$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1233 out of 1233
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Serious Business Traveler
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 6, 2012

4 Star Experience

Great Stay!!!!! No complaints. Great Value. Hotel Staff was superior

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
napa610
Business
Decatur IL
Jul 16, 2014

Majestic Chicago Experience!!!

The Whitehall Hotel was Excellent. The Staff were the friendliest I've ever seen, The Amenities were there when I need them and it's in the perfect location about a block away from the Hancock building. It was just fabulous. One of the Greeters (I forgot his name) Checked the times one of the tours on his phone while holding the door for other hotel guests. I was impressed! Thank you Whitehall Hotel and Thank you Chicago. I'm definitely planning another trip to Chicago and maybe another stay at the Whitehall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great experience in a lounge, try the Signature lounge at the Hancock building

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChiTown Reminiscent
Business
Ohio
Jul 15, 2014

Great Location!

Great location for a stay in Downtown Chicago. Convenient to the Mag Mile and shopping. The only negative is the parking/valet parking prices. Very high. But staff was great, very nice and pleasant, and extremely helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Water Tower Place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lebowski666
Business
Chicago
Jul 11, 2014

birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was amazing. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spicy1
Business
San Diego
Jul 7, 2014

Great location, good service!

The Whitehall Hotel is a gem! It has old world charm and a lot going for it! The rooms are well equipped and a nice size. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Location, location, location - being right off Michigan Avenue it really is a quiet great haven! Will be back and will recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All of the restaurants are off Michigan Avenue, just go off the main drag for super eats!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chess1945
Business
Madison Wisconsin
Jul 6, 2014

Overcharged

Room was fine. My question is this: why was I charged $200.00 for a room you are advertising for $100.00?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
K. Renee
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 2, 2014

Not what we expected

We visit Chicago quite a bit and strayed from our favorite hotel to stay at the Whitehall due to its rating and location. It was a regrettable decision. Our first negative was the parking. For valet we were being charged $57.00 but to self-park across the street was $45.00 (and they don't validate). Our next encounter was with the staff. I wouldn't say they were unfriendly, but they certainly were not pleasant. The room was very small. Our view was directly into another building and the noise from the hallway was as if the door was wide open. The location is excellent and the hotel itself is quaint, but we would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most everything is within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runman40
Business
Davenport Iowa
Jun 28, 2014

Very Pleased

Great hotel experience and location. Had a couple special requests that were filled quickly. Only negative - the bar closes at 10:00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see Motown the Musical. Great fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jojo Brensum
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 26, 2014

Very nice for the price

Check-in was a hassle. We we were told, at one point, that we'd be able to check in an hour early. The room wasn't cleaned/ready until 40 min after check-in time. We were compensated with a free breakfast, which was nice (but normally overpriced at $20). I was disappointed that a few maintenance issues hadn't been tended to... Bathroom exhaust and light didn't work, a bathroom spotlight, and a lamp switch. Upon request they fixed some, but not the exhaust. Staff was very courteous. Parking was $57 a day, which is typical for that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gibson's Steak house for lunch. The crab cake Benedict was AMAZING!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James Bond 007 MI6
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 24, 2014

Great downtown stay

This hotel is in great location, just a block away from the Hancock building. Be prepared to look for alternative parking, since hotel parking is very expensive. I use Spot Hero app and it works great. Room was very clean and was kept that way for the duration of my stay. This is a great little hotel and I would gladly stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little breakfast and coffee place by the Hancock building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMNJED
Business
Duluth, MN
Jun 16, 2014

Love the Whitehall

We have stayed at the Whitehall several times and we always enjoy our stay. The staff is professional and very helpful, the location could not be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top