$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1330 out of 1330
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired RIta
Mpls, MN
Oct 29, 2012

We will return!

Two friends and I just spent four delightful days in Chicago and part of the delight was staying at the Whitehall Hotel. The one block walk to North Michigan Ave. and the Water Tower Place was so convenient. Two blocks the other direction put us on State St. The staff is friendly and very helpful. When I called to report that the hair dryer quit mid-hair drying, a new one was delivered to my room as soon as I hung up! Our rooms had newly remodeled bathrooms and the beds were very comfortable with down mattress covers as well as comforters. Two amenities that we wish would have been provided would be coffee pots in the rooms and ice machines in the halls; however, the staff quickly delivered ice to our rooms and the complimentary coffee in the lobby was excellent. We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paizano Pizza is a short walk from the Whitehall west and then south on State St. This is Oprah's favorite pizza restaurant, and we agree that it is wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
first time chicago
Business
new york, NY
Aug 25, 2009

unexpected place

I went to chicago for vacation. The place I stay was missing everything I expected at a hotel, such as ice machine, macrowave, hot water, fridge, ... Even though the hotel has room service, I still was not comfortable for the service. And the room was very small for a king size suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

around the hotel, there were many great shopping places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mexic
Business
Guadalajara
Sep 30, 2009

Not enought

It is not excuse, in restoration does not have to be dirty. In the baths I contracted athlete foot and the rooms aren`t clean enought. The location is wonderful, but there are more options. Also other lower cost hotel offer a coffee bar all day, and free internet acces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Mar 28, 2011

OK, not sure if I would stay there again

This was our first trip to Chicago which I mentioned to the front desk as we checked in. Was asked if rm#302 would be OK, well I guess, seeing that this is our first time here and not filmier with the Hotel. That night we were kept awake 1/2 the night with the safe buzzing we tried everything and still kept buzzing, I called the front desk the lady who answered wasn't very pleasant she asked what it was doing as I told her my husband sat it outside of our room because it wouldn't stop she then says to me do you want me to send someone up? WELL, Yes I do because I'm sure the people next door wouldn't like it sitting out there either. She didn't offer a new room or any apologizes to me. So the next morning I called down and talked with Carlos, what a nice person he was, right away he asked us if we would like to move into a different room? This is after I explained to him that the TV wasn't working correctly and the safe kept us up half the night. The Hotel was OK but not what we were expecting according to the web site details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping and dining were phenomenal and the site seeing was a lot of fun as well. Everywhere you would go people were extremely friendly. Fun town to visit for sure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, Ne
Jun 6, 2011

Not Impressed...

The hotel was old and unique, but this site says its a 4 star which its far from...The elevator broke, the people were snooty, cheap tickets advertises the option for a smoking room, this is only reason we stayed and find out they are smoke free?!?!?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ditka's Steakhouse was amazing, pricey but well worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
piruli
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 15, 2011

eduardo

good location but very old hotel. They need to do some renovation. I forgot my tooth brush and they did not have one when I asked them for it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Baytraveller
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Nov 22, 2011

Dated Needs some serious attention

Expensive and not a terrific experience. The concierge was the best part of the visit. I would look elsewhere notwithstanding the location of this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Michigan St.
Business
Utah
Nov 29, 2011

Poor

The room itself was clean and the cost reasonable. However we were nickle and dimmed for everything else. For the cost of the room the Internet should be free. Speaking of the Internet; I timed the 24 hour period we should have had for the $9.95 fee and we were always cut off one hour shie of 24 hours. Good way to make money. The water and soda pop cost too much. I guess with no place close to buy those things it is also a good way to ding your guests. Your web page advertises all the amenities but you leave out the small print. We don't like untruths. No I won't stay at your hotel again nor will I recommend it to anyone else. Oh, and on the day housekeeping didn't restock the bar, I was treated like a lied and a thief when I called to ask for 2 cokes. What happened to "the customer is always right"?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay at your hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ACMC
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Not Happy

I was not happy with my stay. It did not look anything like the pics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joec loans
Business
chicago
Jan 6, 2012

Got no sleep

My neighboring guests had a party all night long. Security came up 4 times until they finally were removed. I spoke with the hotle the next day and they didnt care that i got no sleep. They made me feel like they already had their money and didnt care about me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
keru
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Feb 25, 2012

A little run down

After arriving at the Whitehall, it was immediately apparent how run down the rooms were. The furniture was scratched and torn, and the TV was incredibly outdated. The bed was very comfortable, but there were holes in the sheets. Also, the lighting was very poor, which made it hard to work on anything after the sun went down. However, the location is great for anywhere downtown, but the price is a little much for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top