$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1337 out of 1337
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, In
Oct 29, 2009

two nights stay

Relaxing in spight of poor service and a very small room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
HUNTLEY, ILLINOIS
Oct 28, 2009

Old World Charm

We were first given a room that was unexceptable to us. However, the staff was very apologetic and although they could not move us until the following day, they upgraded us to a suite for the same price that was large, quiet, and very clean. [...] Are continued stay was wonderful and the hotel staff deserves 4 stars for taking care of the problem efficiently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you are 1/2 block from Chicago's Magnificent Mile (of shopping).

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ehp
Business
NC
Oct 28, 2009

great for location and budget

certainly not a luxury hotel, but it was clean and the location could not be beat (proximity to Red Line, coffee shops, restaurants, etc). I chalk some of this up to renovation construction going on. I venture to guess we got the deal we did because of this. If I had paid a premium I would have something to complain about, but it was a STEAL. who spends time in their hotel while in Chicago anyway?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Chicago Architecture Tour on the River

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CoffeeSnob
Business
Atlanta, Ga.
Oct 27, 2009

Great Location. Enjoyed the stay.

We loved the Whitehall. The service was awesome. Very friendly and helpful. Concierge was very knowledgeable and made our trip even more enjoyable and easy. Great location too. Located right next to the magnificent mile with great shopping/ touristy stuff. A few blocks from the train station and a $10 or less cab ride to pretty much everything in the city. Our room was nice. Not really super special but better than the average room. If the bed was any more comfortable I don't think we would have left the room. They are doing renovations to the hotel right now and there was a note in the room reminding us that there may be noise from 9am to 5pm. It never bothered us and we actually only heard it one day around 10 after we were already up. We would also catch whifs of smoke in our non smoking room when we would come back at night (old hotel with poor ventilation maybe?) but it didn't linger for long. Other than that we had no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you plan on going to Gino's East for pizza (famous in Chicago and right around the corner) tell the concierge first. She gave us a pass that let us bypass the hour and a half wait and go straight to a table just because we were guests at the Whitehall! And it turned out we got a free appetizer with the pass. Pretty good deal fro just staying somewhere and the pizza was really really good!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WI
Oct 27, 2009

The best of locations

Truly enjoyed our stay in Chicago because of the location and staff of the Whitehall Hotel. Very accomodating. At first we were not honored our request for a non-smoking room. After realizing there was no way we could stay in the smoking room, the front desk did their best to accomodate us. The young desk clerk went out of his way for us. Have stayed in many downtown hotels. The Whitehall is now placed on the top of our list. Will stay there again. . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sonoma ca
Oct 27, 2009

good price, great location

Quiet European property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colley
Business
Boise, Idaho
Oct 26, 2009

Under construction but great location

This hotel is under construction. You can expect loud noises from 9 to 5. We booked a pinnacle room and they said they had us down for a regular room. They tried to fight with me about what we had booked. Both superior and pinnacle rooms are small and outdated. The woman at the concierge desk was amazing and super helpful. Too bad the rest of the hotel wasn't up to her standards. The hotel has a great location, but I wouldn't stay here again, but you can find better in downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Davis, CA
Oct 26, 2009

Whitehall

Sheets were not changed from previous guest and not at all during our 4 day stay. Otherwise, pleasant staff and environment. Great location. Very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 26, 2009

A great location!

The hotel was in a fabulous location just a block from michigan ave with plenty of cta stops close by. The staff was very helpful and always friendly. I would choose this hotel again for any future vacations to chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kaykensmom
Business
Goose Creek, SC
Oct 26, 2009

Thomas

Awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top