$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

4 stars
View map of 909 North Michigan Avenue, 909 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Aug 23, 2009

Very Mediocre Hotel.

I travel almost every week. Other than a very good location, this hotel is below par for the Westin brand. They seem to be cutting corners on things like no newspapers, one concierge (had to wait 10-15 minutes each time to speak to someone, and long lines to check in) and the rooms feel old and very basic. I have stayed in 20+ hotels in downtown Chicago and have found the overall quality to be very high but this Westin has a lot of catching up to do if it wants to compete. It seems to be relying mostly on its great, but loud, location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach, Fl.
Aug 9, 2009

Great location

Was one of the best vacation's. Great location. Close to all stores,and bus service to everywhere was easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the bus pass. Keeps from looking for $2.25 everytime you get on the bus.Can be bought at the CVS stores.

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 2, 2009

Good location, hard to check in

Unhappy that there were no clean rooms available when I tried to check in at 5:30pm!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 20, 2009

Chicago 6/25/09

The hotel is located in a great part of Chicago on North Michigan Ave right next to the John Hancock tower. It is a mile from the Chicago river and is located in the middle of the best shopping that the city has to offer. The only drawback to the hotel is that the walls are thin and allow noise to be transmitted rather easily. However, the amenities, cleanliness and service are enough the override the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unhappy anniversary couple
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 14, 2009

Gave away our room

We had pre-paid, non-refundable rooms which i guess means we could be bumped from our room without explanation or advance notice. We arrived at 4 p.m. to be told they had no room and said they would send us to another hotel in their hotel group and paid for the taxi - glad we hadn't driven and parked. They sent us to the Ritz which normally would be awesome however, the Ritz puts their lower class Westin guests on their smoking floor so we had to have a smoking room, which was VERY smoky and that was the only room available. The Ritz staff then sent an employee to the room they gave us to confirm what we had told them - yes the room was very smoky - so nice to be believed when we told them this ourselves. Our clothes smelled like smoke all weekend and now my new suitcase also smells like smoke. We were upset so the Westin gave us a nice lake view the next night which was nice but we had to check in & out twice which is a hassle. We were told we got bumped b/c people from the prior night chose to stay over. If I had a paid reservation and they didn't they shouldn't be allowed to bump us even if they think it is an upgrade to the Ritz it isn't when it is a hassle & we get a smoking room. No one asked us if smoking would be tolerable and the Westin was chosen b/c it is all smoke-free. Also, once at the Westin the housekeeping staff started cleaning early Monday morning and doors were slammed and staff talking right outside our door. So much for sleeping in. The Westin is a great location, very clean and we had a nice view which I'm sure we got because we were treated so poorly the night before. Being treated like a second-class citizen is humilating and put a damper on the weekend which was a 25Th anniversary celebration - luckily the rest of Chicago was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a reservation at Shaw's Crab House.

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jul 13, 2009

Good Location

The hotel was in an excellent location, right across from the John Hancock Center. We were able to walk around to everything we wanted to see. The only bad point was how much the hotel charges to park in their garage. We parked in a different garage that was a little cheaper but still pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Watashi
Business
Louisville. Ky
Jul 13, 2009

Good place

Internet access costs the hotel nothing, and charging for it is like charging for water or sewage. An airline pilot told me that whenever a hotel charges for internet access, he lets the hot water run all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's on the miracle mile. What's better?

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, Illinois
Jul 13, 2009

Great Location

The location was fantastic, on Michigan Avenue next to Water Tower, the hotel was very nice, very clean. Our room was located next to the elevator and we encountered many disturbances beginning very early in the morning from guests talking loudly while waiting for the elevator to the constant clang of room service trays and dishes. I went to the fron desk and requested a quieter room for our second night. The clerk has very gracious and stated that we would be moved during the afternoon and to check with the desk when we returned to our hotel later in the afternoon. Unfortunately, when we returned our room had not been changed and we were informed that the clerk had failed to complete the required paper work to have our room changed. The manager explained the hotel was overbooked and she could not change our room this late in the day. To say the least, I was livid and after an unpleasant conversation I was told they would look in to it and see if a room was available. I was contacted by the manager and told a room was available, but needed to be cleaned; two and one half hours later the room was still not available. We left the hotel around 8 pm for dinner and when we returned around 11 pm our room had finally been changed. I was very unhappy with their lack of professionalism and I don't know that I would ever return to this hotel. The manager offered free breakfast in place of moving us to a quiter room; which was certainly not the answer that I wanted to hear. I do not feel that we were treated like valued customers. We had another couple that also stayed at the hotel and their experience was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steves wedding
Business
South Florida
Jul 7, 2009

Great Hotel

Great location and a great price for where you located. Your just at the end of michigan ave great for walking up and down the strip. Your only up to 1 mile from everything, no more. No need for a taxi with this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viterrrrr
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 6, 2009

A definite YES!!!!

Towels and sheets were super clean. Room was impeccable. Great coffee selection in the room. Simply amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago definitely has the best restaurants in the country. Walk by Rush Ave and any restaurant there will meet your expectations.

Back to menu Return to top