$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

4 stars
909 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
260 reviews
HAHAH

Great location, but it is noisy and not clean enough. See full review

  • beckhamli925
  • Jun 6, 2014
WESTIN HOTEL

WAS VERY NICE BUT I THINK IT WOULD BE AWESOME IF IT WAS SPRING, SUMMER, OR AUTUMN. See full review

  • CARY B
  • Feb 17, 2014
One of many Westin hotels across the US, the Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago greets you with a dramatic sweeping staircase, soaring marble columns and glittering, modern light fixtures. But it's not just a pretty picture; handy features like flexible workspaces ('Tangent') and free Wi-Fi in the lobby are on offer for businesspeople staying in Chicago. After you've feasted on all the pan-fried fish and fillet steaks you can manage, sip an after-dinner coffee at The Grill on the Alley, overlooking the melee of the Magnificent Mile below. Catch up on your favorite shows while you're on the Stairmaster at the WestinWORKOUT 24-hour gym, or make your exercise more social, with regular evening classes like yoga or a running club.
Key facts
  • 752 guestrooms
  • 23 suites
  • 27 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: The Grill on the Alley
  • Café a la Carte (serving Starbucks coffee)
  • Vending machines
  • Gym
  • Spa
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Kids club
Neighborhood
Sitting right on Michigan Avenue – Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile – The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is across from the Hancock Center, home to the John Hancock Observatory, as well as a number of familiar chains like The Cheesecake Factory restaurant. Get to the Museum of Contemporary Art within minutes, or head directly south along the Mile to get to The Loop, the city's business district, south of the river. Visitors can also wander down to the shores of Lake Michigan – Oak Street Beach is only a few steps from the Westin.
Hints and tips
If you're coming to Chicago with children, check out the perks of the Westin Kids Club during your stay. Younger guests get treats and night-lights in their goody-bag on arrival, as well as a healthy supply of Band-Aids.

Don't miss the LEGO Store either; it's right across the street from the Westin Hotel Chicago at the Water Tower Place.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8996 -87.6241
Area served
Arlington Heights, Elmhurst, Evanston, Elk Grove, Hammond, Schaumburg, Des Plaines, Naperville, Oak Brook, River Forest, Rosemont, Schiller Park, Skokie, Glenview, Wheeling
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI; Chicago Midway International Airport, (MDW), 16.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (260)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago, il
Nov 28, 2010

fun get away

Excellent location on Michigan Ave, room looked out at the Water Tower. Right next to elevator but no noise issues. Breakfast not included and was $35 in that area. cookies and apple cider in lobby, no cider both times I checked but Lorne Doone Cookies were a good snack before heading out to the cold streets. It was clean and bed was comfortable. big tv, small room no free water as desk clerk stated in check-in, just a smallish wine bottle for $27.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Tourism center with hot tix location south of water tower, Broadway Theater next to it.

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago, il
Nov 28, 2010

fun get away

Excellent location on Michigan Ave, room looked out at the Water Tower. Right next to elevator but no noise issues. Breakfast not included and was $35 in that area. cookies and apple cider in lobby, no cider both times I checked but Lorne Doone Cookies were a good snack before heading out to the cold streets. It was clean and bed was comfortable. big tv, small room no free water as desk clerk stated in check-in, just a smallish wine bottle for $27.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Tourism center with hot tix location south of water tower, Broadway Theater next to it.

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Nov 22, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We spent time in and out of the Hotel. There was a Parade down Michigan that we enjoyed from the warmth and coziness of our room. Great location on the mile. Really close to everything from shopping to great restaurants. It was a four star hotel but felt more like a 3 star which doesn't make it any worse or better since the location and price where fantastic. Rooms are a bit noisy as you can hear voices and noise through the wall. The doors are loud when they shut so you will hear everyone's doors close in the main hall ways. The rooms were great and the bed was amazing. Slept really well. We don't sleep that well at Home. One of the most cool things I have ever noticed was at this hotel. We are runners and it was the coolest thing in the world to see that you could reserve fresh clean running closes including running shoes at no charge. The hotel will take care of everything and you just have to leave your hotel gear behind and they will clean it up. I can see why this may bump it to a 4 star hotel over being a three star. This was one of the best stays in Chicago but mainly due to location and not really the amenities of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Frontera is a must must visit while in chIcago. Please go!!!

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Nov 22, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We spent time in and out of the Hotel. There was a Parade down Michigan that we enjoyed from the warmth and coziness of our room. Great location on the mile. Really close to everything from shopping to great restaurants. It was a four star hotel but felt more like a 3 star which doesn't make it any worse or better since the location and price where fantastic. Rooms are a bit noisy as you can hear voices and noise through the wall. The doors are loud when they shut so you will hear everyone's doors close in the main hall ways. The rooms were great and the bed was amazing. Slept really well. We don't sleep that well at Home. One of the most cool things I have ever noticed was at this hotel. We are runners and it was the coolest thing in the world to see that you could reserve fresh clean running closes including running shoes at no charge. The hotel will take care of everything and you just have to leave your hotel gear behind and they will clean it up. I can see why this may bump it to a 4 star hotel over being a three star. This was one of the best stays in Chicago but mainly due to location and not really the amenities of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Frontera is a must must visit while in chIcago. Please go!!!

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Nov 21, 2010

nice... nothing special

We walked the magnificent mile, shopped and visited local restaurants during our stay. The rooms were clean, but we did not feel like there was anything extraordinary about the hotel. Upon arrival to the hotel after 3:30 (check in is at 3pm), our room was not ready. They said that we would receive a call when it was ready, but we stayed out until 7pm and never received a call. When we arrived, they did not apologize, nor did they offer to give us a discount at the restaurant or comp us a drink for the inconvenience/while we waited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
IL
Nov 21, 2010

Shopping Chicago

Great rooms, great location, great shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
IL
Nov 21, 2010

Shopping Chicago

Great rooms, great location, great shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Nov 21, 2010

nice... nothing special

We walked the magnificent mile, shopped and visited local restaurants during our stay. The rooms were clean, but we did not feel like there was anything extraordinary about the hotel. Upon arrival to the hotel after 3:30 (check in is at 3pm), our room was not ready. They said that we would receive a call when it was ready, but we stayed out until 7pm and never received a call. When we arrived, they did not apologize, nor did they offer to give us a discount at the restaurant or comp us a drink for the inconvenience/while we waited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 6, 2010

Pleasant stay

Didn't disappoint

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Medi at ontario & Michigan

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 6, 2010

Pleasant stay

Didn't disappoint

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Medi at ontario & Michigan

Back to menu Return to top