$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,219 reviews
birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was... See full review

  • Lebowski666
  • Jul 11, 2014
trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff, See full review

  • Mom North
  • Jun 7, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1219)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1219 out of 1219
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paige Travelor
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 16, 2014

Training/Family Getaway

My family and I stayed at the Whitehall while I trained at the Westin Hotel. The location was great; not a long walk to Walgreens, food, entertainment, and the beach/Navy Pier! Staff was very friendly, and opened doors for us as much as possible. Would recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheap and yummy food just down the road downstairs by The Cheesecake Factory.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Incredibly Disgusted
Arizona
Aug 16, 2014

Vacation

The room was incredibly small with no view; windows of opposite building so close that needed to keep the shades pulled. Lamps in room in disrepair - wobbly, had to wiggle switches. Air conditioning ineffective - room stuffy; had to turn it off and restart it frequently for any cool air. The bathroom was dirty - black stuff (?mildew?) in sink and toilet. Called for extra pillow and blanket - after 2 hours, made 2nd call. No room service available for dinner. No information in room about surrounding restaurants, attractions, services. Overall, not a good experience for a first visit to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qwertyu274
Cleveland, ohio
Aug 12, 2014

Nice weekend trip

I stayed at the Whitehall and enjoyed it very much. This was the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The bedding was crisp white (not the usual dingy dark floral pattern) and smelled wonderful. I am a huge germophobe, but didn't feel like the place was dirty at all. They replenished the towels and made the beds during the day while we were out. My only complaint was waking up at every toilet flush throughout the night (I must admit that I am a light sleeper when I am not in my own bed.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The redhead piano bar was a fabulous place to visit for entertainment.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Fones
Kansas City, Missouri
Aug 6, 2014

Great for fast stays

It was a great location. I was only there for less than 24 hours overnight, but it was good for what I was looking for. Central location. Close to lots of things in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori lynnie
WI
Aug 4, 2014

Great hotel

Comfy big rooms. Good breakfast! I would stay here again, and recommend to others. Lots of restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MI traveller in Chicago
michigan
Jul 25, 2014

good

I stayed there for 3 nights. The hotel is in a great location. Staff was good and helpful. Only complaint I have us that the management decided not to clean my room the day before I am going to vacate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alli B.
St. Louis
Jul 21, 2014

Great weekend getaway spot

We stayed just for a weekend of shopping and dining and the location of the hotel was perfect for both. We could walk anywhere we wanted and did not have to walk far at all to get to great restaurants and Michigan Ave. The hotel was really cute, but a bit cramped and the elevators took forever. Also there was a 5 person limit per elevator b/c they are the original ones so they couldn't handle too much weight. That caused it to take a while to get to your room and back, but otherwise everything was great. The room was a bit on the small side, but really comfortable and clean. The HVAC system I think needed to be checked though as it was somewhat weird with the temp setting. Overall, for the price and location it was a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
napa610
Decatur IL
Jul 16, 2014

Majestic Chicago Experience!!!

The Whitehall Hotel was Excellent. The Staff were the friendliest I've ever seen, The Amenities were there when I need them and it's in the perfect location about a block away from the Hancock building. It was just fabulous. One of the Greeters (I forgot his name) Checked the times one of the tours on his phone while holding the door for other hotel guests. I was impressed! Thank you Whitehall Hotel and Thank you Chicago. I'm definitely planning another trip to Chicago and maybe another stay at the Whitehall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great experience in a lounge, try the Signature lounge at the Hancock building

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChiTown Reminiscent
Ohio
Jul 15, 2014

Great Location!

Great location for a stay in Downtown Chicago. Convenient to the Mag Mile and shopping. The only negative is the parking/valet parking prices. Very high. But staff was great, very nice and pleasant, and extremely helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Water Tower Place!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lebowski666
Chicago
Jul 11, 2014

birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was amazing. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search