The Whitehall Hotel ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$98
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Mar 1, 2016

Very nice

Would recommend Fri, May 29, 2009
The hotel was very, very nice, very upscale in my humble opinion. The parking was a bit expensive, but I realize that there was really no other alternative, and the parking lots were independent of the hotel, so not much could be done. I didn't think to ask if they validated parking, so that might have saved me some money. I guess I'll never know, but make sure you ask.

Money saver

Try to find a place that validates parking, and if you're not staying downtown the entire time, try to park for less than ten hours.

| Arnold, MO (a St. Louis suburb) Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

A good getaway.

Would recommend Fri, May 29, 2009
Everything was just as expected and then some nice surprises. We enjoyed our time at the Whitehall. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. There is a lot of things to do and see very close to the Whitehall. Will return to this hotel again.

Shopping hint

You are very close to the Magnificent Mile, Points of interest and dining. There is also a free trolley to some of the big attractions - Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Soldier Field. Just look fo rthe Trolley signs along the bus routes or inquire st the Visitor Info Centre.

| LaSalle Ontario Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good price for the location

Would recommend Thu, May 28, 2009
The people at the front desk were quite nice! The room was small but the location was great and there was a self park right across the street! The check in process took a little longer than I thought but once we got to our room the front desk called to see if everything was alright! Overall, I'd stay there again any time.

| Chicago, IL Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

White Hall

Would recommend Thu, May 28, 2009
This is the second time I stayed at this hotel it has a great location and a price that really can't be beat.

| Lexington, CA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Lovely hotel

Would recommend Wed, May 27, 2009
We had two pinnacle room that were very clean and comfortable. The bed linen and towels were immaculate and luxurious. The location was great for shopping and restaurants - an easy walk to The Original Pancake House, our family's favorite. Jogging in the area was scenic and safe. All that was lacking was FREE internet....

| Ventura, CA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great place

Would recommend Wed, May 27, 2009
The location is great and the staff is friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I will strongly recommend this hotel.

| Irvine, CA Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Thank God for a Smoking Room

Would recommend Mon, May 25, 2009
Hotel has a great location right off Michigan Ave, near plenty of shopping and great restaurants, a stone's throw from the Museum of Contemporary Art and a slightly longer walk to the Art Institute. Hotel staff was very friendly, room was simple but clean - we didn't spend too much time in it just because of all that was going on around. Only complaint was when I called down to the concierge to request a van cab for a group of friends to take us somewhere: I got put on hold and then told to wait for a call back; she called back and immediately put me on hold again; finally, when I explained what I needed, she explained that she could call a cab company but that they wouldn't be able to guarantee a cab of the right size. I walked two blocks over and hailed one myself. That complaint aside, the hotel was very comfortable and pleasant. Did I mention it has smoking rooms?

| New York, NY Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Romantic Hotel in the Heart of Chicago

Would recommend Mon, May 25, 2009
We've just returned from a Memorial Day weekend getaway. From the moment we arrived, the service was first-rate! We were especially satisfied with the concierge staff. [...] was able to get us last minute reservations at a busy restaurant, and also took care of our airline boarding passes! We definitely will stay at the Whitehall again!

Dining

Le Coloniel Restaurant on Rush is a must! The atmosphere in the upstairs dining room is energetic, the service was spot-on, and the food...well, that is the main reason to go!

| Cleveland Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Skip Unless it's a good deal

Would not recommend Mon, May 25, 2009
Ok first the good. Great location. I guess if you travel to Chicago for the first time stayin off Michigan avenue uptown (North Side) is ideal. But I guess the glamour ends there. We were able to visit a lot of sites thanks to the location, but time in the room (although infrequent) was not exactly up to par. First, they ga e us the wrong room. I booked a king size bed and they gave us a full. Now I don't quite care about bed size since a full will do the job, but the problem is I am pretty sure they knew. I refuse to believe that there are "mix-ups" like this these days. I think we've come to the day in age where overbooking and room mix-ups are behind us (thanks to computers). That said, I think they intentionally gave us a full size bed BECAUSE we booked 3rd party (orbitz). Second, the room needs a serious upgrade. It's described as having a "European sense of grace and grandeur". LOL. Are they serious? Are they talking about the 1998 26" zenith television? Or MAYBE the old eurpoean water pressure that drizzles on you and the cold water knob for the bathroom sink that had to be pressed down I. Order to turn properly. Ok I know I've hit them hard, they did have a good staff who were friendly and nice and like I said it has a GREAT location....but at some timethey have to upgrade to the modern world....great stay if you're trying to save a buck.

Money saver

If you're not planning on leaving the city area no real need to rent a car. The L train is good enough to get you where you need to go in good time. Save the money and pollution take mass transit.

| Brooklyn, NY Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Quiet Retreat Steps from the Lake

Would recommend Mon, May 25, 2009
Small, quiet, hotel nestled on beautiful Delaware Street. Great location, old style hotel experience none of the impersonal big chain problems. Great for a couples getaway.

Attractions

The Chicago Architectural Boat Tour on the Chicago River.

| New York, NY Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5