$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

4 stars
View map of 909 North Michigan Avenue, 909 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
205 reviews
Bachelor Party

Had a great time at the hotel with a few best friends. Location was perfect. Room was great.... See full review

  • Somil S.
  • Mar 10, 2015
Great Stay

Comfortable bed, check-in/out quick and easy. Very nice stay overall, I would go back See full review

  • mnbad4life
  • Feb 24, 2015
One of many Westin hotels across the US, the Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago greets you with a dramatic sweeping staircase, soaring marble columns and glittering, modern light fixtures. But it's not just a pretty picture; handy features like flexible workspaces ('Tangent') and free Wi-Fi in the lobby are on offer for businesspeople staying in Chicago. After you've feasted on all the pan-fried fish and fillet steaks you can manage, sip an after-dinner coffee at The Grill on the Alley, overlooking the melee of the Magnificent Mile below. Catch up on your favorite shows while you're on the Stairmaster at the WestinWORKOUT 24-hour gym, or make your exercise more social, with regular evening classes like yoga or a running club.
Key facts
  • 752 guestrooms
  • 23 suites
  • 27 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: The Grill on the Alley
  • Café a la Carte (serving Starbucks coffee)
  • Vending machines
  • Gym
  • Spa
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Kids club
Neighborhood
Sitting right on Michigan Avenue – Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile – The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is across from the Hancock Center, home to the John Hancock Observatory, as well as a number of familiar chains like The Cheesecake Factory restaurant. Get to the Museum of Contemporary Art within minutes, or head directly south along the Mile to get to The Loop, the city's business district, south of the river. Visitors can also wander down to the shores of Lake Michigan – Oak Street Beach is only a few steps from the Westin.
Hints and tips
If you're coming to Chicago with children, check out the perks of the Westin Kids Club during your stay. Younger guests get treats and night-lights in their goody-bag on arrival, as well as a healthy supply of Band-Aids.

Don't miss the LEGO Store either; it's right across the street from the Westin Hotel Chicago at the Water Tower Place.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi

Dining

Café a la Carte
Follow the enticing aroma of Starbucks® Coffee and fresh baked breads to the lobby level, where you will find Café a la Carte.
The Grill on the Alley
The Westin Chicago boasts the newest location of The Grill on the Alley, named to the Fine Dining Hall of Fame by Nation’s Restaurant News. The Grill is known for American favorites: prime steaks, fresh seafood and homemade desserts.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jennie G.
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 6, 2012

Poor Customer Service

While the hotel is beautiful and very clean, I was shocked by the total lack of customer service. They wouldn't valet my car because I didn't need help with my bags. Instead I was directed to the parking garage down the street. The next morning, we needed a cab. We were told to walk to Michigan Ave. because we would be able to get a cab more easily. Are you kidding me?!?! On top of it, we had to pay $60 to park!!! I live in Chicago and have NEVER had to pay that much to park overnight. I will NEVER stay at this Westin again, and I would recommend you don't either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VinceK77
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 22, 2013

Low end hotel for a high price

The Westin in Chicago doesn't even compare to the one in Seattle. Shoddy furniture and a desk that had stains on the underside of the glass top. Really? Who gives this place a 4 star rating? I was charged $77 for a day's parking. And $30 for the internet for just one day. There was no breakfast or anything early in the morning. Room service may or may not answer unless you try at least 5 times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Purple Pig is the place to eat. Make sure you have a reservation or else the wait is over an hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 11, 2011

The good, the bad, and the ugly

We 'checked in' at 5:30 and told rooms wouldn't be available for at least an hour(the bad). We needed to be somewhere by 7:00 so we told them we would be back around 10:30. My husband had to change in the lobby bathroom. They upgraded our room and gave us $40 for the bar or breakfast(the good). When my husband came back around 11:00 (I stayed out with friends) the gal behind the desk wouldn't give him a room because he wasn't me. It took him close to an hour before she would give him a key (the ugly). I have to say the other staff were all very pleasant. [...] The bathtub backed up when showering, no coffee cups in the room. I'm not sure what the upgrade was but the rooms were clean. Can't say we'll ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cmcc
Business
N/A
Jan 23, 2015

Westin Michigan Avenue

The hotel was fine but during our stay a hotel staff member let themselves into our room without a knock. I let the employee at the front desk know and never heard back from them. I wonder how often this happens and nobody ever knows because they are out of the room. I would not leave anything valuable in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bigdaddy6
Business
Carmel, CA, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Arrive early!

In spite of a call to inform hotel of late arrival, requests were ignored and I got the dungeon room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sophisticated traveller
Business
Lousiville
Jul 9, 2012

Disappointed

Haven't been at the Hotel for over 5 years. The quality of the Hotel has definitely declined. Really too bad considering the location, competition in the area and the quality of the Westin name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NOMI is a great restaurant. Make sure you make reservations and ask for a table by the window.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steph and Shane
Business
Boulder, CO
Dec 2, 2013

Wonderful Beach Location

I know that there was supposed to be a restaurant there... but I could never find a person, menu, food, or coffee! But the location of the hotel was so fabulous that I had little shacks to buy food and coffee all around me. This places needs a little TLC when it comes to amenities. NOT A PLACE FOR KIDS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Walk down the beach to find cocktail deals!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mill Valley, Ca
Jul 8, 2010

Westin Michigan Ave.

Put 'Do not disturb' sign on door as we were jet lagged. Was sleeping with my husband and the man who replaces missing items in the bar, ignored the sign and put his key in the door and opened it anyhow. Was told luggage would be sent up to room while we were eating so it would be there before we got up, it was not there when we got up. Dispite the fact that we went to the desk and left a tip in an envelope for the man we were told that took it up. Then he promptly delivered it afterwards but made a fuss that he went to the front desk to claim his tip and couldn't find it. Was more concerned that he didn't think he was getting a tip than actually doing the job! He did in fact get the envelope which was being held at the front desk by another agent. Had to call three times to get a new iron delivered. The girl that checked us in said she would send one up and didn't. Called the room service people and they said they would send one up and didn't. Spoke to a cleaning lady in the hallway and she said she would have one sent up right away and didn't. Finally called down annoyed at the service express and had one sent up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

To stores such as Neimans, Saks, and Barneys and other good restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
illinois
Jan 4, 2010

never again

This hotel suvives only on the Westin name and the location. I would write all of the problems we had ,but i'm not sure I could do it in less than 4000 characters. Not normally one to complain but when they offered us a "sweetheart deal" to stay their again ,I politely refused, knowing we would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 2, 2009

Good location, hard to check in

Unhappy that there were no clean rooms available when I tried to check in at 5:30pm!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top