$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1330 out of 1330
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired RIta
Mpls, MN
Oct 29, 2012

We will return!

Two friends and I just spent four delightful days in Chicago and part of the delight was staying at the Whitehall Hotel. The one block walk to North Michigan Ave. and the Water Tower Place was so convenient. Two blocks the other direction put us on State St. The staff is friendly and very helpful. When I called to report that the hair dryer quit mid-hair drying, a new one was delivered to my room as soon as I hung up! Our rooms had newly remodeled bathrooms and the beds were very comfortable with down mattress covers as well as comforters. Two amenities that we wish would have been provided would be coffee pots in the rooms and ice machines in the halls; however, the staff quickly delivered ice to our rooms and the complimentary coffee in the lobby was excellent. We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paizano Pizza is a short walk from the Whitehall west and then south on State St. This is Oprah's favorite pizza restaurant, and we agree that it is wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
K. Renee
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 2, 2014

Not what we expected

We visit Chicago quite a bit and strayed from our favorite hotel to stay at the Whitehall due to its rating and location. It was a regrettable decision. Our first negative was the parking. For valet we were being charged $57.00 but to self-park across the street was $45.00 (and they don't validate). Our next encounter was with the staff. I wouldn't say they were unfriendly, but they certainly were not pleasant. The room was very small. Our view was directly into another building and the noise from the hallway was as if the door was wide open. The location is excellent and the hotel itself is quaint, but we would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most everything is within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runman40
Business
Davenport Iowa
Jun 28, 2014

Very Pleased

Great hotel experience and location. Had a couple special requests that were filled quickly. Only negative - the bar closes at 10:00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see Motown the Musical. Great fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jojo Brensum
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 26, 2014

Very nice for the price

Check-in was a hassle. We we were told, at one point, that we'd be able to check in an hour early. The room wasn't cleaned/ready until 40 min after check-in time. We were compensated with a free breakfast, which was nice (but normally overpriced at $20). I was disappointed that a few maintenance issues hadn't been tended to... Bathroom exhaust and light didn't work, a bathroom spotlight, and a lamp switch. Upon request they fixed some, but not the exhaust. Staff was very courteous. Parking was $57 a day, which is typical for that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gibson's Steak house for lunch. The crab cake Benedict was AMAZING!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James Bond 007 MI6
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 24, 2014

Great downtown stay

This hotel is in great location, just a block away from the Hancock building. Be prepared to look for alternative parking, since hotel parking is very expensive. I use Spot Hero app and it works great. Room was very clean and was kept that way for the duration of my stay. This is a great little hotel and I would gladly stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little breakfast and coffee place by the Hancock building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMNJED
Business
Duluth, MN
Jun 16, 2014

Love the Whitehall

We have stayed at the Whitehall several times and we always enjoy our stay. The staff is professional and very helpful, the location could not be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lostboyinlove
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 12, 2014

Awesome stay while in the Windy City

This is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are AMAZING. The staff was so friendly and truly made the stay a pleasure. I actually live in Chicago and the location of this place is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Camper Martha
Business
Peoria, IL
Jun 9, 2014

Great Place to Stay in the Middle of Everything

The Whitehall Hotel is a perfect place to stay if you want to be close to anywhere along the Magnificent Mile in Chicago. It is close to great shopping and restaurants. The staff is extremely helpful and kind. We will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom North
Business
Nashville, TN
Jun 7, 2014

trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
5280
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 6, 2014

Bargain, old world charm

I've stayed here on business once a year for the last 5 or so years. The location is great- walk to the lakeshore, water tower place, etc. The rooms and ambiance are what I'd describe as slightly-past-its-prime elegance. Good quality materials, but if you look closely you might find a tear in the wallpaper or a chip in the sink. It's a great bargain compared to the 4 seasons across the street or the westin on the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debra.s
Business
London, England
Jun 2, 2014

Good Hotel - but needs atmosphere !!

Great location, room was very nice but bathroom could do with a revamp. Came back one evening about 10.30pm and bar was closed. Close to restaurants and bars.. We went everywhere on bus and subway. Very nice hotel but when I return to Chicago will stay more down in the Loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo Cafe on State St for breakfast... Lovely !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top