$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,913 reviews
birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was... See full review

  • Lebowski666
  • Jul 11, 2014
trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff, See full review

  • Mom North
  • Jun 7, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1913)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1913 out of 1913
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bingobaby
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 17, 2009

Perfect, perfect, perfect

I could not have asked for a better experience. Through Orbitz I was able to book a "junior suite" for a fraction of what it would normally cost. The king size bed was sumptous.. soft sheets, feather topper, lots and lots of pillows. Spacious bathroom, marble floor. HUGE room with desk, small sofa, dresser with large mirror. Ice service was delivered to the room every day, or upon request which was a nice touch. Staff was exceedingly nice, helpful, concierge was wonderful. They are updating the rooms at the Whitehall - replacing air conditioning with central air. There was a note stating that in the room and saying that there may be noise from 9-5 during the weekdays. I appreciated the warning but I honestly heard very little disruption while I was in the room. This is a historical, boutique hotel so I was expecting some disappointments due to age but I can't think of one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bingobaby
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 17, 2009

Perfect, perfect, perfect

I could not have asked for a better experience. Through Orbitz I was able to book a "junior suite" for a fraction of what it would normally cost. The king size bed was sumptous.. soft sheets, feather topper, lots and lots of pillows. Spacious bathroom, marble floor. HUGE room with desk, small sofa, dresser with large mirror. Ice service was delivered to the room every day, or upon request which was a nice touch. Staff was exceedingly nice, helpful, concierge was wonderful. They are updating the rooms at the Whitehall - replacing air conditioning with central air. There was a note stating that in the room and saying that there may be noise from 9-5 during the weekdays. I appreciated the warning but I honestly heard very little disruption while I was in the room. This is a historical, boutique hotel so I was expecting some disappointments due to age but I can't think of one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Empty nester mom and dad
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 1, 2012

We'll be back!

Had a great stay for one night. Plan to return next Christmas season. Hotel gave us a warm and cozy feel in the middle of a big city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Candy
Phoenix AZ
Jun 1, 2011

Fabulous old hotel!! I loved it!!!

this is a great old building in the heart of the Magnificent Mile! We were able to walk everywhere. I do think they could have included the wi-fi in the room rate. Other than that, it was perfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired RIta
Mpls, MN
Oct 29, 2012

We will return!

Two friends and I just spent four delightful days in Chicago and part of the delight was staying at the Whitehall Hotel. The one block walk to North Michigan Ave. and the Water Tower Place was so convenient. Two blocks the other direction put us on State St. The staff is friendly and very helpful. When I called to report that the hair dryer quit mid-hair drying, a new one was delivered to my room as soon as I hung up! Our rooms had newly remodeled bathrooms and the beds were very comfortable with down mattress covers as well as comforters. Two amenities that we wish would have been provided would be coffee pots in the rooms and ice machines in the halls; however, the staff quickly delivered ice to our rooms and the complimentary coffee in the lobby was excellent. We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paizano Pizza is a short walk from the Whitehall west and then south on State St. This is Oprah's favorite pizza restaurant, and we agree that it is wonderful!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WindyCityFan
Roanoke, VA
May 28, 2013

One of the best in Chicago!

We had a terrific 3 night stay at this hotel. The weather wasn't real cooperative but the hotel and its staff sure were. While we have stayed at numerous hotels (at least a dozen or so in that area) over the last years, this hotel was exceptional. It is a landmark hotel and doesn't show its age a bit, as they have done a fantastic job at upgrading and maintaining this hotel. Beds and baths were extremely comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful - will definitely be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many very good places to eat nearby - L'Apetito at the bottom of John Hancock is great for breakfast or lunch. You also have Ditka's nearby, Grand Lux is good, Giordano's for pizza.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DayTriplksjhtagdserqa
Chicago
May 28, 2013

Great Night!

Awesome location, good price, very comfortable, nothing to complain about

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ventura
Sep 22, 2008

Wonderfully located for shopping and restaurants

The Whitehouse was very pleasant and we definitely will stay there again. The king bed room was not overly large, but fine for two people. I appreciated two luggage racks and wonderful duvet comforter. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were plenty of restaurants for varied tastes, including the vegetarians, close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Within two blocks was a convenience store where we could buy beer and snacks (and save on bar orders or room service). The bellman gave us directions!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Askrates
Business
japan
Dec 9, 2010

great oldfashioned comfort

I mainly used the room for business. The facilities were great, and the room large and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marty Mac1
West Des Moines, Iowa
Feb 5, 2013

The Whitehall is Awesome!

My wife and I recently stayed at the Whitehall for a weekend anniversary trip! The hotel is in a perfect location and with in 5 blocks in any direction are hundreds of restaurants and bars. The hotel itself has old school charm! The staff was excellent and were extremely helpful throughout the weekend. We will stat at the Whitehall again when we visit Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

North Rush Avenue is a short walk and has a variety of dining and bar options. It's a perfect neighborhood to spend the entire evening!

Back to menu Return to top