$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,219 reviews
birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was... See full review

  • Lebowski666
  • Jul 11, 2014
trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff, See full review

  • Mom North
  • Jun 7, 2014
The Whitehall Hotel remains a landmark destination in downtown Chicago, offering a very European sense of grace and grandeur. Thanks to meticulous restorations. In perfect harmony with the old world charm are modern conveniences such as a fitness center. In-room features include three multi-line telephones with voicemail, high speed internet (for fee). Step outside and you'll find that the hotel is ideally located in the heart of the Gold Coast, nestled amid the Magnificent Mile's shops, restaurants, theaters, entertainment, and the business district. The Whitehall Hotel, Downtown Chicago's True Independent Boutique Hotel, proudly and successfully endures the test of time. The hotel will exceed your expectations and invite you to explore The Whitehall Hotel today.

This property is 100% smoke free

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1219)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1219 out of 1219
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
On the way
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 26, 2012

family trip to Chicago

We chose this hotel because of its wonderful location. The room is clean and the bed is quite comfortable. We had valet parking which is USD 49 per day. The service was always on time. However, it does not provide disposable toothbrush, toothpaste, slippers and electric water heater. We were told that the hotel staff will help provide the hot water. But sometime the service was just not available. The internet passward has been changing almost every 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wumi
Troy, MI
Jul 30, 2012

Very old hotel, poor management, don't like a 4 star

The location is fantastic, just one block from Johnhancock tower. This hotel is very old with small rooms and tiny bathroom. And they don't have swimming pool. They don't offer free internet access. And they charge 49 for parking. The management is terrible. We called twice to make sure we have a baby crib in our room before we arrive.They said it was all set. BUT we still didn't have the crib when we checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
christikeeg
Canterbury, Ct
Jul 30, 2012

Not so Four Star

Parts of the Hotel were under construction. You had to go to the lobby to get a bucket of ice. On Sunday check out only one person was working the desk. Our air conitioner stopped working not once but twice. Not some place I would go to again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The average traveler
Ohio
Jun 11, 2012

Not impressed!

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in a king-superior room and were not impressed! The room was small, our toilet didn't flush (we told front desk and they were well aware of the problem, told us the "trick" to flushing but weren't going to fix it), phone didn't work, and we were treated poorly due to profiling since we are a young couple! Another couple we met checked into their "clean" room and it looked half lived in! The location is the only thing this hotel has going for it! The valet told us parking was built into our room rate, only to find a bill for $49/night parking under our door the last day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the double decker bus tour at night! Tickets can be bought outside of John Hancock building.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unenthused
Chicago
Jun 8, 2012

Disappointing

Like a behemoth held up by toothpicks, so too was my experience at this burgeoning tower in the heart of the city. I enjoyed the look of the place, but the crumbling ceiling stucco in my room and the nasty price of wi-fi (which didn't even end up working) kept me from liking this particular place. ...That and I paid for a king suite and was shuffled into a room with two regular sized beds, not a king to be found.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Antonio from NYC
New York, NY
Aug 29, 2012

Disappointing hotel at a great location

This hotel has a great location and allows you to check-in early, but that's where the praising ends. My hotel room was dark, dirty and very old. The tv was at least 20 years old. The furniture had stains and in need of repair. I was on a non-smoking floor, yet our room and the hallways smelled of cigarettes. We addressed our issues to the front desk, but to no avail. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KristyM
Denver, co
Sep 26, 2012

Old and smelly

The hallways were smelly...that kind of smell they use in nursing homes to cover up the old people smell. The room was damages (parts were hanging off of the closet doors) the shower barely drained and the faucets were hooked up backwards. The tv was from 1982, and there were no ice machines/beverage machines on our floor. The staff, however, was quite friendly. All in all, I would have chosen a different hotel. 4 star? Not so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ken Sheri
Detroit , mi
Oct 8, 2012

Dated and

Very dated facility, clean. Very average. Friendly and helpful doormen. Personal sweaters and gloves for check in staff?? Lacking finish, needs updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Baratos
San Francisco
Oct 17, 2012

VERY OLD HOTEL

Very old Hotel , it needs help, I found later other hotels around with a much nicer atmosphere for the same price. the hotel website mislead you .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kenny and jaz
Irvine, California
Oct 22, 2012

not very good

When we walked in we were expecting fancy, to my surprise we were very dissapointed. The hotel needs a renovation especially since the lobby is the first thing you see and we did not have a good first impression. The check in area was run down with cracks on the wall and pieces of crown molding missing. The room was better however still not up to standards. The tv was small and the bed was not that comfortable, there was also a $49 charge for parking which is not so bad but I would have liked to be warned. One of the good things was the view other than that everything else was mediocre. Definitely not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the locals about the best places to eat. Try the pizza and hot dogs.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search