$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,913 reviews
birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was... See full review

  • Lebowski666
  • Jul 11, 2014
trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff, See full review

  • Mom North
  • Jun 7, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1913)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 1913
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sue, on business and pleasure trip
Arlington, Texas
Jun 30, 2010

Great Location, comfortable, and cozy

A charming "historical" hotel, although not new, the rooms are very inviting, with great location for business, shopping, nightlife, and other attractions. The staff was helpful and polite, but most important, made me feel safe and at home. Great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dinning, and most everything else you might need is within a walking distance from the hotel. Great North Side location.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ohio teacher
columbus, ohio
Jul 24, 2010

great location and service

Location was great! I was able to walk to Navy Pier and Museum of Modern Art. Major shopping available! Easy access to the El. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful with parking tips and directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum of Modern Art offers a picnic, live jazz and free admission one night a week.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Apr 10, 2011

Excellent hotel

The hotel was a perfect surprise in Chicago. The hotel staff's hospitality was impressive. Greeted with a smile, the answered some of questions, such as, directions and places to eat. The room was clean and fresh. I was able to get two nights of good rest. I truly enjoyed my time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChicagoFriend
Louisville, KY, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Whitehall Hotel is a Gem!

I stayed at the Whitehall this past weekend and found it to be true to its reputation. From my arrival to departure my needs were met, and the locality to everything was excellent! Not only would I recommend this hotel to everyone I know but I will be sure to return for a stay again in the future. Excellent Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hale Bop
Bridgewater, New Hampshire
Mar 19, 2013

Perfect place to stay while in Chicago!

I was immediately greeted by a friendly staff and was able to store my luggage before and after my stay, which was unbelievably helpful. My room was beautiful, and had a very large comfy bed and was very clean! I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Along with having an overall great facility, it is also in the perfect location being right off of Michigan Ave. You can't get any better with the John Hancock Observatory, Water Tower, and Magnificent Mile all right there! The Whitehall Hotel made my experience in Chicago a very enjoyable one!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggie Q!.
Mobile, AL.
Aug 14, 2010

Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

[...] & [...] were the greatest, along with [...], [...]. Very friendly & helpful.Coming back to you guys. See u soon.Maggie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BillKIL
Urbana, IL
Feb 5, 2012

Whitehall

This was a great place to stay. The view from my room wa not great but the room itself was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio
Jan 5, 2009

My Stay in The Windy City

My stay at the Whitehall Hotel was very pleasant and nice. The location was excellent. I was only a block away from Michigan Avenue or the Gold Coast one of my favorite shopping places. The satff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again. My only small tiny complaint is the lighting in the bathroom could have ben a little brighter, and the heating system was a little loud. Other than that I had a fabulous stay at the Whitehall. The last thing I want to comment on is the king size bed was so comfortable and plush!! A nice quaint hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks away is the President elect Barack and Michelle Obama favorite Italian restaurant Spiaggia. So you have access to some of the best shopping restaurants amd site seeing just steps away!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HeyMoe
Mpls., MN
Oct 8, 2009

Fabulous Central Location

We especially liked the restaurant and bar. It had very cozy ambiance and excellent service and it was elegantly designed. Our entire experience at this hotel was also deemed an excellent value! Everyone was very pleasant and enthusiastic and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at Ditka's, Le Colonial, and The Bistro 110. They were all excellent. Ditka's is very noisy and bustling, Le Colonial is open late, good food, service and ambiance, and The Bistro 110 is great for a brunch. They even had musicians in the late morning on Sunday.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Apr 10, 2011

Excellent hotel

The hotel was a perfect surprise in Chicago. The hotel staff's hospitality was impressive. Greeted with a smile, the answered some of questions, such as, directions and places to eat. The room was clean and fresh. I was able to get two nights of good rest. I truly enjoyed my time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top