$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 6, 2015 Check-out: Feb 8, 2015

The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

4 stars
909 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
187 reviews
Great trip

Enjoyed my stay at the Westin very much! Awesome price and location. Would suggest to other friends. See full review

  • Andre B.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Great for a weekend trip!

We stayed at the Westin for a girls' weekend getaway. Great location, excellent service. They even... See full review

  • alysan
  • Dec 8, 2014
One of many Westin hotels across the US, the Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago greets you with a dramatic sweeping staircase, soaring marble columns and glittering, modern light fixtures. But it's not just a pretty picture; handy features like flexible workspaces ('Tangent') and free Wi-Fi in the lobby are on offer for businesspeople staying in Chicago. After you've feasted on all the pan-fried fish and fillet steaks you can manage, sip an after-dinner coffee at The Grill on the Alley, overlooking the melee of the Magnificent Mile below. Catch up on your favorite shows while you're on the Stairmaster at the WestinWORKOUT 24-hour gym, or make your exercise more social, with regular evening classes like yoga or a running club.
Key facts
  • 752 guestrooms
  • 23 suites
  • 27 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: The Grill on the Alley
  • Café a la Carte (serving Starbucks coffee)
  • Vending machines
  • Gym
  • Spa
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Kids club
Neighborhood
Sitting right on Michigan Avenue – Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile – The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is across from the Hancock Center, home to the John Hancock Observatory, as well as a number of familiar chains like The Cheesecake Factory restaurant. Get to the Museum of Contemporary Art within minutes, or head directly south along the Mile to get to The Loop, the city's business district, south of the river. Visitors can also wander down to the shores of Lake Michigan – Oak Street Beach is only a few steps from the Westin.
Hints and tips
If you're coming to Chicago with children, check out the perks of the Westin Kids Club during your stay. Younger guests get treats and night-lights in their goody-bag on arrival, as well as a healthy supply of Band-Aids.

Don't miss the LEGO Store either; it's right across the street from the Westin Hotel Chicago at the Water Tower Place.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chieftain
Chicago, Illinois
Jan 28, 2013

Love the Westin

We had a wonderful stay! The friendly staff checked us into our room early. The rooms are spacious, clean and beautiful. We were able to get our car on two occasions with only a two minute wait. We will always stay at the Westin, we love the location, 1 block from Watertower and great shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Restaurant/Bar at the top of the Hancock (95th or 96th floor) for a drink or a meal and some breath taking views!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern IL
Jul 26, 2010

Good Location

The room was clean.... The shower did not drain, the elevator was right by the room great for walking with bags bad for being in room and having quiet, and the bed was hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mill Valley, Ca
Jul 8, 2010

Westin Michigan Ave.

Put 'Do not disturb' sign on door as we were jet lagged. Was sleeping with my husband and the man who replaces missing items in the bar, ignored the sign and put his key in the door and opened it anyhow. Was told luggage would be sent up to room while we were eating so it would be there before we got up, it was not there when we got up. Dispite the fact that we went to the desk and left a tip in an envelope for the man we were told that took it up. Then he promptly delivered it afterwards but made a fuss that he went to the front desk to claim his tip and couldn't find it. Was more concerned that he didn't think he was getting a tip than actually doing the job! He did in fact get the envelope which was being held at the front desk by another agent. Had to call three times to get a new iron delivered. The girl that checked us in said she would send one up and didn't. Called the room service people and they said they would send one up and didn't. Spoke to a cleaning lady in the hallway and she said she would have one sent up right away and didn't. Finally called down annoyed at the service express and had one sent up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

To stores such as Neimans, Saks, and Barneys and other good restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
piitsburgh, pa
Jun 28, 2010

great walking location nice for theprice

great location nice staff very clean which is important to us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wuwu
Business
bloomington, IN
May 11, 2010

great hotel

The hotel was great and all services are satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Banker Fo
Business
Centralia, Illinois
Apr 12, 2010

Chicago Michigan Avenue Westin

Great experience. The hotel was clean, nicely appointed and in a wonderful location. Everything was just fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is a great choice since it is convenient to most Michigan Avenue shopping destinations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee
Apr 7, 2010

great location and value

Fantastic Location ; Excellent Value ; Room Very Clean ; Beautiful Lobby ; Greatly appreciated complimentary juice, cookies and fruit found in lobby area ; Staff very nice but could have been more helpful (concierge info / accuracy and parking / car pick-up instructions / etc.) Yet, I'd still give this hotel a "4.9" star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Apr 1, 2010

Great location right on the mile

Got an early flight in and the hotel allowed me to check in early which was a plus. Location was fantastic for access to the mile and bar district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Paul MN
Mar 21, 2010

Great Location

Hotel was great and the location on Michigan Avenue was amazing. Had a remodeled room which was nice. Only problem was that housekeeping was a little lacking, had to keep asking them to bring replacement items that should have been there all along. Nice pub/restaurant in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jan 18, 2010

Comfy stay

It was a great hotel. I was sick the second day of my stay and it was a nice and quiet place to get some sleep and room service was really good, but very expensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
efischer172
Business
Holland, MI
Jan 17, 2010

DON'T STAY HERE!

Well, where should I begin? When we got to the hotel to check in, we were told that we couldn't have the king size room that we ordered from the [...] site. They said they don't gaurantee the room type, however, when I called the actual hotel the day before the trip to confirm everything, they confirmed that I would be staying in a king size room. This was our five year wedding anniversary, and now we couldn't even sleep comfortably in the same bed. When I expressed that to the front desk, the girl didn't seem to care and just handed me the keys and said, "Sorry, have a nice stay."When we got to that room, the shower did NOT have the two shower heads that were advertised, and there were no bathrobes. You had to call and have someone bring them to you. An hour and a half later, someone came up with the bathrobes. They were stained badly, and didn't even fit. If we were larger individuals, we couldn't get them on at all. The room was poorly cleaned, and we found pretzels and wrappers on the floor, and dust everywhere.After being pretty upset for awhile, I called [...] and complained about the hotel. They contacted the front desk, and we ended up moving to a king size room. Thank you [...], for that. This room had the two showerheads, but they barely worked. The remote control for the TV was broken, and once again, we had their finest stained linnens. While trying to sleep, you could hear people pounding on doors throughout the hallway, and again, nobody there would do anything about it. The bed was comfortable, but that was the ony Heavenly thing about the hotel. Furthermore, the rooms looked NOTHING like the pictures here. Great location for shopping, but that's it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

900 Michigan Ave Shops is right across the street. That's one of the big malls, with Bloomingdales. Right next door is the Hancock Observatory, which was amazing. At the base of the tower there is a Jamba Juice, and The Cheesecake Factory, and a few other things. Inside the tower there is a multi level Best Buy. Just on the other side of Hancock, is Watertower Place, the other large mall. There are lots of other stores right in the area as well. There's even a Walgreens a few blocks away so you can buy some cheap snacks or whatever.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top