$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1237 out of 1237
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Student Grad
Business
Long Island New York
Jul 27, 2009

My Chicago Experience

I arrived at my hotel only to find it was under renovations and had to be moved to a best western hotel further down the city. Although this was unpleasant I made the best out of the worst situation given to me. The transition was easy and the hotel was fairly descent, although it was a bit farther away from the event I had to attend, on Saturday, it also meant more cab fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If your heading to downtown Chicago, it's good to see the following places, Navy Pier, Sears Tower, Planetarium, Aquarium, Museums, Chicago Cubs, and Soldier Field (Bears Stadium)etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, Ky
Jul 27, 2009

Whitehall, rude night manager

We were supposed to check into the Whitehall on Friday July 24th. When we arrived at 10:30 pm on Friday night, we were told that our room was unavailable due to "maintenance issues". The offered to put us up in a Best Western in Grant Park. After I refused their offer and asked to see the manager--a very rude gentleman said "well that is what you get for booking on Orbitz--we always bump them first! Needless to say, this comment did not go over very well. After several minutes of heated conversation they offered to put us up in the Talbott just down the block. We did have a very nice stay at the Talbott and I would highly recommend the Talbott. We were able to check into the Whitehall on Saturday morning, it was ok nothing spectacular. The rooms are small but quiet. Beds and pillows were nice. Their service at the front desk and with management leaves a lot to be desired. The bar at the Fornetto Mei is really nice, good friendly bartenders there. When we go back to Chicago, won't be using the Whitehall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Friends Sushi at 710 Rush Street is unbelievable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2009

Exceptionally friendly staff

Just a block from the Hancock Tower, it would be an excellent choice for those who desire a location north of the "Loop".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Jul 26, 2009

Great stay

Great location, short walk to major Chicago destinations. Very quiet. Minimum 18 year old check in age limit which is a rarity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chicago visitors
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 25, 2009

very nice hotel

This is an older, non-chain, boutique hotel. The elevators were small and the TV in the room was older. But if you're visiting Chicago, how much time do you really want to spend in the elevator or watching TV? Chain hotels may offer more extras and amenities, but this hotel has a lot to offer: It has a great downtown location-we were able to walk to the Magnificent Mile as well as to public transportation, both subway and bus. This made it inexpensive and easy to get anywhere in the city. The room was very comfortable-we could tell it had undergone recent renovation. When we returned to our room each night, it was neat and clean with turn-down service and ice delivered. Overall, the hotel was a great value in an expensive city. We would stay there again if we return to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chicago/State red line stop of the subway is three blocks away. Use it to access most any location in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing MI
Jul 24, 2009

Cheesecake Factory

The location was great, close to the Cheesecake Factory. The hotel lobby and lounge are beautiful. Great place to plan a fun getaway. The bathroom was lovely,stacked with lotions,sewing kits,q-tips, quality lotion,ect. Exercise room has great treadmills and weights. Staff members are the best,esp. [...] and [...]. Although the hotel is small, it meets your basic needs. We took bus 151 from Union Station to the hotel,easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fredericktown, MO
Jul 24, 2009

Great stay!

Great location for downtown connections, taxis to further spots though lots of public transport available as well. Thoughtful and friendly staff. Some remodeling going on, but crew was very good at minimizing noise and mess, barely knew they were there. Would gladly visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giordano's Pizza was amazing! Do not miss this, despite the wait, it was well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Jul 21, 2009

Bummer

Requested non-smoking room but were told they only had a smoking room. They make no guarantees when reservations are made through Orbitz. Indeed, one employee said they give the bad rooms to those who make reservations through third parties. I should have known that will will not use Orbitz again to make hotel reservations, as I assume that's a common hotel practice. You get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WeHeartChicago
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 20, 2009

A great place to stay!

We could walk to Starbucks, Ditka's, the Magnificent Mile and the lake. Great, safe, clean neighborhood. Loved the location and the staff. It's expensive to park your car overnight ($45 per night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the food was so good. We especially enjoyed our first Chicago Pizza at Gino's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princess Eleanor
Business
Oakland, CA
Jul 20, 2009

Lovely, great service, comfortable

Great location. Beautiful neighborhood, walk to good restaurants and shopping. Accessible to public transportation. We walked to the water and to the Chicago Art institute and cabbed back. The staff is most helpful and polite. The two concierges helped with restaurants, a car rental (with a good rate) for going out of town, and booked an architectural boat tour that all 4 of us enjoyed. The room was attractively decorated and felt like home. The bed was so comfortable, with a down comforter and pillows. The bathroom had especially nice tile work with lots of hot water. There is a small, stocked refrigerator in which you can store a small quantity of food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top