$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1237 out of 1237
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario hamilton
Aug 24, 2009

Our visit to Chicago

The location of the hotel was fantastic - we walked everywhere. The room was quiet and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All the recreation and great sightseeing was walking distance from the hotel. The area was also very safe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New England Chicago Girl
Business
Connecticut
Aug 24, 2009

Nice, but not romantic

Great Location Near Millenium Park Magnificent Mile John Hancock Observatory Sears (Willis) Tower Navy Pier The River (Great for site seeing) Numerous great restaurants including Ed Debevic's (where they are purposely snarky to you :), House of Blues, and Hard Rock Cafe) It is also near some really great deep dish pizza places. I am in love with this city and you really cannot get a bad view of it. The hotel was a little old fashioned for my taste. The elevators were small and it was not very romantic. The beds were really squeaky and there is construction going on during the day that you can hear through the walls. As a young couple, we felt like we were in a great great great grandmothers bedroom. If it was not for the nice staff, housekeeping, and convenient location the hotel would have nothing going for it. If it was plucked out of its location and into another I would never seek out to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I'm Jake's Mom I
Business
Bettendorf, Iowa
Aug 23, 2009

Hotel Review for The Whitehall Hotel

Sister's birthday weekend! Had a great time, beautiful rooms, still renovating, but only worked 9-5 on Friday, not on the weekend. Comfortable beds, great bathroom. We were in a suite and a double. Staff VERY helpful. Suitcase handle broke they gave us duct tape. Two minor details to work on, ice must be brought to the room by hotel staff and we couldn't find a hairdryer in one room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosebud Italian Restaurant on State Street. GREAT!Holy Name Cathedral on State and Superior, beautiful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beaugal
Business
Lake Charles, La
Aug 22, 2009

Location Location Location

Brought my son to enter grad school at loyola. everything was ready and waiting when we got there - no surprises - super !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

some places were far but we chose to walk there, but the hotel was one block from the bus stops and about 3 blocks from the train station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
Aug 21, 2009

Whitehall under renovation

The people were lovely, and the Whitehall is in many ways a lovely old building. But the rooms were quite small and outdated, and a lot didn't work quite right. The airconditioning was fussy and one of the elevators was broken for half of our stay. They seem to be renovating and adding central air, so maybe soon the rooms will be as good as the service downstairs, but for right now, that's not the case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susan "Bossyberry"
Business
Taos, NM
Aug 21, 2009

fabulous location!

Have been a repeat guest over 25 years and very much appreciated the excellent service to my pet who the breeders from Wisconsin delivered to me on Sunday afternoon. His name is Chip and as a tall elegant Borzoi(Russian Wolfhound), he enhanced your beautiful ambiance and his gentle manners and obedient behavior entranced your staff and guests alike. Thankyou, Susan and Chip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Please take a walk throughout the Gold Coast and and

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TK007
Business
Houston
Aug 20, 2009

Good Hotel in a great location!

A good hotel with a friendly staff and quick service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time in Chicago
Business
Chillicothe, OH
Aug 20, 2009

Great Location

Excellent location for any of the attractions of downtown Chicago. A short walk to shopping and dining, would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet, clean hotel, but close to all the great attractions and shopping of Michigan Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston
Aug 20, 2009

excellent location. hotel kind of old an

air show and cubs games.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FFEMT33
Business
South Carolina
Aug 20, 2009

Very Nice Old Hotel

The hotel is located a stones throw away from the John Hancock Center. A short walk and you're on the Red Line or walking the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is old and undergoing some renovations. That's not to say that it isn't a wonderful place. My only gripe about the place is it only has two elevators. One of which always seemed to be out of service. The bathrooms were gorgeous, and the room itself was very nice. The staff was always very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top