$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,194 reviews
Updated and charming

Love The Whitehall, one of the great Chicago hotels. The staff was amazing, thank you!! See full review

  • Kim L.S.
  • Aug 26, 2014
birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was... See full review

  • Lebowski666
  • Jul 11, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1194)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1194 out of 1194
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
WASHINGTON DC
Jan 4, 2010

GROSS

Staff was beyond friendly, however this is by no means a 4 star hotel. I am not a snob by any means but I would have trouble classifying this as a 3 star hotel. The place needs serious work, and even lacks the character of a old boutique hotel that one might desire. The water in the bathroom didnt appear drinkable as my glass appeared to resemble skim milk as I drew it from the faucet. The tv, which was oddly placed at a 90 degree angle from the bed, was probably the talk of the technological world in 1979. I was really dissapointed with this hotel considering I could have stayed at several other 4 star hotels for the price I paid. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Jun 9, 2009

Great location but not much else

I stayed for 4 nights for business. The location was good and the staff very helpful but the room had many issues they could not resolve. They charge $10/day for internet which would not allow outgoing mail despite phone support from the ISP. The A/C was broken and it was very hot each night. The drain was clogged and the mixing valve in bad shape. Otherwise the rooms are spacious and nice - being comfortable is just luck of the draw.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Rush Street and lots of great bars and restaurants. This was our favorite thing about the hotel.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy Birthday Vacation
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 17, 2009

Not impressed with this Hotel Stay

Was not impressed with this hotel. The pictures on the website were not the same as the actual hotel room that we were in. The room was very small for the price that was paid. I have stayed in other hotels for less price and was more impressed and satisfied. The walls were very thin and heard a lot of banging on the walls and could here conversations of the other hotel guests. Whenever someone took a shower or bath you had to close the bathroom door in your room or you could not hear the TV. The view from the room was a dirty alley. Will not be staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kentucky
Jan 4, 2010

Old...Nice beds.

The lobby and halls are a bit sketchy, but the rooms are pretty nice--especially the beds (all feather). You should DEFINITELY ask for a room that doesn't look out at the side of a large building (so close you could touch it). Half of the hotel does, so be sure to avoid this. The restaurant in the hotel is nice, and the staff is friendly. Although they're remodeling, I think they will still be lacking. BUT, if you're looking for a clean hotel in a great location and don't care about much else, the Whitehall would be fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rush street is not far at all from the hotel, and has some great restaurants and is beautiful at night!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mexic
Guadalajara
Sep 30, 2009

Not enought

It is not excuse, in restoration does not have to be dirty. In the baths I contracted athlete foot and the rooms aren`t clean enought. The location is wonderful, but there are more options. Also other lower cost hotel offer a coffee bar all day, and free internet acces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Or
Feb 8, 2010

Meh

I stayed here once before. I was hoping that my disappointment with the hotel was a fluke, and the price was good, so I gave it another shot. Maybe I am extra critical, because I've managed hotels for the past 5 years, but this hotel is such a disappointment. Tried preordering roomservice breakfast with instructions to have it delivered at 930am. At 900am the next day, I woke up to the breakfast being delivered early. There is little that can be more frustrating that getting woken up 30 minutes before you intended. Then I drank a sprite and gingerale out of the minibar, and they tried to charge me $40. I got the bill corrected, but these mistakes were frequent and unnecessary. Someone needs to take charge at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to eat at Avec.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gary, IN
Feb 8, 2010

The Whitehall

I enjoyed the theme of the hotel. It was antique and vintage. What I didn't like was the plastic on the carpet of the hallway, and the hotel staff (room service) knocking twice on the door and actually opening the door on us two hours before our check out. Our view was the windows of another building... So we did not get to really open the windows and enjoy any kind of skyline. The front door staff was friendly and the area of the hotel was accommodating for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Incredibly Disgusted
Arizona
Aug 16, 2014

Vacation

The room was incredibly small with no view; windows of opposite building so close that needed to keep the shades pulled. Lamps in room in disrepair - wobbly, had to wiggle switches. Air conditioning ineffective - room stuffy; had to turn it off and restart it frequently for any cool air. The bathroom was dirty - black stuff (?mildew?) in sink and toilet. Called for extra pillow and blanket - after 2 hours, made 2nd call. No room service available for dinner. No information in room about surrounding restaurants, attractions, services. Overall, not a good experience for a first visit to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago
Jul 30, 2009

not so good

arrived and was unable to get non-smoking room although book 3 weeks in advanced and requested same. room smelled; fortunately able to open window slightly. ac did not work-- front desk said hotel was installing central air

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
Jul 13, 2009

Overall satisfied

Very friendly staff, room was nice, historic hotel that is well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search