$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1233 out of 1233
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Serious Business Traveler
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 6, 2012

4 Star Experience

Great Stay!!!!! No complaints. Great Value. Hotel Staff was superior

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
On the way
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 26, 2012

family trip to Chicago

We chose this hotel because of its wonderful location. The room is clean and the bed is quite comfortable. We had valet parking which is USD 49 per day. The service was always on time. However, it does not provide disposable toothbrush, toothpaste, slippers and electric water heater. We were told that the hotel staff will help provide the hot water. But sometime the service was just not available. The internet passward has been changing almost every 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wumi
Business
Troy, MI
Jul 30, 2012

Very old hotel, poor management, don't like a 4 star

The location is fantastic, just one block from Johnhancock tower. This hotel is very old with small rooms and tiny bathroom. And they don't have swimming pool. They don't offer free internet access. And they charge 49 for parking. The management is terrible. We called twice to make sure we have a baby crib in our room before we arrive.They said it was all set. BUT we still didn't have the crib when we checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
christikeeg
Business
Canterbury, Ct
Jul 30, 2012

Not so Four Star

Parts of the Hotel were under construction. You had to go to the lobby to get a bucket of ice. On Sunday check out only one person was working the desk. Our air conitioner stopped working not once but twice. Not some place I would go to again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The average traveler
Business
Ohio
Jun 11, 2012

Not impressed!

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in a king-superior room and were not impressed! The room was small, our toilet didn't flush (we told front desk and they were well aware of the problem, told us the "trick" to flushing but weren't going to fix it), phone didn't work, and we were treated poorly due to profiling since we are a young couple! Another couple we met checked into their "clean" room and it looked half lived in! The location is the only thing this hotel has going for it! The valet told us parking was built into our room rate, only to find a bill for $49/night parking under our door the last day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the double decker bus tour at night! Tickets can be bought outside of John Hancock building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unenthused
Business
Chicago
Jun 8, 2012

Disappointing

Like a behemoth held up by toothpicks, so too was my experience at this burgeoning tower in the heart of the city. I enjoyed the look of the place, but the crumbling ceiling stucco in my room and the nasty price of wi-fi (which didn't even end up working) kept me from liking this particular place. ...That and I paid for a king suite and was shuffled into a room with two regular sized beds, not a king to be found.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Antonio from NYC
Business
New York, NY
Aug 29, 2012

Disappointing hotel at a great location

This hotel has a great location and allows you to check-in early, but that's where the praising ends. My hotel room was dark, dirty and very old. The tv was at least 20 years old. The furniture had stains and in need of repair. I was on a non-smoking floor, yet our room and the hallways smelled of cigarettes. We addressed our issues to the front desk, but to no avail. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KristyM
Business
Denver, co
Sep 26, 2012

Old and smelly

The hallways were smelly...that kind of smell they use in nursing homes to cover up the old people smell. The room was damages (parts were hanging off of the closet doors) the shower barely drained and the faucets were hooked up backwards. The tv was from 1982, and there were no ice machines/beverage machines on our floor. The staff, however, was quite friendly. All in all, I would have chosen a different hotel. 4 star? Not so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ken Sheri
Business
Detroit , mi
Oct 8, 2012

Dated and

Very dated facility, clean. Very average. Friendly and helpful doormen. Personal sweaters and gloves for check in staff?? Lacking finish, needs updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Baratos
Business
San Francisco
Oct 17, 2012

VERY OLD HOTEL

Very old Hotel , it needs help, I found later other hotels around with a much nicer atmosphere for the same price. the hotel website mislead you .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kenny and jaz
Business
Irvine, California
Oct 22, 2012

not very good

When we walked in we were expecting fancy, to my surprise we were very dissapointed. The hotel needs a renovation especially since the lobby is the first thing you see and we did not have a good first impression. The check in area was run down with cracks on the wall and pieces of crown molding missing. The room was better however still not up to standards. The tv was small and the bed was not that comfortable, there was also a $49 charge for parking which is not so bad but I would have liked to be warned. One of the good things was the view other than that everything else was mediocre. Definitely not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the locals about the best places to eat. Try the pizza and hot dogs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top