$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,913 reviews
birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was... See full review

  • Lebowski666
  • Jul 11, 2014
trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff, See full review

  • Mom North
  • Jun 7, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1913)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 1913
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MI traveller in Chicago
michigan
Jul 25, 2014

good

I stayed there for 3 nights. The hotel is in a great location. Staff was good and helpful. Only complaint I have us that the management decided not to clean my room the day before I am going to vacate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
napa610
Decatur IL
Jul 16, 2014

Majestic Chicago Experience!!!

The Whitehall Hotel was Excellent. The Staff were the friendliest I've ever seen, The Amenities were there when I need them and it's in the perfect location about a block away from the Hancock building. It was just fabulous. One of the Greeters (I forgot his name) Checked the times one of the tours on his phone while holding the door for other hotel guests. I was impressed! Thank you Whitehall Hotel and Thank you Chicago. I'm definitely planning another trip to Chicago and maybe another stay at the Whitehall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great experience in a lounge, try the Signature lounge at the Hancock building

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James Bond 007 MI6
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 24, 2014

Great downtown stay

This hotel is in great location, just a block away from the Hancock building. Be prepared to look for alternative parking, since hotel parking is very expensive. I use Spot Hero app and it works great. Room was very clean and was kept that way for the duration of my stay. This is a great little hotel and I would gladly stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little breakfast and coffee place by the Hancock building.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margi Loves Travel
Denver, CO
May 26, 2014

Visiting the Past

Went for a wedding of a high school friend from 40 years ago. The hotel was great, the staff wonderful and the location perfect for visiting all the places I wanted to see from my past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get to both airports and all places to visit on public transportation. Great location for those who like to walk about.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savvyshopper1
Boulder, Colorado
Apr 9, 2014

Miracle Mile and Miraculously Perfect!

From the smiling doormen, to front desk, to maid staff to bellmen - the Staff at Whitehall is top drawer. The rooms are extremely clean and well furnished. The beds are sink-into perfection with a good selection of pillows and bed covers. The in-room air conditioning responded quickly to comfort corrections. There is complimentary USA today papers, freshly brewed coffee and good restaurants very handy. The doormen summon taxis within 30 seconds of a request. The entire staff and amenities at Whitehall are set up to anticipate needs and make your stay extremely enjoyable. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are MANY places within walking distance at which to eat and shop. I walked to Art Institute, Wildberry's Restaurant, Frankies, Potash grocery store, Oak Street beach, Lakeshore Drive, walked the Miracle Mile.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TRAVissss
Chicago
Mar 25, 2014

Business

Room needed a minor make over,paint peel,drawer knobs missing,bulbs flickering,shower knob broken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveled to chicago
canada
Feb 18, 2014

Location

Location of hi hotel is the best feature. Also the rooms are clea. There is no room service for food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobertG
New York City
Jan 28, 2014

Heart of Chicago

Excellent four-star value. Excellent location with top shopping, restaurants and a very good cafe steps away.. Easy bus ride #66 from Chicago St. to wide range of attractions at Navy Pier, where the Magnificent Mile starts. Only problem: I would hesitate to return to a hotel that doesn't provide PBS on its cable TV!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The glass-enclosed cafe around the corner provides excellent food and service at any time, with plenty of heat and a fireplace against the cold and wind. Hotel breakfast service is also pretty good and fairly reasonably priced.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo Chicago Traveller
Nashville
Dec 26, 2013

Excellent Location and Staff!

This was my 3rd time stayin at the Whitehall. I stayed a few days before Christmas Eve through Christmas Day. I continue to come to this hotel because the location is perfect, just a few blocks from the water tower and the john hancock building, right in the heart of michigan ave. The staff also rocks. Super friendly, always willing to go the extra mile. Something worth giving an extra mentioning also are the bellman. So polite and never pushy but always helpful. I love this hotel! Def worth the stay everytime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liz L
West Palm Beach, FL.
Apr 15, 2013

Excellent!!!

From the moment I entered the hotel up until I checked out I was impressed with The Whitehall Hotel. The staff was very accommodating and went out there way to for assist my needs. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The location was perfect and was able to walk to just about anywhere you may want to go. Without a doubt I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask the doorman. They are a world of information.

Back to menu Return to top