$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 19, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,207 reviews
Doesnt get any better, in the heart of Chicago, Great surrounding area

Staff is great, friendly, helpful. Location, great views, walkable, near shopping and dinning.... See full review

  • BrandonGallegos
  • Oct 2, 2014
Chicago Trip for Two

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was beautiful and the bed was amazing. The... See full review

  • Missing Chicago 2014
  • Sep 16, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1207)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1207 out of 1207
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus Ohio
Aug 6, 2009

Whitehall Hotel

The hotel is tired and needs repair. Only one elevator worked, making the wait to go up or down interminable. The key to the room did not work very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Aug 5, 2009

Great girl getaway

This was our annual mom/daughter summer vacation. We spent our time shopping, eating, and sightseeing. The location was perfect, as it was close to everything! And since we spent so little time during the day in the hotel room, it worked out well. The floor we were put on (4th) was still being renovated. Plastic covered the hallway carpets (not very attractive), but the workers were very respectful of only working between 8 and 5 Monday thru Friday. The elevator wasn't working at various times during our stay, so we had to use the stairs a few times. Also, the walls seemed very thin. And Housekeeping left us a vacuum cleaner one day in our room. The staff, however, was extremely helpful and attentive. We had a really nice stay at the Whitehall, but we did miss having a swimming pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The Lincoln Park Zoo is 2.6 miles from the hotel. Take the 151/152 bus on Michigan Avenue to the Zoo and back. It's cheap and fast, and the zoo is FREE. You could walk it, too, but the bus is really nice to ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StashaDC
Business
Washington DC
Aug 5, 2009

Great place to stay !!!

I found that The Whitehall Hotel was in the very best location, the five days I stayed I walked everywhere. The Sears Tower was just a block away. If you deside not to try some of the great meals at the hotels resturant, then there are as well various small cafe's to grab nice meals a few blocks away. I found the staff very friendly and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Like I mentioned before, I walked everywhere, so wheather its food, shopping, seight seeing, The Whitehall Hotel is in the perfect location for all of this on foot. So bring a pair of comfortable shoes and enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Aug 4, 2009

Not a good night's sleep.

The staff is friendly and very helpful, especially the concierge. However, most of the time one of the two elevators was out of service. And the mattress was as hard as the floor. Oh my aching back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is ideal. Just walk to the corner in either direction, and there are great restaurants. The best shopping is just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seward, NE
Aug 4, 2009

Excellent!

Everyone was friendly and helpful, the location is excellent, and the rooms comfy and clean! Couldn't have picked a better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 4, 2009

Chicago made easy

Our doorman took very good care of us, recommending a wonderful place for breakfast, getting us a newspaper over the weekend, and other little details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wed for 30 years...
Business
Tijuana Mex.
Aug 4, 2009

Perfect for a short vacation

Walk distance from transport facilities, museums, dept. stores & restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ericke from NYC
Business
New York, NY
Aug 3, 2009

Bumpy Start but Orbitz Fixed the Problem

Just like the Orbitz commercial about receiving the incorrect bed size, I ran into the same problem. Just like the commercial I called Orbitz, got shuffled around three times (perhaps it was four) but they called the hotel who at first told me that the hotel was booked but eventually I got my kind bed.. Thanks Orbitz. The hotel is in a great location. They are in the middle of a renovation it seems but since it was a weekend trip, I didn't experience any noise issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If your planning planning to use the "L" - light rail from the airport, I suggest you purchase a 3 - 7 day pass at the airport subway station. Don't waste your money like i did by putting $20 on a metro card. The money went quick and i had to buy an additional 3 day pass to make it through the weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rads rule
Business
Richmond VA
Aug 3, 2009

The wonderful Whitehall Hotel

Just a quick one night business trip. I can always count on the Whitehall for an enjoyable and fuss-free stay. Surprisingly quiet despite its proximity to Michigan Avenue. Lovely remodeled rooms. Nice morning coffee service and computer kiosk to print a boarding pass. [...] at the front desk is a great asset to hotel staff. Elegantly charming with a European flair and genuinely concerned that all be right with the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bice Restaurant on Ontario Street for great Italian food at great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Travel-seeker
Business
Northeastern NJ
Aug 3, 2009

Very convenient loc and service (24/7)

It was very quiet. The bed was comfortable. ROom service was good, although the night shift didn't have too much food on the menu for in-room dining. I believe they were undergoing an upgrade to the menu adn too much was going on during my weekend stay to even have left overs for chicken caesar salad and beef. The salmon dish was very tasty. The gym size is average. You have an area for cardio, nautilus adn stretching. Staff was polite and would try their best to accomodate their guests' needs. Checking out was a piece of cake due to the bill being pre-paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of bars and restaurants nearby. And also on Michigan Ave byt eh John Hancock bldg.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top