$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,212 reviews
This is a jewel in the city

We got this hotel for a steal of a price, was a bit worried what we would end up with but this... See full review

  • tcdlm
  • Oct 21, 2014
Doesnt get any better, in the heart of Chicago, Great surrounding area

Staff is great, friendly, helpful. Location, great views, walkable, near shopping and dinning.... See full review

  • BrandonGallegos
  • Oct 2, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1212)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1212 out of 1212
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired RIta
Mpls, MN
Oct 29, 2012

We will return!

Two friends and I just spent four delightful days in Chicago and part of the delight was staying at the Whitehall Hotel. The one block walk to North Michigan Ave. and the Water Tower Place was so convenient. Two blocks the other direction put us on State St. The staff is friendly and very helpful. When I called to report that the hair dryer quit mid-hair drying, a new one was delivered to my room as soon as I hung up! Our rooms had newly remodeled bathrooms and the beds were very comfortable with down mattress covers as well as comforters. Two amenities that we wish would have been provided would be coffee pots in the rooms and ice machines in the halls; however, the staff quickly delivered ice to our rooms and the complimentary coffee in the lobby was excellent. We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paizano Pizza is a short walk from the Whitehall west and then south on State St. This is Oprah's favorite pizza restaurant, and we agree that it is wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
zetyr
Business
new york, ny
Jun 13, 2011

small rooms, elevators do not work ...

hotel was expensive, had small rooms, 2 elevators one of which did not work, had to go up the stairs 7 floors twice. i don't think i will go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 24, 2009

Not all that Impressed

Hotel may be a landmark destination, but just because it is landmark shouldn't mean you don't have all the amenities that a good hotel should have. Room Service is stated to be 24hrs, yet it is run by the restaurant attached to the hotel which closes at 11pm, so it is not 24hrs. We were never told until after we checked in that there was construction in the building and it would be loud in the hotel between 9am and 5pm. This information would have been helpful earlier since construction had been going on for some time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nightsky
Business
Lander, WY
Jun 22, 2009

Whitehall Hotel

I was able to walk to stores, events public transportation. Concierge gave wrong directions and, on different occaisions, was preoccupied. Business center was closed and I had not brought my own computer. Would have liked a bike in the fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
scs
Business
Chicago
Apr 3, 2011

Not bad

Room smelled like someone had been smoking in it forever. Elevators scary small, but location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
May 7, 2011

Never Again

Where do I begin? My door key didn't work, at one point only the service elevator was working, construction noise early every morning. The hotel is very old and the hallways are very dark and dingy. The one positive is the location of the hotel. It's within walking distance of a lot of famous Chicago attractions and shopping. Like I said, never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jul 30, 2009

not so good

arrived and was unable to get non-smoking room although book 3 weeks in advanced and requested same. room smelled; fortunately able to open window slightly. ac did not work-- front desk said hotel was installing central air

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Jun 9, 2009

Great location but not much else

I stayed for 4 nights for business. The location was good and the staff very helpful but the room had many issues they could not resolve. They charge $10/day for internet which would not allow outgoing mail despite phone support from the ISP. The A/C was broken and it was very hot each night. The drain was clogged and the mixing valve in bad shape. Otherwise the rooms are spacious and nice - being comfortable is just luck of the draw.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Rush Street and lots of great bars and restaurants. This was our favorite thing about the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 13, 2009

Mixed feelings

The hotel as clean and well located. The staff was truly unfriendly. A first for me, and I travel extensively for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, In
Oct 29, 2009

two nights stay

Relaxing in spight of poor service and a very small room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
English traveller
Business
Delhi India
Jun 17, 2009

Poor

The hotel was in a good location. Just off the magnificent mile and near to the local train station. The hotel business centre was not usable due to (long term?) renovation, and no alternative fax email business service was provided. A request to download an important email was turned down. The day after we arrived we went out and returned at 6pm to find that our room had not been cleaned. The cleaner informed was contacted and offered to do it that evening sayinfg she had had too many rooms to do and had to do the vacated rooms first. Next mornings tea came with out milk and only half the required tea bags. There was nothing in the mini bar, and the phone on the desk did not work so that we had to use the one in the bathroom. Th e facilities and the service was far below our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top