$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

4 stars
View map of 909 North Michigan Avenue, 909 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LuigiMunno
Milton, MA
Sep 5, 2012

Fantastic holiday with my wife and my two daughters

Very good experience in Westin Hotel in Chicago. The hotel is very close to all amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kyree
Business
Ann Arbor , MI
Apr 26, 2011

Weekend Getaway

My boyfriend and I went here for a weekend. It was very clean, but i didn't get the plush feeling presented in the pictures online. I actually chose this hotel over others because it looked GREAT online. When we got here it was very well kept, staff was ok, and amenities were fine, but I definitely think we could have spent half as much and gotten the same treatment. In my opinion it is a good hotel and just good.We had two people in the room and only one robe, one set of towels. We never got another set (although i'm positive that was our mistake as my bf may not have called down for more) but we should have never had to! Nothing is Gratis and for all the money you spend each night something you be! lol And like everyone else I agree the location is amazing the Restaurant downstairs was surprisingly completely opposite. A bit pricey, but waiters were excellent and the food was divine. THAT TROUT was amazing! I will come back to the restaurant even if i do not return to the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cheesecake factory is right across the street! omg.. Why did we wait until leaving to go there i do not know! As great as the restaurant was I must say nothing can compare to just plain and simple great food and it doesnt cost an arm and a leg. Great for brunch with my sigfig other!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Citizens11
Business
Grand Blanc MI
Apr 24, 2011

Overall, a good place to stay

The hotel is in a great location accross the street from the Hancock Tower and at the North end of the "mile". The staff was very professional and freindly. The rooms are nicely equipped, clean and comfortable. The few down points were that the walls seem to be paper thin and you could hear every noise from the rooms next to us and the hallway. Trying to get the temperature just right in the room also was a bit of a challenge as the temp controls are very slow to respond. we were only on the 4th floor and the veiw out our window was just the roof of the next door building that was 3 stories tall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try to get a deal that included Valet parking. the hotel charges $55/night for this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 11, 2011

The good, the bad, and the ugly

We 'checked in' at 5:30 and told rooms wouldn't be available for at least an hour(the bad). We needed to be somewhere by 7:00 so we told them we would be back around 10:30. My husband had to change in the lobby bathroom. They upgraded our room and gave us $40 for the bar or breakfast(the good). When my husband came back around 11:00 (I stayed out with friends) the gal behind the desk wouldn't give him a room because he wasn't me. It took him close to an hour before she would give him a key (the ugly). I have to say the other staff were all very pleasant. [...] The bathtub backed up when showering, no coffee cups in the room. I'm not sure what the upgrade was but the rooms were clean. Can't say we'll ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Mar 17, 2011

Great Location

Great location....comfortable rooms...check in staff was less not as friendly as I would expect...Frustrating because I booked through [...]they refused to honor the rewards card and credit my starwood preferred card with points for the stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On the magnifiant mile.....on Michigan ave...shopping right out the front door...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 6, 2011

OK, but not stellar

Super staff, less than extraordinary accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anthony 305
Business
Miami, Fl
Feb 21, 2011

Fantastic

Location was great. I couldn't have asked for anything more. I went up for business and flew my wife and daughter up on Friday to spend the weekend together. The drive from the airport (ORD) was not fun with all the traffic but the hotel itself was outstanding. Check-in was fast and easy. The room was comfortable. There is so much to do at ur finger tips. Directly across the street u have the John Hancock building where for $15 u can go to the 94th floor and enjoy the breath taking views of the city. The Water Tower mall is only a block away along many other shopping venues throughout the Mile. You can take a $10 cab ride to the Shedd Aquarium and enjoy a complete day in the area. You have the aquarium, The Field Museum, Planetarium, and Soldier Field within a block of eachother. You can also take another 2 mile cab ride to the Navy Pier and Children's Museum which is only located a mile from the Westin. There you can have a ton of fun. I recommend getting the Chicago Go Pass which covers entry fees to all the venues I just named. Also, within a mile of the hotel you have the Hard Rock, Al's Italian Beef (awesome sandwiches), Gino's East for great deep dish, and many more. For breakfast, u must go to Tempo Cafe. Great prices, food, people and service. That place was recommended by the door man Timmy who always had great suggestions. All in all, my stay was amazing. We even experience rain on our final day there however it wasn't ruined, the front desk provides all the guests with complimentary umbrellas. I will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You have the Water Tower mall a block away along with many other stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VinaMist
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 6, 2011

Hotel review for Chicago

Very hospitable service. I was over charged for internet and a car I did not have but service took care of corrections right away. Very great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location next to shopping and entertainment. Public transportation accessible and quick.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Jan 24, 2011

Great Location-

We traveled to Chicago with a group of friends for a winter get-away.....The location was excellent for shopping, the theater, restaurants and a short bus ride to the museums. The rooms were very clean and wonderful linens. Perfect location for friends to gather for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many options for dining from were within walking distances including sandwiches to expensive dinners.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 9, 2011

Decent, but loud

The room was nice, but it was annoying that you can hear doors slamming in the hallway as if they were right in the room with you. Windows are not double-paned, so you can hear street noise also. Room was not completely prepared when we got it. They had to come in while we were there to re-stock the mini-bar. Then again, the price and location were good. But I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LEMANOLO
Business
CHINO , Ca..
Jan 6, 2011

WOW,,,, Great Service

It was Great to get at 6am to chicago and when I called the hotel they were able to get me in as EARLY as 6am... that was just PERFECT.. thank you....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you don't leave Chicago without having Dinner at the 95th floor at the John Hancock Building.. LOVE IT>>

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top