$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,220 reviews
birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was... See full review

  • Lebowski666
  • Jul 11, 2014
trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff, See full review

  • Mom North
  • Jun 7, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1220)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1220 out of 1220
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired RIta
Mpls, MN
Oct 29, 2012

We will return!

Two friends and I just spent four delightful days in Chicago and part of the delight was staying at the Whitehall Hotel. The one block walk to North Michigan Ave. and the Water Tower Place was so convenient. Two blocks the other direction put us on State St. The staff is friendly and very helpful. When I called to report that the hair dryer quit mid-hair drying, a new one was delivered to my room as soon as I hung up! Our rooms had newly remodeled bathrooms and the beds were very comfortable with down mattress covers as well as comforters. Two amenities that we wish would have been provided would be coffee pots in the rooms and ice machines in the halls; however, the staff quickly delivered ice to our rooms and the complimentary coffee in the lobby was excellent. We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paizano Pizza is a short walk from the Whitehall west and then south on State St. This is Oprah's favorite pizza restaurant, and we agree that it is wonderful!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 13, 2009

Nice hotel in the best neighborhood

Very clean and beautiful hotel, in the heart of Chicago's Miracle Mile shopping district. Next to the Hancock Tower, Michigan Ave, and Ditka's steakhouse. Very short walk down to the Loop. Large variety of interesting clubs, restaurants right next door. Hotel staff is very helpful, and rooms are spotless, and have new, fresh decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ditka's steakhouse is on the same block, right around the corner.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budee
Longboat Key, Florida
Jul 12, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

Very friendly and efficient staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cathi C
Ruston, Louisiana
Jul 12, 2009

Awesome in Chicago!

A group of four friends were in Chicago to celebrate a 50th birthday. We covered the entire city in just under four days and the Whitehall staff really helped make it happen. Outstanding and personal service, superb location, fantastic rooms, unbelievable deal for the terrific property and caliber of rooms, and simply splendid overall. It was one of the better places we've stayed and rated right up there with other boutique hotels we've enjoyed. I've already stated that I will return to the Whitehall when I visit Chicago again and you can be sure that will definitely happen!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Whitehall is an unbelievable location with almost immediate access to so many key things that make a Chicago trip what it can be--Rush Street is right there, you're right around the corner from the Hancock Building and Water Tower Place as well as other features on the Magnificent Mile/Michigan Avenue, great eats and sites are handy, transportation is readily available, and the hub for specific tourist interests are nearby as well. It's the perfect location!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blueles
Los Angeles
Jul 12, 2009

unbeatable location

Wonderful location and very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 11, 2009

The Whitehall Hotel

My friend and I were looking for a place to stay in Chicago and only being 20, we had a hell of a time trying to find a hotel with a minimum check-in age of 18. I was so excited when I found this hotel, the location is amazing and the room was beautiful. The staff was very courteous and respectful, and it was greatly appreciated. At no time did I feel as if I was treated differently because of my age. The room itself was picture perfect, we were surprised by how nice it really was. We could see the Magnificent Mile out our window and the hotel is in walking distance of countless restaurants and attractions. We couldn't have asked for more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Magnificent Mile is the next block over.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Jul 10, 2009

European Class

Was concerned when I first came after viewing the lobby that this was an old structure with no modern convieniences however was pleasently surprised when I saw my room. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. My wife loved the Euro decor. Some of the rooms looked extremely small and glad we did not have to take one of those.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Very good location.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2hot4u
Elkridge, MD
Jul 8, 2009

Great Location

The hotel was nice and clean. The location was great. It was only a couple of blocks down from the beach, 1/2 block down from the John Hancock Building, 1 mile to Navy Pier, 2 blocks to Magnificent Mile, 1 and 1/2 mile to Millenieum Park, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Home away from home
Florida
Jul 7, 2009

Great location

The Whitehall is just a hop, skip and a jump away from all of the great sites to see in downtown Chicago. We just loved being able to walk to all of the places we wanted to visit. The hotel itself has very charming lounge areas to take advantage of as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Jul 7, 2009

Great location

With the sole exception of one of the ladies at the concierge, which was very rude (even with her colleages at the recepcion), our stay in Chicago was great. The Whitehall hotel is excepcionally located and they have an outstanding price vs quality ratio. We received so many valuable tips from them that improved our visit: Driehaus museum, alternative arquitecture tour, segway, Prosecco restaurant... Only failed with the Blackbird restaurant recommendation, which we found too average for its price...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The russian lady at the conciergerie recommended us an italian restaurant called Prosecco and was really great.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DD
NJ
Jul 6, 2009

Chicago trip - whitehall hotel

The Whitehall Hotel in Chicago has a really good location. It is right off of Michigan Ave (great shopping) and Rush St (great bars and restaurants) The Sears Tower is only about 1.5 miles away - not a bad walk at all. The hotel staff were pretty friendly and accommodating. The concierge gave us VIP tickets to a really great jazz club on Rush St. It was a pretty clean hotel...small rooms and bathroom but pretty clean. The fitness center was pretty good too...nice machines and free weights. I think the best part of this hotel was the location. It is close to most everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search