$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,204 reviews
Chicago Trip for Two

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was beautiful and the bed was amazing. The... See full review

  • Missing Chicago 2014
  • Sep 16, 2014
Chicago getaway

Best front desk and doorman I have experienced there. Great location-easy access to "L", bars and... See full review

  • Westparkman
  • Sep 5, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1204)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1204 out of 1204
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Serious Business Traveler
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 6, 2012

4 Star Experience

Great Stay!!!!! No complaints. Great Value. Hotel Staff was superior

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 6, 2010

Great hotel, great price

Great hotel on the north end of Michigan Ave. Very close to the beach and all of the Magnificent Mile. Two blocks from the red line and bus lines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ruston, LA
Jul 13, 2009

Fabulous

This hotel was in a great location one block from the heart of the Magnificent Mile. There were lots of unique eating opportunities a quick walk away. The concierge and the bellman were very helpful in suggesting places to go and how to get there. Our room was beautifully decorated and the fourposter bed was extremely comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Ditka's - on the street, weather permitting. We loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
May 10, 2010

Great Botique Hotel on the Gold Coast

Used Hotel as base for travelling all over the North Side. Was taken aback with the price of parking the car. No one mentioned the 48 dollar fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lexington, KY
Jul 19, 2009

Great Getaway

My experience was delightful, added with a friendly hotel staff and topped off with a great location my friend and I had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sue, on business and pleasure trip
Arlington, Texas
Jun 30, 2010

Great Location, comfortable, and cozy

A charming "historical" hotel, although not new, the rooms are very inviting, with great location for business, shopping, nightlife, and other attractions. The staff was helpful and polite, but most important, made me feel safe and at home. Great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dinning, and most everything else you might need is within a walking distance from the hotel. Great North Side location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cathi C
Ruston, Louisiana
Jul 12, 2009

Awesome in Chicago!

A group of four friends were in Chicago to celebrate a 50th birthday. We covered the entire city in just under four days and the Whitehall staff really helped make it happen. Outstanding and personal service, superb location, fantastic rooms, unbelievable deal for the terrific property and caliber of rooms, and simply splendid overall. It was one of the better places we've stayed and rated right up there with other boutique hotels we've enjoyed. I've already stated that I will return to the Whitehall when I visit Chicago again and you can be sure that will definitely happen!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Whitehall is an unbelievable location with almost immediate access to so many key things that make a Chicago trip what it can be--Rush Street is right there, you're right around the corner from the Hancock Building and Water Tower Place as well as other features on the Magnificent Mile/Michigan Avenue, great eats and sites are handy, transportation is readily available, and the hub for specific tourist interests are nearby as well. It's the perfect location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ohio teacher
columbus, ohio
Jul 24, 2010

great location and service

Location was great! I was able to walk to Navy Pier and Museum of Modern Art. Major shopping available! Easy access to the El. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful with parking tips and directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum of Modern Art offers a picnic, live jazz and free admission one night a week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Olympia, WA
May 7, 2010

Great Hotel

Location - perfect Wonderful staff, everything well done Hotel had a quiet European feeling We will stay there next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 16, 2009

Great Trip!

We arrived around noon and were just hoping to drop our bags off. The staff was very friendly and attentive and allowed us to check in three hours early. The location is great. Everything you want or need is within walking distance. There is new central air. There was construction going on in the vacant rooms next to us. It was during the day and we were in and out of the room anyway. It was definately tolerable. On my next trip to Chicago, I will check availability with the Whitehall first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Before shopping for souvenirs , I would check the local pharmacys for the best deals on shirts, hats, magnets, whatever it is that you are looking for. We stopped by Walgreens on our way out and I could have saved a ton of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shopping Gal
Troy, Michigan
Dec 13, 2010

Tradition

Every year my Mom and I travel to Chicago for a Black Friday shopping weekend. We ALWAYS stay at The Whitehall Hotel. We Love the location, we love the rooms, we love the fab restaurant attached to the hotel. We also love the small quaintness of the hotel. Its perfect for a shopping weekend. It is no problem to run the bags back to the hotel in between stores because of its perfect location to all the best stores. Bloomies, Hershey's, American Girl. All just a hop away. The rooms are always very clean, the staff is always eager to help if you need something. This was our sixth year and it wouldnt be the same if we stayed anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The room service is fantastic try the Salmon for dinner or the Cesar salad....TO DIE FOR!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top