$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,207 reviews
Doesnt get any better, in the heart of Chicago, Great surrounding area

Staff is great, friendly, helpful. Location, great views, walkable, near shopping and dinning.... See full review

  • BrandonGallegos
  • Oct 2, 2014
Chicago Trip for Two

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was beautiful and the bed was amazing. The... See full review

  • Missing Chicago 2014
  • Sep 16, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1207)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1207 out of 1207
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pau Pau
Business
Stockton, California
Jun 21, 2013

Family visit

The location was great as my family was staying a block away. However, we had a problem because the vent in the room was blowing right at my roommate. We asked the front desk for someone to adjust the vent and asked for a blanket. The engineer came and took care of the vent. Perfect! But the blanket that was brought to us was gross and unacceptable. We didn't want to use it and brought it down to the front desk the next morning in a plastic bag. We told the receptionist that it should be "taken out of service". She asked if we wanted to see the House Keeping Manager, but we opted not to as what we told her was sufficient., When I went to notify the front desk that I was going to check out a few days later the same receptionist was rude and disrespectful alluding to the return of the blanket. I was shocked at her attitude. The rest of the staff was totally helpful and congenial. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends because of the "blanket" incident and the attitude of the said receptionist. Also, the room maid was not consistent in leaving towels in the room. Twice in my seven day stay she neglected to leave two face cloths and my last night she didn't leave ANY face cloth. I had stayed at The Whitehall years ago and had a nice room and stay. But, I must say that the bathroom has no storage space for toiletries that a traveler would bring so I had to use the shelf in the closet. I'm sorry I had to report this, but it's something The Whitehall has to know this if they want to be a "real" four star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ddddtg1707
Business
Chicago
Jun 8, 2013

Great Location, Good Price, Bad Luck

I stayed at the hotel and loved the location. Unfortunately, I purchased a room with 2 queen beds and instead was given a room with just one. When I went to the front desk, the attendant tried to change rooms, but could not find another for quite a while. This would have meant a really uncomfortable sleeping situation. Fortunately, after an hour, they found a queen bed and a rollaway. Otherwise, the stay was fine and would recommend that hotel for anyone needing to get to Northwestern easily or staying in that area with a relatively lower budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BuddyGuy19832304232
Business
San Jose, Ca
May 28, 2013

Great

Great place to stay, great location. Parking is the only issue. It's expensive everywhere. You might find parking is a big pain in Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WindyCityFan
Business
Roanoke, VA
May 28, 2013

One of the best in Chicago!

We had a terrific 3 night stay at this hotel. The weather wasn't real cooperative but the hotel and its staff sure were. While we have stayed at numerous hotels (at least a dozen or so in that area) over the last years, this hotel was exceptional. It is a landmark hotel and doesn't show its age a bit, as they have done a fantastic job at upgrading and maintaining this hotel. Beds and baths were extremely comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful - will definitely be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many very good places to eat nearby - L'Apetito at the bottom of John Hancock is great for breakfast or lunch. You also have Ditka's nearby, Grand Lux is good, Giordano's for pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DayTriplksjhtagdserqa
Business
Chicago
May 28, 2013

Great Night!

Awesome location, good price, very comfortable, nothing to complain about

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RTM from Chicago
Business
Norridge, IL
May 28, 2013

Enjoyable Holiday Getawat

We booked one night, the Sunday before Memorial Day, less than a week in advance. The location, just off the Michigan Avenue "Miracle Mile," and just south of Oak Street Beach couldn't be beat. And the room rate was outstanding. We were nearly three hours earlier than the 3p check-in, and we were fully prepared to check our bags, but the front desk lady allowed us go right up to our room. The room was plush. The only negatives were a hairline crack in the bathroom sink, the lack of a coffee maker #one would be installed in a matter of days, according to a note in the room#, and a TV that had premium stations but wouldn't allow us to access them. The staff was very accommodating, almost bordering on the obsequious. We would return in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Foodlife food court located on the mezzanine of Water Tower Place has a tremendous selection of food, much of it locally sourced, deliciously prepared, and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EJ01
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 16, 2013

Great Hotel

This is a great hotel. Great location and wonderful staff. I love that they provide all you can drink free coffee in the mornings and cooling water in the afternoon. That is a great touch and I really appreciated it. The staff is wonderful. Nikki at the front desk is a gem. She and Jim from engineering went above and beyond to fill one of my requests which was truly amazing! Cesar, Danny and Alex were freindly, informative and very helpful. This hotel is just awesome and gives you a personal feel. I would recommend this to everyone. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Rush street has a great nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr United
Business
Copenhagen, Denmark
May 9, 2013

Wannabe 4 stars

This is a nice place with a classy feel and my room was nice and big with a great decor. When this is said, I would say a lot of details and small things are lacking to give a truly good experience. Number one there is no coffee machine in the room, some don't care but I personally love to have a cup before I go out and face the world. Amenities in bathroom did not get filled up daily. You have to pay extra for internet which I think is ridiculous in 1213. That's like asking "Ohh you want electric light in your room? Well you have to pay extra for that...." You just feel nickeled and dimed. I have stayed at Hotel Lincoln at same price and had a better stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Girls Weekend
Business
Hastings, MN
May 2, 2013

Great downtown Chicago hotel

The location is very central and walking distance to many Chicago attractions and train access. Great value for the money. Very clean, spacious rooms with comfortable beds. Probably my only complaint was that an elevator was down, so it took quite a while to get up or down. The staff was very friendly and helpful from the door men to the front desk clerks to the concierge. I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Back Room was suggested by the hotel concierge and has great live music in a fun and intimate setting. Very enjoyable R&B bands with minimal cover. Walking distance from hotel (2 1/2 blocks).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
damjan
Business
Chicago suburbs
Apr 26, 2013

Great location and staff, not much else.

Our room was small and a bit musty and our bath even smaller - very difficult for two women. No space on vanity for toiletries, safe did not work, TV was an antique with very few stations, and only one outlet. Location was great and the price a good value, but, would not return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street from the 900 N Michigan shops and only one block from Water Tower Place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top