The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,212 reviews
This is a jewel in the city

We got this hotel for a steal of a price, was a bit worried what we would end up with but this... See full review

  • tcdlm
  • Oct 21, 2014
Doesnt get any better, in the heart of Chicago, Great surrounding area

Staff is great, friendly, helpful. Location, great views, walkable, near shopping and dinning.... See full review

  • BrandonGallegos
  • Oct 2, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1212)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1212 out of 1212
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
first time chicago
Business
new york, NY
Aug 25, 2009

unexpected place

I went to chicago for vacation. The place I stay was missing everything I expected at a hotel, such as ice machine, macrowave, hot water, fridge, ... Even though the hotel has room service, I still was not comfortable for the service. And the room was very small for a king size suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

around the hotel, there were many great shopping places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mexic
Business
Guadalajara
Sep 30, 2009

Not enought

It is not excuse, in restoration does not have to be dirty. In the baths I contracted athlete foot and the rooms aren`t clean enought. The location is wonderful, but there are more options. Also other lower cost hotel offer a coffee bar all day, and free internet acces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Mar 28, 2011

OK, not sure if I would stay there again

This was our first trip to Chicago which I mentioned to the front desk as we checked in. Was asked if rm#302 would be OK, well I guess, seeing that this is our first time here and not filmier with the Hotel. That night we were kept awake 1/2 the night with the safe buzzing we tried everything and still kept buzzing, I called the front desk the lady who answered wasn't very pleasant she asked what it was doing as I told her my husband sat it outside of our room because it wouldn't stop she then says to me do you want me to send someone up? WELL, Yes I do because I'm sure the people next door wouldn't like it sitting out there either. She didn't offer a new room or any apologizes to me. So the next morning I called down and talked with Carlos, what a nice person he was, right away he asked us if we would like to move into a different room? This is after I explained to him that the TV wasn't working correctly and the safe kept us up half the night. The Hotel was OK but not what we were expecting according to the web site details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping and dining were phenomenal and the site seeing was a lot of fun as well. Everywhere you would go people were extremely friendly. Fun town to visit for sure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, Ne
Jun 6, 2011

Not Impressed...

The hotel was old and unique, but this site says its a 4 star which its far from...The elevator broke, the people were snooty, cheap tickets advertises the option for a smoking room, this is only reason we stayed and find out they are smoke free?!?!?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ditka's Steakhouse was amazing, pricey but well worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
piruli
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 15, 2011

eduardo

good location but very old hotel. They need to do some renovation. I forgot my tooth brush and they did not have one when I asked them for it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Baytraveller
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Nov 22, 2011

Dated Needs some serious attention

Expensive and not a terrific experience. The concierge was the best part of the visit. I would look elsewhere notwithstanding the location of this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Michigan St.
Business
Utah
Nov 29, 2011

Poor

The room itself was clean and the cost reasonable. However we were nickle and dimmed for everything else. For the cost of the room the Internet should be free. Speaking of the Internet; I timed the 24 hour period we should have had for the $9.95 fee and we were always cut off one hour shie of 24 hours. Good way to make money. The water and soda pop cost too much. I guess with no place close to buy those things it is also a good way to ding your guests. Your web page advertises all the amenities but you leave out the small print. We don't like untruths. No I won't stay at your hotel again nor will I recommend it to anyone else. Oh, and on the day housekeeping didn't restock the bar, I was treated like a lied and a thief when I called to ask for 2 cokes. What happened to "the customer is always right"?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay at your hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ACMC
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Not Happy

I was not happy with my stay. It did not look anything like the pics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joec loans
Business
chicago
Jan 6, 2012

Got no sleep

My neighboring guests had a party all night long. Security came up 4 times until they finally were removed. I spoke with the hotle the next day and they didnt care that i got no sleep. They made me feel like they already had their money and didnt care about me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
keru
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Feb 25, 2012

A little run down

After arriving at the Whitehall, it was immediately apparent how run down the rooms were. The furniture was scratched and torn, and the TV was incredibly outdated. The bed was very comfortable, but there were holes in the sheets. Also, the lighting was very poor, which made it hard to work on anything after the sun went down. However, the location is great for anywhere downtown, but the price is a little much for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top