$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,912 reviews
birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was... See full review

  • Lebowski666
  • Jul 11, 2014
trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff, See full review

  • Mom North
  • Jun 7, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1912)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1912 out of 1912
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired RIta
Mpls, MN
Oct 29, 2012

We will return!

Two friends and I just spent four delightful days in Chicago and part of the delight was staying at the Whitehall Hotel. The one block walk to North Michigan Ave. and the Water Tower Place was so convenient. Two blocks the other direction put us on State St. The staff is friendly and very helpful. When I called to report that the hair dryer quit mid-hair drying, a new one was delivered to my room as soon as I hung up! Our rooms had newly remodeled bathrooms and the beds were very comfortable with down mattress covers as well as comforters. Two amenities that we wish would have been provided would be coffee pots in the rooms and ice machines in the halls; however, the staff quickly delivered ice to our rooms and the complimentary coffee in the lobby was excellent. We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paizano Pizza is a short walk from the Whitehall west and then south on State St. This is Oprah's favorite pizza restaurant, and we agree that it is wonderful!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T. P.
Long Island, NY
May 18, 2010

Great Location

Very nice hotel w/o being pretentious. Excellent breakfast choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T. P.
Long Island, NY
May 18, 2010

Great Location

Very nice hotel w/o being pretentious. Excellent breakfast choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
plumskiter
Marquette, MI
May 15, 2010

very comfortable

wonderfully comfortable bed - very luxurious. room service over priced. don't understand amount they billed to my credit card after i left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

POSH.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
May 15, 2010

Great Hotel!

We were visiting our adult children; we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go or take a short cab ride. The hotel room was very clean and modern and the bed was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
May 15, 2010

OK Hotel

My first impression of the hotel were not positive. It took too long to check-in with only one other person ahead of me in line. The lobby and hallways were not attractive, almost an eye sore. The rooms were nice though. The concierge was very helpful and friendly in helping us make plans for our stay in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
plumskiter
Marquette, MI
May 15, 2010

very comfortable

wonderfully comfortable bed - very luxurious. room service over priced. don't understand amount they billed to my credit card after i left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

POSH.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
May 15, 2010

Great Hotel!

We were visiting our adult children; we were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go or take a short cab ride. The hotel room was very clean and modern and the bed was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
May 13, 2010

Renovated old, but has 2 smoking floors

Lobby is old, but rooms are renovated, nice & clean. It has two smoking floors, so make sure that you don't stay on those if you're a non-smoker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
May 13, 2010

Renovated old, but has 2 smoking floors

Lobby is old, but rooms are renovated, nice & clean. It has two smoking floors, so make sure that you don't stay on those if you're a non-smoker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JerzRoad Warrior
Business
Basking Ridge, NJ
May 11, 2010

Old & Musty

I had an early departure flight and was assured that if I called the front desk in the morning they would be able to secure a taxi for my trip to O'Hare. When I called @ 5:45AM I was told I would have to handel this on my own. May seem like a small detail but can be critical when trying to make a flight. I found customer service to be fair at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top