$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,913 reviews
birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was... See full review

  • Lebowski666
  • Jul 11, 2014
trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff, See full review

  • Mom North
  • Jun 7, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1913)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1913 out of 1913
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eureka, CA
Sep 5, 2008

Great location

I have stayed at the Whitehall numerous times through the years. This year I had problems with the air conditioning not working. Then when they fixed it, the fan was so noisy that I had problems sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice park three blocks away. I sometimes go down there to sit and enjoy the fountain and people watch. Lots of dogs at the park so if your a dog person you're sure to find your breed.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Altos
Sep 27, 2008

Great location for shopping

The Whitehall has a great location for shopping in Chicago. The concierge was fabulous. She helped us with dining choices, sightseeing adventures, shopping events. Although the king bed was very comfortable,our room was quite small for 2 people. There was hardly room for 2 suitcases and our bodies. It took 2 days for us to get ice delivered.The bathroom was nicely appointed, but so narrow that we had to pass sideways. Each day we needed to call for another washcloth and handtowel as we wanted one each. The bathmat didn't arrive until the second day. Staff was pleasant and cheerful, nevertheless. There was a closet with enough hanging space, ironing board and iron. However, the sliding doors didn't slide without great effort. It was difficult/awkward to use the few drawers available. I used the nightstand drawers fpr a few small things and lived out of my suitcase. Usually for a 3 day stay I like to unpack. Folded things go in drawers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy', Bloomingdale's, every store you could think of was an easy walk. There's a great cafe/deli across the street and below groundlevel....L'Appetito.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Antonio from NYC
New York, NY
Aug 29, 2012

Disappointing hotel at a great location

This hotel has a great location and allows you to check-in early, but that's where the praising ends. My hotel room was dark, dirty and very old. The tv was at least 20 years old. The furniture had stains and in need of repair. I was on a non-smoking floor, yet our room and the hallways smelled of cigarettes. We addressed our issues to the front desk, but to no avail. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenfield, IN
Oct 3, 2008

Good location, but...

The room was clean and comfortable, but my view was the top of air conditioning units with several pair of men?s underwear laying on top. At least one elevator was out of service each day, and one day the only working elevator was the service elevator. I stayed for 5 nights. On the second day, the restaurant in the hotel was shut down do to losing it's license and therefore no room service or ice was available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Mar 31, 2011

Not the right choice for my demographic

It was small in every aspect pertaining to the room. TV was outdated & the picture didn't work but the audio did. we ordered room service & 2 chicken caesar salads were 44 dollars. ridiculous! Plus Tip! There wasn't a bartender at the bar when we would go to the bar area. I think this place is for an older demographic that just needs a place to stay. I didn't need much service but when I did, they were very quick, probably because it wasn't very busy. The place was clean but it just wasn't what I wanted for a vacation in chacago as a 23 year old with his 24 year old wife. Very boring hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stamford, Connecticut
Oct 26, 2010

Whitehall, Chocago

Price good for location. Terrible elevator service. Have stayed here before and have one of only two elevators down is not unusual. Room spacious and clean but dark, no view. TV old. No food service. morning coffee is no great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Water Tower Place and Michigan avenue are just out the door. This is the most compelling reason to stay here.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nightsky
Lander, WY
Jun 22, 2009

Whitehall Hotel

I was able to walk to stores, events public transportation. Concierge gave wrong directions and, on different occaisions, was preoccupied. Business center was closed and I had not brought my own computer. Would have liked a bike in the fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Aug 19, 2010

Not worth the price

My son and I decided to attend a midweek Cubs game and wanted the "Chicago" experience. We opted to stay downtown and thought we would stay away from the hotel chains. Mistake. The Whitehall Hotel speaks of old world charm.... if stale smoke smells, malfunctioning air conditioning, slow tiny elevators and wifi for a fee is your idea of old world charm than this is the place to stay. If you would like any of the creature comforts of hotels, i.e. ice machines with reasonably priced bottles of water (not cash bar $3.50 and $3.00 m&m's), closets that have both doors on them, not just one, less than $18.00 breakfast, and rooms with all the trim work (whole sections missing), cut off pipes coming thru the bathroom tile floor. I could go on and on.[...] I requested a non smoking room.Upon arrival my son and I got to our room and low and behold.... a smoking room. I called the front desk to have my room changed and was told that there were not any available rooms until the next day. The front desk manager offered to have housekeeping use a machine to "change" the air but we would have to leave the room for at least an hour or two.When we came back later the room smelled marginally better but the dangerous air machine was still sitting on the table and was never removed. I thought if we could turn the A/C unit cooler and the fan faster that it might help, wrong again the unit was malfunctioning so it never got cooler than 74 degrees unless we wanted to open the window and listen to the cooling units in the alley.We were switched the next morning to a lower floor that had A/C and did not stink of smoke but by then my opinion was set on the hotel.There are many hotels in the downtown area that would be a better choice than this one. Chicago is a great town and I can see returning again in the future but not to the Whithall Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giordano's Casual Italian. Lizzie O'Neil's on the Chicago river.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 24, 2009

Not all that Impressed

Hotel may be a landmark destination, but just because it is landmark shouldn't mean you don't have all the amenities that a good hotel should have. Room Service is stated to be 24hrs, yet it is run by the restaurant attached to the hotel which closes at 11pm, so it is not 24hrs. We were never told until after we checked in that there was construction in the building and it would be loud in the hotel between 9am and 5pm. This information would have been helpful earlier since construction had been going on for some time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pemm
Pacific Grove, CA, USA
Sep 2, 2011

poor service

good location but poor service...a king-sized bedroom downgraded to queen-sized for no reason...housekeeping staff's annoying...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top