$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 19, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

4 stars
View map of 909 North Michigan Avenue, 909 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LuigiMunno
Milton, MA
Sep 5, 2012

Fantastic holiday with my wife and my two daughters

Very good experience in Westin Hotel in Chicago. The hotel is very close to all amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
We travel light
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 26, 2011

An "American Girl" Experience

This was a short trip with my young granddaughter to visit the American Girl Museum at Water Tower. This was our fist trip to Chicago and the hotel location couldn't have been any better.There was so much to see and do in the immediate area and the staff was very helpful. We had a ball and will return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 8, 2011

Somewhat disappointed

The location was perfect. We were a bit confused because it is just around the corner of Michicagn Ave., even though the address was on Michigan Ave. The lobby was busy when we arrived and they had two check in lines- one for preferred members, the other for other guests. They kept helping the "preferred guests" which was somewhat of a disappointment. The room itself was okay. The room was right next to/behind the elevator which was loud- all night long. I don't think they can live up to their relax, rejuvenate campaign in the hustle and bustle of a big city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 25, 2011

Nice hotel, great location!!

Very nice hotel. Clean and convenient. Can't beat the location if you want to spend time on Michigan Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marin county, California
Jun 1, 2011

Excellent location. Hotel just ok.

The location is really the reason I stay there. The rooms are just ok, the view was of the back of another hotel. The room was beside the cleaning ladies closet so you heard her setting up her cart early every morning. Between my visit last year and this year, all in all it's just ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast all day at the Original House of Pancakes, but they serve everything and it's good. So you don't have to rush to make breakfast times. That was the hardest coming from the West coast to get up early with a two hour difference and make breakfast hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kyree
Business
Ann Arbor , MI
Apr 26, 2011

Weekend Getaway

My boyfriend and I went here for a weekend. It was very clean, but i didn't get the plush feeling presented in the pictures online. I actually chose this hotel over others because it looked GREAT online. When we got here it was very well kept, staff was ok, and amenities were fine, but I definitely think we could have spent half as much and gotten the same treatment. In my opinion it is a good hotel and just good.We had two people in the room and only one robe, one set of towels. We never got another set (although i'm positive that was our mistake as my bf may not have called down for more) but we should have never had to! Nothing is Gratis and for all the money you spend each night something you be! lol And like everyone else I agree the location is amazing the Restaurant downstairs was surprisingly completely opposite. A bit pricey, but waiters were excellent and the food was divine. THAT TROUT was amazing! I will come back to the restaurant even if i do not return to the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cheesecake factory is right across the street! omg.. Why did we wait until leaving to go there i do not know! As great as the restaurant was I must say nothing can compare to just plain and simple great food and it doesnt cost an arm and a leg. Great for brunch with my sigfig other!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Citizens11
Business
Grand Blanc MI
Apr 24, 2011

Overall, a good place to stay

The hotel is in a great location accross the street from the Hancock Tower and at the North end of the "mile". The staff was very professional and freindly. The rooms are nicely equipped, clean and comfortable. The few down points were that the walls seem to be paper thin and you could hear every noise from the rooms next to us and the hallway. Trying to get the temperature just right in the room also was a bit of a challenge as the temp controls are very slow to respond. we were only on the 4th floor and the veiw out our window was just the roof of the next door building that was 3 stories tall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try to get a deal that included Valet parking. the hotel charges $55/night for this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 11, 2011

The good, the bad, and the ugly

We 'checked in' at 5:30 and told rooms wouldn't be available for at least an hour(the bad). We needed to be somewhere by 7:00 so we told them we would be back around 10:30. My husband had to change in the lobby bathroom. They upgraded our room and gave us $40 for the bar or breakfast(the good). When my husband came back around 11:00 (I stayed out with friends) the gal behind the desk wouldn't give him a room because he wasn't me. It took him close to an hour before she would give him a key (the ugly). I have to say the other staff were all very pleasant. [...] The bathtub backed up when showering, no coffee cups in the room. I'm not sure what the upgrade was but the rooms were clean. Can't say we'll ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Mar 17, 2011

Great Location

Great location....comfortable rooms...check in staff was less not as friendly as I would expect...Frustrating because I booked through [...]they refused to honor the rewards card and credit my starwood preferred card with points for the stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On the magnifiant mile.....on Michigan ave...shopping right out the front door...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 6, 2011

OK, but not stellar

Super staff, less than extraordinary accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anthony 305
Business
Miami, Fl
Feb 21, 2011

Fantastic

Location was great. I couldn't have asked for anything more. I went up for business and flew my wife and daughter up on Friday to spend the weekend together. The drive from the airport (ORD) was not fun with all the traffic but the hotel itself was outstanding. Check-in was fast and easy. The room was comfortable. There is so much to do at ur finger tips. Directly across the street u have the John Hancock building where for $15 u can go to the 94th floor and enjoy the breath taking views of the city. The Water Tower mall is only a block away along many other shopping venues throughout the Mile. You can take a $10 cab ride to the Shedd Aquarium and enjoy a complete day in the area. You have the aquarium, The Field Museum, Planetarium, and Soldier Field within a block of eachother. You can also take another 2 mile cab ride to the Navy Pier and Children's Museum which is only located a mile from the Westin. There you can have a ton of fun. I recommend getting the Chicago Go Pass which covers entry fees to all the venues I just named. Also, within a mile of the hotel you have the Hard Rock, Al's Italian Beef (awesome sandwiches), Gino's East for great deep dish, and many more. For breakfast, u must go to Tempo Cafe. Great prices, food, people and service. That place was recommended by the door man Timmy who always had great suggestions. All in all, my stay was amazing. We even experience rain on our final day there however it wasn't ruined, the front desk provides all the guests with complimentary umbrellas. I will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You have the Water Tower mall a block away along with many other stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top