$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2015 Check-out: Feb 13, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,227 reviews
convenient

Very close to great shopping and restaurants. A very comfortable stay and great price per night. See full review

  • Johnny Quake
  • Jan 15, 2015
Great location and staff

The staff was very friendly and helpful (brought up extra wine glasses and wine bottle opener... See full review

  • Rebecca P.
  • Jan 15, 2015
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1227)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1227 out of 1227
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired RIta
Mpls, MN
Oct 29, 2012

We will return!

Two friends and I just spent four delightful days in Chicago and part of the delight was staying at the Whitehall Hotel. The one block walk to North Michigan Ave. and the Water Tower Place was so convenient. Two blocks the other direction put us on State St. The staff is friendly and very helpful. When I called to report that the hair dryer quit mid-hair drying, a new one was delivered to my room as soon as I hung up! Our rooms had newly remodeled bathrooms and the beds were very comfortable with down mattress covers as well as comforters. Two amenities that we wish would have been provided would be coffee pots in the rooms and ice machines in the halls; however, the staff quickly delivered ice to our rooms and the complimentary coffee in the lobby was excellent. We will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paizano Pizza is a short walk from the Whitehall west and then south on State St. This is Oprah's favorite pizza restaurant, and we agree that it is wonderful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BudgetTraveler2010
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 20, 2009

Classy, calm location

Nicely located near Rush St. nightlife (2 blocks) and Michigan Ave. shops (half block). Quiet neighborhood with popular restaurants. 12 min. walk to Jackson-Red train station or to #3 bus south to downtown. Skyline views from rooms. Rooms somewhat pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Nice 1.5-2 hr walk from downtown up Michigan Ave. back to hotel. Lots of shops along flowered, plantered, uncrowded sidewalks. Museum of Contemporary Art is small but only 12 mins. walk from hotel. John Hancock tower is 5 mins. away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waverly, IA
Jul 20, 2009

Great staff

The staff was excellent. The service from orbitz leaves a lot to be desired. If I was looking for discount room because of remodeling I can do this on my own. I believe that Orbitz should have been aware of the upkeep and informed the client of the remodeling before we walked in the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
City travelers
Business
madison wi
Jul 19, 2009

The Whitehall Hotel is the place to stay

Great place to stay if you want the downtown experience within walking distance. Very comfortable rooms and friendly staff made for an excellent stay. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Archetect boat tour, Big John tour, shopping and second city comedy all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee
Jul 19, 2009

The Whitehall Hotel

One of the best locations every for Chicago. Bathrooms had been upgraded. The room smelled of smoke. It took a couple of complaints for a front desk person to do anything about it. Once they did it was very satisfactory. Overall a very good feeling about hotel and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One block to Michigan Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WJMR
Business
Arlington Heights, IL
Jul 19, 2009

Good value for a great Chicago location.

We took a few days to enjoy the city. The location was perfect to enjoy the parks, beaches, museums and shopping on the Magnificent Mile. The room was clean but quite small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rather than taking cabs, get a CTA day or three day pass. Buses run most efficiently.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, KY
Jul 19, 2009

Great Getaway

My experience was delightful, added with a friendly hotel staff and topped off with a great location my friend and I had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bingobaby
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 17, 2009

Perfect, perfect, perfect

I could not have asked for a better experience. Through Orbitz I was able to book a "junior suite" for a fraction of what it would normally cost. The king size bed was sumptous.. soft sheets, feather topper, lots and lots of pillows. Spacious bathroom, marble floor. HUGE room with desk, small sofa, dresser with large mirror. Ice service was delivered to the room every day, or upon request which was a nice touch. Staff was exceedingly nice, helpful, concierge was wonderful. They are updating the rooms at the Whitehall - replacing air conditioning with central air. There was a note stating that in the room and saying that there may be noise from 9-5 during the weekdays. I appreciated the warning but I honestly heard very little disruption while I was in the room. This is a historical, boutique hotel so I was expecting some disappointments due to age but I can't think of one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blueatc
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 17, 2009

Whitehall Stay

Very accomodating staff. Well appointed rooms. Going through renovvations currently, but didn't have any problems at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kiki travels
Business
Belvidere, IL
Jul 17, 2009

Great room and location

I went to Chicago on a short tourist trip with my boyfriend. We loved the location because we could walk to just about everywhere we wanted to go. The staff was friendly, helpful, and professional. The room was very comfortable and clean. It was not overly spacious but had plenty of room for two people and the noise from the hallway and other rooms was very minimal. The window in our room faced the side of the building next door but we knew to expect that because the room was such a great price, and it didn't matter to us at all. Overall a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tessie's Travels
Business
NJ
Jul 16, 2009

Whitehall Hotel Chicago

The only disaapointment was that I had reserved 2 queen beds and when I arrived a room of this type was not available. I ended up with a king bed and a pull out couch. It wasn't the end of the world, but I thought my reservation was secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many retail stores within walking distance. Easy to travel downtown by bus or the metro station from Chicago Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top