$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,908 reviews
trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff, See full review

  • Mom North
  • Jun 7, 2014
Handicapp greatness

This is my 2 visit to this hotel. First visit was a romantic visit with my husband. 2nd visit my... See full review

  • Conner tReturning family
  • May 29, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1908)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1908 out of 1908
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
nj
Nov 27, 2009

Don't bother!

We booked the trip several weeks in advance, but when we arrived at the hotel were informed there were "no vacancies." They arranged a "complimentary" stay at their sister 1-star hotel but we never received the refund that was promised. Four months and several letters later, still no refund . . . don't risk it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southfield, MI
Nov 6, 2010

first and last time

This was a shopping and theater trip. The location is wonderful--but the hotel is seriously lacking in major areas. Our bathroom was missing a piece of the light switch and the switch plate was put on incorrectly. The bedroom lamp was falling apart. The hotel front desk staff could not even direct us to a restaurant that was 4 blocks away. The concierge nor the front desk staff could not give us instruction on how to avoid the Ryan expressway. In addition, we checked our luggage when we left for the day, and it just sat in the lobby from morning until late afternoon, often unattended. I would not stay at this hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orange was a great breakfast spot--15 minute walk

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaye the nurse
Kansas city, MO
Sep 16, 2012

Lost our stuff in the hotel room

On our last night., we left to go clubbing ang left our spare wallets and iphone4 since we know housekeeping is gone for the day.. The next day, When we were getting ready to pack we learned that those are missing.. We search everywhere, even found a pair of socks under the bed that's not ours!.. They dont have a camera in the hallways as well as in the elevator.. And the max amout they will reimburse you is $75! They didnt try hard enough to find out who did it and just kept saying sorry... Very disapponting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TrustmyReview
N/A
May 28, 2010

Enter at your own risk

Upon arrival we had to wait in a line to get service because only one Hotel Desk Host was on Duty. Once checked in the first room we were given we found roaches in near the closet. I quickly asked for my money back or another room. They moved us to another room and we left for the evening. Upon return we found the lights on in our room (even after we left the privacy notice on the door - so we would not have "turn down" service)and on the bed a platter with pizza bread on it and some sparkling water and coke. We thought they were trying to be nice to us after the "roaches" incident. Of course we did not eat ANYTHING from the hotel and put all of the stuff on a table in the hallway outside our room door. The next morning we checked out and guess what they were not trying to make up for the roaches instead they added 29.05 to my bill for a meal I never ordered. They corrected quickly but I will NEVER EVER go back to this hotel (FYI parking is 48.00 per night - but you can come and go as you wish)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marie A.
Kansas City, Missouri
Apr 24, 2012

Whitehall in need of Overhaul

We waited an hour to check in. There was only one front desk person working . This lovely lady fielded complaint phone calls as well as general information hotel calls while checking clients in.We heard a great many complaints. There were no other hotel employees availble. To clarify matters we found the overall staff to be helpful and friendly. The hotel itself was ill kept and dingy. Our room thermostat was broken; hence our room was cold. We called for assistance with pay for view only to find it could not be repaired and that there were other rooms with the same problem. The shower fixture was near broken and not working correctly. By the third day we were getting a back up from the shower drain. We were happy that we had many outside plans. The sheets were clean and the bed was comfortable. We firmly believe that since the 2004 Zagart survery that this historical property has not been touched. In all of this we simply could not bring ourselves to check out the resturants under the Whitehall umbrealla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It has recently come to my attention that the seller takes the word of each hotel as to how comfortable etc, it is. I am amazed that this occurs. My advise is to know exactly where you are staying and seek outside recommendations.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed this time
MN
Jul 31, 2009

Disappointing this time

We have stayed here many times and loved it. Hoever, this time, when we arrived we found out that the hotel was under construction. They told us we would get a different room with a better view, all we had to do was have our suitcases packed...then they never moved us. The air conditioning was being repaired. The first night the room temperature was fine, the second, warm and by the third night very hot and uncomfortable. (They tried to fix it, but it kept freezing up.) We love this hotel, great character and wonderful location, but I was disappointed in the response we got when we talked with the person in charge and am not sure I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the Bongo room for breakfast. Amazing! Pancakes like you will never taste again and wonderful omelets as well. Worth the trip.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dbartz24
Chicago, Il
Jul 28, 2011

Very disappointing hotel

My girlfriend and I were in Chicago for three days, two nights for the Bar Exam. We spent most of our evenings in the hotel studying and had a chance to discover many of its problems. It is an old, beat up hotel with very little to offer. There was a lamp in the bathroom that the guests before us must have taken out and put in there, the hotel staff failed to put it back in the main room. A testament to there thorough cleaning job. There was no soap in the bathroom. The floors were filthy, we found dvds, caps to old beer bottles, and countless dust balls. The beds had spaghetti/pizza sauce on them. There was no room service menu in the room, we had to call for one and when we got the food, it was terrible (AND $60). The list goes on and on, but I would highly recommend against this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dbartz24
Chicago, Il
Jul 28, 2011

Very disappointing hotel

My girlfriend and I were in Chicago for three days, two nights for the Bar Exam. We spent most of our evenings in the hotel studying and had a chance to discover many of its problems. It is an old, beat up hotel with very little to offer. There was a lamp in the bathroom that the guests before us must have taken out and put in there, the hotel staff failed to put it back in the main room. A testament to there thorough cleaning job. There was no soap in the bathroom. The floors were filthy, we found dvds, caps to old beer bottles, and countless dust balls. The beds had spaghetti/pizza sauce on them. There was no room service menu in the room, we had to call for one and when we got the food, it was terrible (AND $60). The list goes on and on, but I would highly recommend against this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 24, 2010

WARNING: Smelly Smoking Rooms

[...]The hotel should be ashamed to rent rooms with such a horrible odor, in the curtains, linens, carpet, everywhere. You and your clothes smell of smoke when you leave. Basically, you have no choice and the staff is less than professional in they way they handle the issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southfield, MI
Nov 6, 2010

first and last time

This was a shopping and theater trip. The location is wonderful--but the hotel is seriously lacking in major areas. Our bathroom was missing a piece of the light switch and the switch plate was put on incorrectly. The bedroom lamp was falling apart. The hotel front desk staff could not even direct us to a restaurant that was 4 blocks away. The concierge nor the front desk staff could not give us instruction on how to avoid the Ryan expressway. In addition, we checked our luggage when we left for the day, and it just sat in the lobby from morning until late afternoon, often unattended. I would not stay at this hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orange was a great breakfast spot--15 minute walk

Back to menu Return to top