$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1132 out of 1132
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lambino
Friends
Atlanta, GA
Jul 2, 2009

Good location - Old hotel

The hotel is in a great location if you want to see what the city has to offer. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff was very friendly. However, this is an old hotel. During our 2nd night our AC unit broke making the room too hot to enjoy. On the 3rd day, while recovering from a long night, we discovered that our TV also did not work. The staff tried to accommodate us the best they could but we expected more for the price we paid. No offer of compensation was provide when requested at check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several little pubs around the hotel (opposite direction from Michigan Ave)that have patio's. The people watching in this area is great!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 1, 2009

Charming, simple ,elegance

Great location. Easy walking distance to shopping and attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Kalamazoo, Mi.
Jun 30, 2009

Great Hotel

We love the Whitehall. This was our 2nd trip here and we brought along another couple. Their room was just as lovely as ours. Very professional-helpful staff. We love the historical feel of the rooms, yet all the modern upgrades you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a city map. You really can walk to all dining, & shopping.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Milwaukee
Jun 30, 2009

Nice Old School Hotel, Nice employees

It was nice, But i did not go to Chicago to stay in a room. So i did not spend a lot of time in the room. The only real thing i can complain about is them wanting $10 for 24 hours of WiFi. I would never pay for internet at a Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RonLA
Family
Los Angeles
Jun 30, 2009

Good service, friendly staff, good loc

Overall good. TV's are old and remotes don't work well. [I assume] they probably will all get replaced with flat panels when construction is done. Reservation/Room assignment computer and door lock system is old and needs upgrading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is EXPENSIVE ($45 overnight), but despite the staff's info, we were able to park on the street and just pay 2$ an hour till 9pm then free overnight then again at 8am. As long as you can find a spot and don't mind hitting the meter a few times, and are mostly going to be out, its worth the hassle.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lsiden
Couples
Ann Arbor, MI
Jun 30, 2009

Home Sweet Home Chicago

excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fornetto Mei. Excellent albeit pricey.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Port Huron, MI
Jun 29, 2009

unbeatable location for price

Check-in was fast and easy. Staff were courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

one block from Water Tower Shopping and bus stops abound

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Rochester Hills, Mi.
Jun 26, 2009

Great Short Stay Destination!

Close to all shopping and restaurants. Restaurant at the Hotel surprised us with service and quality!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent breakfast and pizza!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jonster
Business
St. Thomas, Ontario
Jun 25, 2009

Very Nice Hotel

Older Hotel but very well kept and clean. They are doing some renovations but it is clean and orderly. Rooms are very nice and spotless. The price was very good. A much much much better bargain than the Four Seasons across the street or the Westin down the street. I would not hesitate to stay again or recommend. 2 thumbs up for the Whitehall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, GA
Jun 24, 2009

Great location

The staff was very polite and the location was great. I was attending a conference held at another hotel and the Whitehall was just around the corner. Close walking distance to great shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top