$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,204 reviews
Chicago Trip for Two

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was beautiful and the bed was amazing. The... See full review

  • Missing Chicago 2014
  • Sep 16, 2014
Chicago getaway

Best front desk and doorman I have experienced there. Great location-easy access to "L", bars and... See full review

  • Westparkman
  • Sep 5, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1204)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1204 out of 1204
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, Ne
Jun 6, 2011

Not Impressed...

The hotel was old and unique, but this site says its a 4 star which its far from...The elevator broke, the people were snooty, cheap tickets advertises the option for a smoking room, this is only reason we stayed and find out they are smoke free?!?!?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ditka's Steakhouse was amazing, pricey but well worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
piruli
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 15, 2011

eduardo

good location but very old hotel. They need to do some renovation. I forgot my tooth brush and they did not have one when I asked them for it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TU Law Traveler
Tulsa, OK
Mar 21, 2010

Great Location, That's about it

For the price the staff was very unfriendly. Stayed at Hampton Inn earlier same week and had a much better experience. All you are doing is paying for location. Got stuck in elevator for 10-15 minutes. Walls made out of cardboard heard everything in rooms and halls. Paid for "premier room", and did have a nice bathroom but upgraded bedding was simply a terrible mattress wrapped in a thick mattress pad. Woke up sore every morning. [...]Went to front desk to ask about something and never heard back from front desk. Much better options for price. Only concierge was a machine in the lobby. Staff not helpful at all when asking questions. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KristyM
Denver, co
Sep 26, 2012

Old and smelly

The hallways were smelly...that kind of smell they use in nursing homes to cover up the old people smell. The room was damages (parts were hanging off of the closet doors) the shower barely drained and the faucets were hooked up backwards. The tv was from 1982, and there were no ice machines/beverage machines on our floor. The staff, however, was quite friendly. All in all, I would have chosen a different hotel. 4 star? Not so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unenthused
Chicago
Jun 8, 2012

Disappointing

Like a behemoth held up by toothpicks, so too was my experience at this burgeoning tower in the heart of the city. I enjoyed the look of the place, but the crumbling ceiling stucco in my room and the nasty price of wi-fi (which didn't even end up working) kept me from liking this particular place. ...That and I paid for a king suite and was shuffled into a room with two regular sized beds, not a king to be found.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vwjoan
Warrenville, IL
Aug 3, 2011

Whitehall not up to par

We should have known from the start that there were problems at the Whitehall when there was a line at the check in desk with lot of people unable to get in their room due to key issues. After checking in and being issued two keys, neither of which worked, a maintenance person let us in. We had ordered and paid for a king bed but we're given a single queen. We tried calling the front desk from our room but the phones also were not working. The one in the bathroom was dangling from the wall. After calling the front desk from our cell we were informed that there were no remaining king beds. Oh well, could live with that but were a little vexed that we had paid for the king. The next morning I went down for coffee (exceptionally good coffee and free from 7:00 am until 10:00 am) and it was evident that the air conditioning was not working in the lobby. We were just there for one night and spending a minimal amount of time in the room, but I would not recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kiki Flutterlips
Detroit
Mar 9, 2010

Not so bad, but not so good

Super super location-but i was not impressed w/the staff or the hotel. The room had the worst lighting and we found a dirty towel in the TV console. The beds were awesome-great linens...and otherwise the hotel room appeared to be clean. When we checked in the hotel was sold out so all they had left were smoking rooms...do people still smoke in hotels??? They accomdated us in the only other non smoking room they had-which was DIRECTLY across from the elevator-which turned out to be fine! All in all not a bad value-just plan on sleeping here and not enjoying any of the non-existent ammenities. Not a bad fitness center either! No coffee pot in the room which is a bummer cause you have to go to the lobby to get a cup of coffee to have in the morning. Plus you had to call for ice and we called twice once it came and once it never did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Baratos
San Francisco
Oct 17, 2012

VERY OLD HOTEL

Very old Hotel , it needs help, I found later other hotels around with a much nicer atmosphere for the same price. the hotel website mislead you .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
On the way
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 26, 2012

family trip to Chicago

We chose this hotel because of its wonderful location. The room is clean and the bed is quite comfortable. We had valet parking which is USD 49 per day. The service was always on time. However, it does not provide disposable toothbrush, toothpaste, slippers and electric water heater. We were told that the hotel staff will help provide the hot water. But sometime the service was just not available. The internet passward has been changing almost every 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MJC8
Kalamazoo, MI
Aug 21, 2014

Ugh!

My spouse and I travel to Chicago regularly for routine health care for an extremely rare cancer. We always book a room in case this care requires an unexpected over night stay. This is the first time we were unable to cancel the day before without paying a hefty charge (virtually the entire room charge); not by the online booking agent, but by the hotel! In addition, over the years we've come to accept the small rooms, juxtaposed with high end amenities, at any venue in Chicago. However, our experience at The Whitehall resulted in an extremely small, thin walled space coupled with significantly limited in-room amenities; no fridge, no ice bucket, no glasses or cups, no coffee maker, no hair conditioner...It all added up for an end result of feeling duped. Though neat and clean, courteous and centrally located, the costs far outweigh the value, especially under the conditions of our travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top