$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,208 reviews
This is a jewel in the city

We got this hotel for a steal of a price, was a bit worried what we would end up with but this... See full review

  • tcdlm
  • Oct 21, 2014
Doesnt get any better, in the heart of Chicago, Great surrounding area

Staff is great, friendly, helpful. Location, great views, walkable, near shopping and dinning.... See full review

  • BrandonGallegos
  • Oct 2, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1208)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1208 out of 1208
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jack Manhattan
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 5, 2013

Great Location

Great location, a bit dated and in need of more outlets in the room. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SNJJ
Business
NYC
Aug 3, 2013

Well situated, clean

Clean and well situated. No views and no coffee till 7.00 a.m. for you early birds:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2w2w
Business
New york
Jul 28, 2013

Location is good nice clean hotel

Please to stay in it footing short vacation. Recommend to my friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cris best friend
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 17, 2013

almost perfect

I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. the personnel is very courteous and friendly. I was at this facility just on vacation to visit the city of Chicago which is beautiful. I will recomend this hotel to my relatives and friends. The only service I did not obtain was parking for a rented vehicle. other than that, the experience can be described as awsome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is situated near a first class shopping area which made my trip easy and relaxing. I had access to pharmacy, supermarket and,restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric Businessman
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jul 17, 2013

One of the best business traveller values in downtown Chicago

Very good value in the heart of Chicago. Close to all the stores and Rush Street and is on a quieter side street. The room impressed me with the level of décor and quality of furnishings. Entry and Lobby may not be for some travellers as it mixes the classic and modern, but for me was very much a classic boutique hotel. Very pleasant stay, but hotel may not be for everyone as there was no in-room wi fi internet available. You need to go down to first floor to access. With the addition of in room internet access, the hotel would be one of the best business traveller values in downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ready to vacate
Business
Chicago
Jul 17, 2013

Time to Vacate this property

I traveled to Chicago for one day, for my niece's Birthday celebration (American G Store). The check-in went well, however, once we arrived into the room, it was very muggy. Soon after we checked-in we got a knock at the door, however, we unable to respond right away. Low and behold, one of the housekeepers used her key-card to enter into my room, with no real valid explanation (she was very startled I should add). She was accompanied by another housekeeper, however, she ended up walking off after they discovered there was someone in the room. I asked the last standing housekeeper the reasoning behind this, she stated that she wanted to make sure that we had towels. Mind you, she did not have a towel in her hand, nor a stocked cart to provide towels, in the event that we did not have towels. She did have an empty bin like cart, most likely to drop our goods into once they helped themselves to our belongings. Just to add, she knocked on the door around 6pm, which check in is at 3pm. By 6 o'clock, the rooms are well complete for the 3 o'clock check in. We just happened to be in the room, because we checked in late. I would not want to believe that her motive was to "steal from us" however, I can't make any sense out of this otherwise. There would have been no way to prove that someone came into our room while we were away, and stole from us. They do have a disclaimer in the rooms that states they are not responsible for lost or stolen items, so perhaps, they have had issues in the past. Back to the first issue. The air conditioner did not work properly, so as a result, it was hot, muggy, and I could not breath all night. I ended up getting sick days after, as a result of the dirty air. Although we did not spend alot of time in the room, I was ready to go. I had not had such a bad experience in a long time. The next day we checked our bags in with the baggage attendants, and made a few runs while we were awaiting our departure from Chicago. When it was time to leave, we requested our bags. It took the attendants at least 30 minutes to find our bags, which as a result caused us to barely make it to Union Station. The taxi-cab driver, bless his heart, made miracles for us to make it. On our way to the cab (at the hotel), my daughter noticed that her American G doll back-pack bag strap was torn/broken, so she was devastated. We had concluded that they must have known they damaged the bag, which is why it took them so long to bring our items out. At this point, we had to go, because we were running late. So, I contacted the hotel immediately via cell phone to determine how they deal with replacements. Obviously, if we had the time to deal with it then, we would have, but they had already thrown us completely off of schedule.I got the run around for days about this bag, and yet, I do not have a replacement (it's been weeks now). I spent 200 for the night roughly, my other family spent 99 for the night. They had a much better experience than us. No matter how much you spend, great customer service should always be most important in any establishment. I reported each event to Management every step of the way. Not one time did a Manager state that they apologized at all for anything that we experienced that day. So, to say the least, we will never lodge at WhiteHall again. I am sure that some people have had great experiences, but in this case, it was horrible. I fogot to add that once it was time to lie down for the night, we discovered puberty hairs on the bedding (gross). We ended up taking that layer off, and just laying on one sheet. I did not know so much could go wrong in just a days time. It has really left me scarred. I used to love Chicago, however, I have no intentions of coming back there anytime soon. They now have opened an American Girl Doll store in Ohio, so my next trip will be there. Hopefully, we will have much better customer service in that City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of dinning and shopping options in the area. You are within walking distance to a ton of places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DLH50
Business
Sarasota,FL
Jul 4, 2013

Great location

Very friendly and surprisingly spacious rooms. Great location near Michigan Ave and rush street and a good price. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KCJY
Business
Champaign
Jul 2, 2013

Good Stay

Nice and Clean. Great location in North Michigan Avenue. Right across from Four Seasons. Good Deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SMNJED
Business
Duluth, MN
Jul 1, 2013

Excellent Hotel

Our experience was top notch from check in to check out. We have stayed at the Whitehall before and this stay was just as fabulous as the last!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can find great shopping, restaurants and entertainment all within a short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristen'sAunt
Business
Cleveland OH
Jul 1, 2013

Windy city getaway

This hotel is located close to the Magnificent Mile as well as the Navy Pier. It is in a quiet residential neighborhood with many restaurants and shops. It is also a quick, short walk to the busline that takes you to the Museum campus/Soldier field. The staff was exceptional. Truly excelled at customer service. I would not hesitate to return and plan to do so the next time I visit Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top