The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,908 reviews
trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff, See full review

  • Mom North
  • Jun 7, 2014
Handicapp greatness

This is my 2 visit to this hotel. First visit was a romantic visit with my husband. 2nd visit my... See full review

  • Conner tReturning family
  • May 29, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1908)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1908 out of 1908
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sticher12345
Austin, TX
Nov 18, 2013

don't keep word

Was there October 22 to 24. Was woken up each morning by drilling on the hotel outside. Small room, paid big price for. When checking out, we were told we would get refund on breakfast charged to room. This never happened. The Manager even called us and say this would be done plus because of the noise, he would try to get one night paid for - didn't happen. Would not stay here ever again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doc25
Business
Mexico
Feb 18, 2012

Not good

This is definately not a 4 star hotel like it's posted. Is really old and needs a lot of work in updated the rooms and lobby. The rooms are not very clean. I had the bad luck of getting an even worse room, with a terrible noise coming from the heater and the bathroom. After I was changed rooms it was a little better. The staff was not very nice and that was the front desk manager. They offer a business center that you have to pay to use the internet. I mean most hotels charge in-room internet but they offer free internet in the business center, well not here. The only good thing is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PeriwinkleFoolery
St. Louis, MO
Aug 3, 2011

A Huge Disappointment!

My husband and I traveled to Chicago for the Paul McCartney concert, to shop, and to ride bikes along the lakeshore. The Whitehall was a convenient choice for those activities, but location is its only positive attribute. We have visited Chicago 3-4 times yearly for several years now, always staying in 4-star hotels, and this is the first time our hotel experience has been unpleasant. Our room at the Whitehall and its furnishings were shabby - large holes in the bed linens, strings hanging from frayed upholstery on the chair, closet door off-track and multiple rips in the bathroom wallpaper. Further, we valet parked with the hotel because we were assured of secure parking. However, our SUV was parked in an alley behind the hotel, unsecured and next to the trash dumpster. I was unsuccessful in two attempts to speak with the manager during our stay and called her after we were home. She was apologetic that we hadn't enjoyed our stay, but didn't share my concern about parking because the hotel has never experienced a problem with cars parked in the alley. She said they rely on guests to bring problems with the rooms to the attention of the staff and then address them. I prefer to stay where the staff looks for problems and addresses them before customers arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Book a garden table at Piccolo Sogno for a delightful dining experience!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit MI
Aug 21, 2010

Don't Stay Here

Very displeased with this hotel. unfriendly staff, nasty small room. Would never stay here again. Not even for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
nj
Nov 27, 2009

Don't bother!

We booked the trip several weeks in advance, but when we arrived at the hotel were informed there were "no vacancies." They arranged a "complimentary" stay at their sister 1-star hotel but we never received the refund that was promised. Four months and several letters later, still no refund . . . don't risk it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cici from NC
Business
North Carolina
Aug 21, 2010

Good location horrible staff and service

The room was horribly located over viewing a tight alley way full of AC units that were LOUD not very restful stay. The staff were unfriendly, they did not communicate well at check in, they over charged my credit card and my husbands. When questioned no one could answer why or further were willing to address our concerns. We were treated horribly simply because we had a prepaid package they said to us directly we cant really trust people will pay for additional amenties used. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT RENT A CAR...parking is too expensive, cabs, transit or buses are the best transportation other than walking. Get the Chicago Go Card it allows you entrance into all the main attractions plus more avoiding long tickets lines and do the Land/Architecture tours.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stillwater, OK
Oct 5, 2011

Business

I was on business and the internet kept dropping. Had to call each day to get a new password, pay $9.95 for service that did not work. No one at the front desk would offer any help, nor did they seem to care. When the internet dropped, I had to sign in each time and the $9.95 charge would come up again. The room was dark, hard to conduct business in. I had a lamp that the bulb was burned out, I took it apart and left the bulb laying on a table next to the lamp, shade on a chair for housekeeping to fix. It sat there for two days until it was replaced. I left a day early as I could not get my work done in this place. If you travel on business, avoid this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 5, 2010

No Sleep, No Hot Water

I wanted to love the Whitehall, I really did. As a former long-time resident of Chicago, I always loved its old world charm and its great Gold Coast location. The hotel looks older these days but not ragged inside. The staff was friendly and the room itself was clean with a nice re-done bathroom. I was really enjoying the hotel experience, until bed time. During the night the heating system in my room made persistent clanking and knocking noises which woke me up at least three-four times...I finally just turned the system off, not the ideal thing you want to do in Chicago in early March. Then in the morning, determined to grab a quick shower before heading out for an early flight, I couldn't believe that the hot water was practically non-existent. It wasn't broken because it was slightly warmer than none at all, but it never got to the level you'd want to take a shower in. Alas, I washed my hair by leaning into the cool stream of water from the shower head, got dressed, and got the heck out of there, wondering what I had just paid for. So, no hot water and old mechanicals which bang through the night keeping you awake after a long day on the road...not exactly the business travel solution you're looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cici from NC
Business
North Carolina
Aug 21, 2010

Good location horrible staff and service

The room was horribly located over viewing a tight alley way full of AC units that were LOUD not very restful stay. The staff were unfriendly, they did not communicate well at check in, they over charged my credit card and my husbands. When questioned no one could answer why or further were willing to address our concerns. We were treated horribly simply because we had a prepaid package they said to us directly we cant really trust people will pay for additional amenties used. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT RENT A CAR...parking is too expensive, cabs, transit or buses are the best transportation other than walking. Get the Chicago Go Card it allows you entrance into all the main attractions plus more avoiding long tickets lines and do the Land/Architecture tours.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 24, 2010

WARNING: Smelly Smoking Rooms

[...]The hotel should be ashamed to rent rooms with such a horrible odor, in the curtains, linens, carpet, everywhere. You and your clothes smell of smoke when you leave. Basically, you have no choice and the staff is less than professional in they way they handle the issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top