called her after we were home. She was apologetic that we hadn't enjoyed our stay, but didn't share my concern about parking because the hotel has never experienced a problem with cars parked in the alley. She said they rely on guests to bring problems with the rooms to the attention of the staff and then address them. I prefer to stay where the staff looks for problems and addresses them before customers arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Book a garden table at Piccolo Sogno for a delightful dining experience!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No way Jose
Business
Stockton, CA, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Let down

I must admit I had high expectations of this Hotel. Upon arriving I noticed the lobby looked a little rundown. When I got to my room I was quite disappointed. The cabinet that contained the TV was clearly in need of repair or raplacement as the doors barely held on. The curtains in the room were comming loose on one side and a vanity mirror in the bathroom was barely on the wall and it's light feature did not work. I have a hard time believing this was a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jun 12, 2009

WORST HOTEL EVER

The room that was provided had nothing working. My shower curtains. The hair dryer that was provided didn't work. The lamp's didn't have nobs in them to turn on the lamps. And the people at the front desk didn't cared at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top