$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,209 reviews
This is a jewel in the city

We got this hotel for a steal of a price, was a bit worried what we would end up with but this... See full review

  • tcdlm
  • Oct 21, 2014
Doesnt get any better, in the heart of Chicago, Great surrounding area

Staff is great, friendly, helpful. Location, great views, walkable, near shopping and dinning.... See full review

  • BrandonGallegos
  • Oct 2, 2014
The Whitehall Hotel remains a landmark destination in downtown Chicago, offering a very European sense of grace and grandeur. Thanks to meticulous restorations. In perfect harmony with the old world charm are modern conveniences such as a fitness center. In-room features include three multi-line telephones with voicemail, high speed internet (for fee). Step outside and you'll find that the hotel is ideally located in the heart of the Gold Coast, nestled amid the Magnificent Mile's shops, restaurants, theaters, entertainment, and the business district. The Whitehall Hotel, Downtown Chicago's True Independent Boutique Hotel, proudly and successfully endures the test of time. The hotel will exceed your expectations and invite you to explore The Whitehall Hotel today.

This property is 100% smoke free

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1209)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1209 out of 1209
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ljt
Business
Cincinnati OH
Aug 11, 2009

Perfect room for a perfect price

Given the location it is quite a quick walk to many of the attractions, only steps to great Michigan Ave. shopping, and right in the middle of some of the best food Chicago has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rambling man
Business
Tucson,AZ
Aug 10, 2009

Chicago weekend

The Hotel was small but very clean and very comfortable. There was alot of construction going on but I was affected by it. The bed was great especially after an entire day of standing and walking. I went for Lollapalooza so the city was packed and hotels were hard to come by, fortunately i booked a couple of months in advance. The service was good, not great, however they seemed to try hard to make up for it when they messed up. I was on hold for about 15 mins trying to get the code for the wireless internet so they ended up not charging me. I would skip on the late night room service though, it was the worst salad i have ever had. The location of the hotel was great, right down town, a couple of blocks from the lake and within walking distance to most things in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Rush and division is a pretty good night spot and is a few blocks from the hotel. There are also alot of really nice restaurants/bars, but you have to be ready to dress up and spend some dough. If youre looking for more laid back divey type bars youre going to have to go outside of downtown a bit but its still a fairly short cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus Ohio
Aug 6, 2009

Whitehall Hotel

The hotel is tired and needs repair. Only one elevator worked, making the wait to go up or down interminable. The key to the room did not work very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Aug 5, 2009

Great girl getaway

This was our annual mom/daughter summer vacation. We spent our time shopping, eating, and sightseeing. The location was perfect, as it was close to everything! And since we spent so little time during the day in the hotel room, it worked out well. The floor we were put on (4th) was still being renovated. Plastic covered the hallway carpets (not very attractive), but the workers were very respectful of only working between 8 and 5 Monday thru Friday. The elevator wasn't working at various times during our stay, so we had to use the stairs a few times. Also, the walls seemed very thin. And Housekeeping left us a vacuum cleaner one day in our room. The staff, however, was extremely helpful and attentive. We had a really nice stay at the Whitehall, but we did miss having a swimming pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The Lincoln Park Zoo is 2.6 miles from the hotel. Take the 151/152 bus on Michigan Avenue to the Zoo and back. It's cheap and fast, and the zoo is FREE. You could walk it, too, but the bus is really nice to ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StashaDC
Business
Washington DC
Aug 5, 2009

Great place to stay !!!

I found that The Whitehall Hotel was in the very best location, the five days I stayed I walked everywhere. The Sears Tower was just a block away. If you deside not to try some of the great meals at the hotels resturant, then there are as well various small cafe's to grab nice meals a few blocks away. I found the staff very friendly and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Like I mentioned before, I walked everywhere, so wheather its food, shopping, seight seeing, The Whitehall Hotel is in the perfect location for all of this on foot. So bring a pair of comfortable shoes and enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Aug 4, 2009

Not a good night's sleep.

The staff is friendly and very helpful, especially the concierge. However, most of the time one of the two elevators was out of service. And the mattress was as hard as the floor. Oh my aching back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is ideal. Just walk to the corner in either direction, and there are great restaurants. The best shopping is just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seward, NE
Aug 4, 2009

Excellent!

Everyone was friendly and helpful, the location is excellent, and the rooms comfy and clean! Couldn't have picked a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 4, 2009

Chicago made easy

Our doorman took very good care of us, recommending a wonderful place for breakfast, getting us a newspaper over the weekend, and other little details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wed for 30 years...
Business
Tijuana Mex.
Aug 4, 2009

Perfect for a short vacation

Walk distance from transport facilities, museums, dept. stores & restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ericke from NYC
Business
New York, NY
Aug 3, 2009

Bumpy Start but Orbitz Fixed the Problem

Just like the Orbitz commercial about receiving the incorrect bed size, I ran into the same problem. Just like the commercial I called Orbitz, got shuffled around three times (perhaps it was four) but they called the hotel who at first told me that the hotel was booked but eventually I got my kind bed.. Thanks Orbitz. The hotel is in a great location. They are in the middle of a renovation it seems but since it was a weekend trip, I didn't experience any noise issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If your planning planning to use the "L" - light rail from the airport, I suggest you purchase a 3 - 7 day pass at the airport subway station. Don't waste your money like i did by putting $20 on a metro card. The money went quick and i had to buy an additional 3 day pass to make it through the weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top