$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1131 out of 1131
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
supermanmom1996
Business
North Fort Myers, FL, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Disappointing

I have stayed at the Whitehall several times in the past and have enjoyed much better experiences. This stay was in room 405 . The bathroom in this room was designed for children, the size was terrible. The tub/toliet area was no bigger than a bathroom stall in aTarget store. My daughter and I are not large people each weighing approx 120-130 #s, my two grandsons ages 7 and 5 were with us. Only my grandsons were comfortable in this bathroom. My complaint is not that it was too small for 4 guests, the complaint is with the toliet/tub space

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tail
Business
Illinois, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Weekend with friends

Comfortable room and great location. Short walk to shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to great shops and restaurants.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rockinrobyn
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Dec 29, 2011

outdated, Stuck on the Elevator 3 Times

This hotel has a great location and friendly staff. The rooms are small but comfortable. This is a boutique hotel so everything is outdated. Now for the bad par. I got stuck on the elevator at least 3 times. At least once I was stuck for at least 10 minutes. The elevator dropped like I was on a ride at an amusement park. I was so terrified to take the elevator that I walked up 10 flights of steps several times. I told the front desk staff and they assured me it was being fixed yet I kept getting stuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the signature room at the John Hancock building and have a drink. Best view in the city. Dinner is too pricey just have a drink and use the restroom. The view from the bathroom is also spectacular at night!!!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Insomnia
Business
Syracuse
Jan 3, 2012

Location is ok

Location of the hotel is ok... but too crowded during holidays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HAHA001
Business
Iowa City,IA
Jan 7, 2012

Awful bed

The feather in mattress hurts your body and disrupt your sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RTRo
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Whitehall

The hotel is a tad run down and could use a renovation. The room was clean and the staff was helpful. Given the low price and location of the Whitehall Hotel I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Bistrot Zinc up the street. Great bistro food, not crazy expensive.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Susie S.
Business
Walworth, WI, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Weekend get-a-way

The staff was wonderful. The concierge recommended a great Italian deli that is in the bottom of the John Hancock building. Jo Jo's special was excellent there, but definitely meant to be shared. You can see the American Girl Store from your hotel window, so it's a great location if you are planning to shop on Michigan Ave. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy. The hotel was a great value, and very close to the shopping area. Overall an average place, but the staff was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
newlyengaged
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 24, 2012

Good stay but could use some update

The room was great, and the staff was amazing and very helpful. However, the age of the hotel has clearly caught up with itself. We were informed that the water capacity was only at 25%, which directly affected the water pressure. As a result, water pressure was inconsistent on the 20th floor. Also during our stay they were doing maintenance on the elevators; so we had to walk down from the 20th floor one nigh. Fortunately, the staff fixed them before we returned that evening. In addition to these maintenance issues, there were no batteries in the TV remote, portable phone (which was kind of an awesome concept for a hotel I suppose), or alarm clock. Speaking of TV, the TV's in the hotel were all standard digital tube TV's made by Zenith circa 1990. However, all these items aside, the stay was amazing. Besides, you do not go to Chicago to watch TV or talk to the front desk from a hotel portable phone. The room looked nice, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was amazing. Also, the hotel is right on top of Michigan Avenue's shopping, down the street from the Navy Pier, and had close access to multiple public transit options. In summary, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Down the street on Clark and Chicago is a recent bar with AMAZING hamburgers called 25 degrees. Strongly supporting this great local bar.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C Pow
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Nice getaway

The hotel was nice and the staff was very helpful but was disappointed with the amenities. I will not stay there if I return to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous3524566
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Internet doesn't work.

Their wireless never works, however you need to pay $10 to find out. The front desk people, like one named Cory, are hopeless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top