$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1131 out of 1131
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JSSM
Business
Peoria, il
Oct 19, 2013

Love the Big City

Perfect Location, comfortable bed, and friendly service...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HooI
Business
Missoula, Montana
Oct 15, 2013

Great place to stay!

Very clean and comfortable! The staff was friendly and very helpful. We would definitely stay here again. Good location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulainCincy
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 3, 2013

Hate to let the cat out of the bag!

The Whitehall Hotel is a real gem. When location is everything, this place can't be beat - just a block from Water Tower shopping and 3 blocks from the red line. It's also just across the street from the Four Seasons Hotel but this place won't bust your pocketbook. The rooms are more than adequate with a relaxing vibe. It's surprisingly quiet being only a block from Michigan and I barely heard a peep from the hallway or neighboring rooms. And, what lady doesn't love a light up makeup mirror in the bathroom. Will stay here again and again and again! PS: doormen super friendly and always ready to assist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can't beat this location for Magnificent Mile Shopping. Close enough to drop off your bags and head out to get more!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
despisenicknames
Business
Detroit
Oct 1, 2013

Whitehall

Hotel needs a little refurbishment, but staff was superb. Great location!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobSF
Business
San Francisco
Oct 1, 2013

Clean and Comfortable but not Fabulous

This was a nice hotel. Small and basic, and the hallways on higher floors could benefit from some fresh paint and carpet, but its clean, extremely well located, comfortable and the staff were all very helpful. It was perfect for what we wanted - just off Michigan Avenue, a good base, and everything we needed without the $$$s of some of the surrounding hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bshwa
Business
NYC
Sep 28, 2013

Whitehall hotel

Great location across the street from the John Hancock building. Very courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy Godmom
Business
North Carolina
Sep 24, 2013

Family getaway

Very disappointed with our stay. The location was the only high point. Neither double room we had had mattress protective cover, nor did the bottom sheet cover the entire bed; for any of the 4 beds! The lighting in the room was very poor. The rooms were not vacuumed daily. We took photos and shared with the manager about the sheets and lack of mattress cover, housekeeping called to apologize. We were offered 10% off our next stay. We will not return. Sorely disappointed in what we learned was a misapplied 4 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steve Conference Traveler
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 23, 2013

White Hall only so-so

Chose this hotel for its proximity to a conference I was attaending. The conference hotel was sold out. The hotel overall was very average. The room was small and very plain. The sliding closet door did not function properly. Engineering was called for repairs but it was not fixed. Plumbing was exposed in the bathroom and fixtures were not up to par. Housekeeping did not replace the used toiletries on the second day. I will not book my next visit to Chicago at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The BP
Business
Windsor, Ontario
Sep 15, 2013

Great hotel

Friendly service, clean rooms, all was as expected!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
So Fl visitor
Business
Weston, Fl
Sep 12, 2013

Location, Location, Location!..value

While the Whitehall hotel is not a modern, nor the plush boutique hotel I was expecting, it is a comfortable and very well located medium hotel, with a very friendly staff. Although the rooms and décor are reaching the point of a needed remodeling (fixtures are at least 2 decades old, rooms are a bit dark, elevator is too small, ..), the value more than make up for these small details. Food was good, and I wondered why the tow restaurants in the building were empty. And then I'm reminded that I'm only a block from Rush street where the alternatives and entertainment explained it clearly. My only complain was the internet which did not worked well (particularly what one has to pay 9.95/day,..uhmm!), but management quickly offered to credit that amount. Overall, this hotel spells "value"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rush Street is only a block away. Must I say more?

Back to menu Return to top