The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

4 stars
909 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
181 reviews
Perfect Hotel, Perfect Location

Best hotel in the city. Perfect area near all the restaurants and attractions. I would come back... See full review

  • jopee22
  • Aug 6, 2014
HAHAH

Great location, but it is noisy and not clean enough. See full review

  • beckhamli925
  • Jun 6, 2014
One of many Westin hotels across the US, the Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago greets you with a dramatic sweeping staircase, soaring marble columns and glittering, modern light fixtures. But it's not just a pretty picture; handy features like flexible workspaces ('Tangent') and free Wi-Fi in the lobby are on offer for businesspeople staying in Chicago. After you've feasted on all the pan-fried fish and fillet steaks you can manage, sip an after-dinner coffee at The Grill on the Alley, overlooking the melee of the Magnificent Mile below. Catch up on your favorite shows while you're on the Stairmaster at the WestinWORKOUT 24-hour gym, or make your exercise more social, with regular evening classes like yoga or a running club.
Key facts
  • 752 guestrooms
  • 23 suites
  • 27 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: The Grill on the Alley
  • Café a la Carte (serving Starbucks coffee)
  • Vending machines
  • Gym
  • Spa
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Kids club
Neighborhood
Sitting right on Michigan Avenue – Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile – The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is across from the Hancock Center, home to the John Hancock Observatory, as well as a number of familiar chains like The Cheesecake Factory restaurant. Get to the Museum of Contemporary Art within minutes, or head directly south along the Mile to get to The Loop, the city's business district, south of the river. Visitors can also wander down to the shores of Lake Michigan – Oak Street Beach is only a few steps from the Westin.
Hints and tips
If you're coming to Chicago with children, check out the perks of the Westin Kids Club during your stay. Younger guests get treats and night-lights in their goody-bag on arrival, as well as a healthy supply of Band-Aids.

Don't miss the LEGO Store either; it's right across the street from the Westin Hotel Chicago at the Water Tower Place.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Hotel Map

41.8996 -87.6241
Area served
Arlington Heights, Elmhurst, Evanston, Elk Grove, Hammond, Schaumburg, Des Plaines, Naperville, Oak Brook, River Forest, Rosemont, Schiller Park, Skokie, Glenview, Wheeling
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI; Chicago Midway International Airport, (MDW), 16.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Apr 1, 2010

Great location right on the mile

Got an early flight in and the hotel allowed me to check in early which was a plus. Location was fantastic for access to the mile and bar district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Paul MN
Mar 21, 2010

Great Location

Hotel was great and the location on Michigan Avenue was amazing. Had a remodeled room which was nice. Only problem was that housekeeping was a little lacking, had to keep asking them to bring replacement items that should have been there all along. Nice pub/restaurant in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jan 18, 2010

Comfy stay

It was a great hotel. I was sick the second day of my stay and it was a nice and quiet place to get some sleep and room service was really good, but very expensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
efischer172
Business
Holland, MI
Jan 17, 2010

DON'T STAY HERE!

Well, where should I begin? When we got to the hotel to check in, we were told that we couldn't have the king size room that we ordered from the [...] site. They said they don't gaurantee the room type, however, when I called the actual hotel the day before the trip to confirm everything, they confirmed that I would be staying in a king size room. This was our five year wedding anniversary, and now we couldn't even sleep comfortably in the same bed. When I expressed that to the front desk, the girl didn't seem to care and just handed me the keys and said, "Sorry, have a nice stay."When we got to that room, the shower did NOT have the two shower heads that were advertised, and there were no bathrobes. You had to call and have someone bring them to you. An hour and a half later, someone came up with the bathrobes. They were stained badly, and didn't even fit. If we were larger individuals, we couldn't get them on at all. The room was poorly cleaned, and we found pretzels and wrappers on the floor, and dust everywhere.After being pretty upset for awhile, I called [...] and complained about the hotel. They contacted the front desk, and we ended up moving to a king size room. Thank you [...], for that. This room had the two showerheads, but they barely worked. The remote control for the TV was broken, and once again, we had their finest stained linnens. While trying to sleep, you could hear people pounding on doors throughout the hallway, and again, nobody there would do anything about it. The bed was comfortable, but that was the ony Heavenly thing about the hotel. Furthermore, the rooms looked NOTHING like the pictures here. Great location for shopping, but that's it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

900 Michigan Ave Shops is right across the street. That's one of the big malls, with Bloomingdales. Right next door is the Hancock Observatory, which was amazing. At the base of the tower there is a Jamba Juice, and The Cheesecake Factory, and a few other things. Inside the tower there is a multi level Best Buy. Just on the other side of Hancock, is Watertower Place, the other large mall. There are lots of other stores right in the area as well. There's even a Walgreens a few blocks away so you can buy some cheap snacks or whatever.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach. FL
Jan 4, 2010

Great hotel in a wonderful location

very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
illinois
Jan 4, 2010

never again

This hotel suvives only on the Westin name and the location. I would write all of the problems we had ,but i'm not sure I could do it in less than 4000 characters. Not normally one to complain but when they offered us a "sweetheart deal" to stay their again ,I politely refused, knowing we would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Larry form hawthorn
Business
Chicago
Jan 1, 2010

Great Hotel Terrific Location

If you want the very best location in Chicago this is your Hotel. Great service, friendly front desk folks and a very nice restaruant on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ram Skier
Business
Tennessee
Dec 31, 2009

Not very impressive

Not very clean,understaffed facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 28, 2009

Big City Getaway

Great getaway for shopping. Within walking distance of stores, bars, and great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short block away from all of the Rush Street restaurants and entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wisconsin
Dec 27, 2009

Great Hotel

We had a great experience. The hotel was modern, quiet and in a great location. We had a great getaway. The only thing I didn't like was that [...] that parking would be an extra $53 per night. I guess I naively thought it was included with your hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top