$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

4 stars
909 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
184 reviews
Great for a weekend trip!

We stayed at the Westin for a girls' weekend getaway. Great location, excellent service. They even... See full review

  • alysan
  • Dec 8, 2014
Perfect Hotel, Perfect Location

Best hotel in the city. Perfect area near all the restaurants and attractions. I would come back... See full review

  • jopee22
  • Aug 6, 2014
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep or venture into the Loop for business. We provide unparalleled service for business and leisure travelers with elegant function space for all types of events. At day's end, unwind in the Westin WORKOUT Gym or join the Unwind, a Westin evening ritual from 5:30 pm to 7:00pm in the lobby, then try rejuvenating favorites at The Grill on the Alley. The Westin Michigan Avenue has 752 guest rooms including 23 suites, each with a marble foyer and large marble bathroom. Enjoy the comforts of home and technology like dual line telephones, in room internet and wireless hot-spots in the lobby.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (184)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kkdk
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Great getaway

From check-in to check-out, the hotel was great. It was close to shopping, food and the holiday lights were awesome. We'll definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall is right across the street. Great shopping but purchases were pretty limited as most of the stores were more upscale.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pblue
Business
Avon, Ohio
Dec 27, 2011

Stately Traditional

We were pleased with the location and the staff. The staff was very helpful. We did have a problem with charges for things that would be counted as ordinary in other hotel settings. They do charge for parking at $57.00 a night. They charge for internet use. I assume they can do this because they feel their location warrants such. We felt they had taken advantage of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ditka's restaurant less than a mile away. 4th presby church just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. J
Business
Ms. J
Dec 27, 2011

Christmas trip to see family in Chicago

This hotel was perfect. We were in the hub of everything. We could walk just about to any place and do lots of shopping. The staff was very friendly. Parking was a little expensive ($57 a night), but you expect that in the Chicagoland area. Otherwise, our hotel stay was absolutely wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right across from Bloomingdales and two steps away from the Water Tower. You can also walk to all the other wonderful shops on Michicgan Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelergirl
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Westin on Michigan Ave: good location for all

Great location next to American Girl and Water Tower/Macy's, & the Cheese Cake Factory between the two. Also, for night life a trip to the Hancock Lounge gives a great view of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Rush Street to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Fig
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Great location & Great Night's Sleep

This hotel is centrally located on The Magnificent Mile and right across the street from The Hancock Observatory. Check in was a breeze and Claudio was helpful in answering any of our questions. The Westin beds are heavenly and my wife and I own one in our home. So it's comforting to know, we'll have a good night's sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alrighty
Business
Madison
Nov 3, 2011

Great locale

It's great location, a little pricy. Nice staff though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fat Frankie
Business
Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Anniversary get away

Very clean and comfortable in a great location. Wife started Xmas chopping. Being so close to all her favorite stores we could walk back to hotel so that we didn't have to carry the packages everywhere we went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great eating places in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bigdaddy6
Business
Carmel, CA, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Arrive early!

In spite of a call to inform hotel of late arrival, requests were ignored and I got the dungeon room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shoppers2
Business
Harland, Wisconsin
Oct 9, 2011

great time

Shopping time with sisters, As always is just wonderful, The Westin was in a great location for being on Michigan Avenue, The Hotel was very clean and a the Check in staff very nice. We definetly will stay here again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
We travel light
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 26, 2011

An "American Girl" Experience

This was a short trip with my young granddaughter to visit the American Girl Museum at Water Tower. This was our fist trip to Chicago and the hotel location couldn't have been any better.There was so much to see and do in the immediate area and the staff was very helpful. We had a ball and will return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top