$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1132 out of 1132
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
renrel
Family
Maplewood, New Jersey
Aug 30, 2014

great location

boutique feel - nice staff and sold room - location is great for food/shopping and easy access to public transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Inspector1
Business
Louisville
Aug 30, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

I was pleasantly surprised. It is a very nice, and nicely sized hotel. It was very close to the lake, Michigan Ave, shopping, dining, The Hancock Building and easy access to transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you are going to be in town for more than a day or two buy a CTA fare card.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim L.S.
Couples
Wisconsin
Aug 26, 2014

Updated and charming

Love The Whitehall, one of the great Chicago hotels. The staff was amazing, thank you!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the Uber app for ride share drivers instead of city cabs. Safe, cheap and fast!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MJC8
Couples
Kalamazoo, MI
Aug 21, 2014

Ugh!

My spouse and I travel to Chicago regularly for routine health care for an extremely rare cancer. We always book a room in case this care requires an unexpected over night stay. This is the first time we were unable to cancel the day before without paying a hefty charge (virtually the entire room charge); not by the online booking agent, but by the hotel! In addition, over the years we've come to accept the small rooms, juxtaposed with high end amenities, at any venue in Chicago. However, our experience at The Whitehall resulted in an extremely small, thin walled space coupled with significantly limited in-room amenities; no fridge, no ice bucket, no glasses or cups, no coffee maker, no hair conditioner...It all added up for an end result of feeling duped. Though neat and clean, courteous and centrally located, the costs far outweigh the value, especially under the conditions of our travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Jellyfish
Couples
Wildwood NJ
Aug 21, 2014

Great Pick!

Incredibly comfortable beds and excellent location! Had some trouble printing needed documents even though there are signs for a "business center" everywhere. One day the front desk printed 2 pages for me and the next day they wouldn't. Both documents were needed for travel. Otherwise good service and nice stay. Bar is just okay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the bar in the John Hancock Building right up the street. Great view and excellent drinks!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paige Travelor
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 16, 2014

Training/Family Getaway

My family and I stayed at the Whitehall while I trained at the Westin Hotel. The location was great; not a long walk to Walgreens, food, entertainment, and the beach/Navy Pier! Staff was very friendly, and opened doors for us as much as possible. Would recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheap and yummy food just down the road downstairs by The Cheesecake Factory.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Incredibly Disgusted
Couples
Arizona
Aug 16, 2014

Vacation

The room was incredibly small with no view; windows of opposite building so close that needed to keep the shades pulled. Lamps in room in disrepair - wobbly, had to wiggle switches. Air conditioning ineffective - room stuffy; had to turn it off and restart it frequently for any cool air. The bathroom was dirty - black stuff (?mildew?) in sink and toilet. Called for extra pillow and blanket - after 2 hours, made 2nd call. No room service available for dinner. No information in room about surrounding restaurants, attractions, services. Overall, not a good experience for a first visit to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qwertyu274
Friends
Cleveland, ohio
Aug 12, 2014

Nice weekend trip

I stayed at the Whitehall and enjoyed it very much. This was the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The bedding was crisp white (not the usual dingy dark floral pattern) and smelled wonderful. I am a huge germophobe, but didn't feel like the place was dirty at all. They replenished the towels and made the beds during the day while we were out. My only complaint was waking up at every toilet flush throughout the night (I must admit that I am a light sleeper when I am not in my own bed.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The redhead piano bar was a fabulous place to visit for entertainment.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Fones
Single
Kansas City, Missouri
Aug 6, 2014

Great for fast stays

It was a great location. I was only there for less than 24 hours overnight, but it was good for what I was looking for. Central location. Close to lots of things in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori lynnie
Couples
WI
Aug 4, 2014

Great hotel

Comfy big rooms. Good breakfast! I would stay here again, and recommend to others. Lots of restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top