$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,336 reviews
Family trip

The hotel was very nice even though it was an older hotel. Only thing I would change is coffee in... See full review

  • Jennifer W.
  • May 28, 2015
Great location

I love it. Was better then advertised please stay here you will love it!!! See full review

  • smithworldtraveler
  • May 17, 2015

The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.

Location

Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.

Highlights
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Business

Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

Transportation

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

Fees
  • The parking fee is $65 per night.
  • Internet Access:

Option 1: Includes Complimentary Internet Access 1.0 MBPS speed unlimited devices 24 hours per day.

Option 2: Includes 2.5 MBPS speed of $9.95 per 24-hour period.

Option 3: Includes 5.0 MBPS speed of $15.95 per 24-hour period.

Policies
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in. 
  • The Whitehall Hotel is a 100% smoke free property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 1336
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Shar
Business
Bonita Springs, Florida
Apr 14, 2014

Great location, lovely amenities

My experience at The Whitehall was outstanding from the moment I walked in the door. The staff was very helpful, extremely thoughtful, and I loved the comfort of my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Please treat yourself to a delicious meal at Mei's. Food was fresh, made to order, and served beautifully. What a little jewel!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim the Frequent Traveler
Business
Atlanta
Apr 27, 2014

Whitehall Review

I love the location, right next to Michigan Avenue. And the staff were very helpful, happy to recommend sites to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yankton, SD
Jun 9, 2009

Great area

Very friendly staff, great location for downtown sight seeing-walking, many shops and dining places to go to for any type of food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to Hancock observatory, Millinium Park, Buckingham fountain, downtown shops and dining. Jump on the red line from not far away.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shopping Gal
Business
Troy, Michigan
Dec 13, 2010

Tradition

Every year my Mom and I travel to Chicago for a Black Friday shopping weekend. We ALWAYS stay at The Whitehall Hotel. We Love the location, we love the rooms, we love the fab restaurant attached to the hotel. We also love the small quaintness of the hotel. Its perfect for a shopping weekend. It is no problem to run the bags back to the hotel in between stores because of its perfect location to all the best stores. Bloomies, Hershey's, American Girl. All just a hop away. The rooms are always very clean, the staff is always eager to help if you need something. This was our sixth year and it wouldnt be the same if we stayed anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The room service is fantastic try the Salmon for dinner or the Cesar salad....TO DIE FOR!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Candy
Business
Phoenix AZ
Jun 1, 2011

Fabulous old hotel!! I loved it!!!

this is a great old building in the heart of the Magnificent Mile! We were able to walk everywhere. I do think they could have included the wi-fi in the room rate. Other than that, it was perfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oma E
Business
Pa.
Oct 18, 2011

Great Hotel to Rest Your Head

Delightful room----------------clean,exquisite bedding,and very quiet. Perfect location for sightseeing. We had to change our room and found the staff to be very accomodating! Coffee in the AM was very appreciated!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to a Thai restaurant that was exceptional. Fresh ingredients,friendly service and very reasonably priced.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
naserals
Business
Riyadh Saudi Arabia
Dec 9, 2011

Great for families

This is our second time in whitehall hotel. This time we had our children with us. It was a great stay except that one of the neighboring rooms complained to me directly that we are creating "damx" noice. Fortunately, it was my last night in there. Other than that, every thing was great. For families, I think it is better to rent a house, this would be my choice if I visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Try Navy Pier

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Treadstowne
Business
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
May 18, 2012

awesome!

This is one of the few hotels I've actually enjoyed staying in. The food is great, so are the people who work there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sociedad
Business
Mexico
Jun 1, 2012

The Whitehall Hotel

Everything was Awesome! The hotel is very clean and elegant. It also has a lot of history and is quite an interesting place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunti Cheryl
Business
Brighton, Michigan
Aug 19, 2013

Aunti & Niece visit Chicago

From the moment we got out of the taxi and the doorman opened the door for us, I knew it was going to be just what we wanted for a 'little luxury' vacation. The hotel is a half block off Michigan Ave and the miracle mile of shopping. A few short blocks to shopping on State St and within a mile or so of Mellenium Park. A free trolley picks you up nearby for Navy Pier. Be sure to check with the Whitehall Concierge #Barb was fantastic# for coupons, maps and metra train directions to other attractions. The bed was so soft and the room so comfortable. Beds were neatly made during the day and the ever present doormen opened the door for us and all of our packages. It was hard to leave. We will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a block from the Cheesecake Factory! Every evening on our way home we stopped for another flavor to try. Ask your concierge for directions to get a fabulous Chicago style pizza. And don't forget to try a Chicago Dog!

Back to menu Return to top