The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

4 stars
View map of 909 North Michigan Avenue, 909 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
181 reviews
Great Birthday celebration!

Staff friendly, professional & knowledgeable. Hotel clean, updated recently & will return. See full review

  • Ky Pearl
  • Jul 22, 2015
wedding trip

The location was perfect since the church was across the hotel.Pick for the Go - shuttle express... See full review

  • Bradley T.
  • Jul 2, 2015
One of many Westin hotels across the US, the Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago greets you with a dramatic sweeping staircase, soaring marble columns and glittering, modern light fixtures. But it's not just a pretty picture; handy features like flexible workspaces ('Tangent') and free Wi-Fi in the lobby are on offer for businesspeople staying in Chicago. After you've feasted on all the pan-fried fish and fillet steaks you can manage, sip an after-dinner coffee at The Grill on the Alley, overlooking the melee of the Magnificent Mile below. Catch up on your favorite shows while you're on the Stairmaster at the WestinWORKOUT 24-hour gym, or make your exercise more social, with regular evening classes like yoga or a running club.
Location
Sitting right on Michigan Avenue – Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile – The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is across from the Hancock Center, home to the John Hancock Observatory, as well as a number of familiar chains like The Cheesecake Factory restaurant. Get to the Museum of Contemporary Art within minutes, or head directly south along the Mile to get to The Loop, the city's business district, south of the river. Visitors can also wander down to the shores of Lake Michigan – Oak Street Beach is only a few steps from the Westin.
Highlights
  • 752 guestrooms
  • 23 suites
  • 27 floors
  • Restaurant/bar: The Grill on the Alley
  • Café a la Carte (serving Starbucks coffee)
  • Vending machines
  • Gym
  • Spa
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Kids club
Policies
If you're coming to Chicago with children, check out the perks of the Westin Kids Club during your stay. Younger guests get treats and night-lights in their goody-bag on arrival, as well as a healthy supply of Band-Aids.

Don't miss the LEGO Store either; it's right across the street from the Westin Hotel Chicago at the Water Tower Place.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Hotel Map

41.8996 -87.6241
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 25.75, KM; Midway Airport, (MDW), 25.75, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi

Dining

Westin Executive Club Lounge
Westin Executive Club Room guests enjoy exclusive access to the Westin Executive Club Lounge, located on the Main Building’s 14th floor with expansive Michigan Avenue views. Continental breakfast, all-day snacks, and hors d’oeuvres are served daily.
Café a la Carte
Follow the enticing aroma of Starbucks® Coffee and fresh baked breads to the lobby level, where you will find Café a la Carte.
The Grill on the Alley
The Westin Chicago boasts the newest location of The Grill on the Alley, named to the Fine Dining Hall of Fame by Nation’s Restaurant News. The Grill is known for American favorites: prime steaks, fresh seafood and homemade desserts.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kyree
Business
Ann Arbor , MI
Apr 26, 2011

Weekend Getaway

My boyfriend and I went here for a weekend. It was very clean, but i didn't get the plush feeling presented in the pictures online. I actually chose this hotel over others because it looked GREAT online. When we got here it was very well kept, staff was ok, and amenities were fine, but I definitely think we could have spent half as much and gotten the same treatment. In my opinion it is a good hotel and just good.We had two people in the room and only one robe, one set of towels. We never got another set (although i'm positive that was our mistake as my bf may not have called down for more) but we should have never had to! Nothing is Gratis and for all the money you spend each night something you be! lol And like everyone else I agree the location is amazing the Restaurant downstairs was surprisingly completely opposite. A bit pricey, but waiters were excellent and the food was divine. THAT TROUT was amazing! I will come back to the restaurant even if i do not return to the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cheesecake factory is right across the street! omg.. Why did we wait until leaving to go there i do not know! As great as the restaurant was I must say nothing can compare to just plain and simple great food and it doesnt cost an arm and a leg. Great for brunch with my sigfig other!

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Citizens11
Business
Grand Blanc MI
Apr 24, 2011

Overall, a good place to stay

The hotel is in a great location accross the street from the Hancock Tower and at the North end of the "mile". The staff was very professional and freindly. The rooms are nicely equipped, clean and comfortable. The few down points were that the walls seem to be paper thin and you could hear every noise from the rooms next to us and the hallway. Trying to get the temperature just right in the room also was a bit of a challenge as the temp controls are very slow to respond. we were only on the 4th floor and the veiw out our window was just the roof of the next door building that was 3 stories tall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Try to get a deal that included Valet parking. the hotel charges $55/night for this.

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 11, 2011

The good, the bad, and the ugly

We 'checked in' at 5:30 and told rooms wouldn't be available for at least an hour(the bad). We needed to be somewhere by 7:00 so we told them we would be back around 10:30. My husband had to change in the lobby bathroom. They upgraded our room and gave us $40 for the bar or breakfast(the good). When my husband came back around 11:00 (I stayed out with friends) the gal behind the desk wouldn't give him a room because he wasn't me. It took him close to an hour before she would give him a key (the ugly). I have to say the other staff were all very pleasant. [...] The bathtub backed up when showering, no coffee cups in the room. I'm not sure what the upgrade was but the rooms were clean. Can't say we'll ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Mar 17, 2011

Great Location

Great location....comfortable rooms...check in staff was less not as friendly as I would expect...Frustrating because I booked through [...]they refused to honor the rewards card and credit my starwood preferred card with points for the stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On the magnifiant mile.....on Michigan ave...shopping right out the front door...

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 6, 2011

OK, but not stellar

Super staff, less than extraordinary accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Jan 24, 2011

Great Location-

We traveled to Chicago with a group of friends for a winter get-away.....The location was excellent for shopping, the theater, restaurants and a short bus ride to the museums. The rooms were very clean and wonderful linens. Perfect location for friends to gather for the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many options for dining from were within walking distances including sandwiches to expensive dinners.

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 9, 2011

Decent, but loud

The room was nice, but it was annoying that you can hear doors slamming in the hallway as if they were right in the room with you. Windows are not double-paned, so you can hear street noise also. Room was not completely prepared when we got it. They had to come in while we were there to re-stock the mini-bar. Then again, the price and location were good. But I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LEMANOLO
Business
CHINO , Ca..
Jan 6, 2011

WOW,,,, Great Service

It was Great to get at 6am to chicago and when I called the hotel they were able to get me in as EARLY as 6am... that was just PERFECT.. thank you....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you don't leave Chicago without having Dinner at the 95th floor at the John Hancock Building.. LOVE IT>>

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa barbara
Dec 29, 2010

OK, but not quite worth the price

we've stayed here a few times in the past. Always average. Nothing really special about this hotel. Good location, but there are dozens of other hotels around this location. Rooms are a bit dated. Although they were clean. You get what you pay for. (not that much)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
floridatravelers
Business
Naples, FL
Dec 27, 2010

Excellent stay

This hotel has the best location on Michigan Avenue. It is walking distance to all kinds of shops and restaurants. It's close to public transportation or a cab ride away, too. I used the gym in the hotel, and it was very nice. The hotel restuarant had a great bar where we grabbed a drink before catching a cab to dinner at a new sushi restaurant. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the city!! The price was not too expensive, but worth the little extra to have the location and ammenities!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top