$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Westin Chicago River North

4 stars
320 North Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
98 reviews
Epicenter of Everything

the location on the river can't be beat. next to all the great restaurants and near all public... See full review

  • Local yocal
  • Jul 7, 2014
Hotel review

Nice bed, quiet, good breakfast though a bit expensive See full review

  • Edward Chicago trip
  • May 14, 2013
Luxury and comfort steps away from main Chicago shopping areas
The Westin Chicago River North, located within minutes of financial and shopping districts of Chicago, makes it ideal for guests traveling for business or leisure. This AAA Four-Diamond award-winning hotel provides comfort and convenience in a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere. Guests have access to a wide range of facilities and amenities, including a fully equipped business and fitness center and sauna. The Westin Chicago River North is near to many trendy Chicago restaurants, providing plenty of dining options.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Situated only minutes away from Chicago city center
  • Spectacular views of the Chicago River
  • Fully equipped gym and massage services on-site
The Westin Chicago River North Rooms
Accommodations at the Westin Chicago North consist of a combination of guest rooms and suites. All feature a wide range of amenities, as well as stunning views of the Chicago skyline and Chicago River. The guest rooms are equipped with TVs with movie channels and luxury marble bathrooms. Refreshments, such as tea and coffee, are included in every room, while guests who opt to stay in the suites have access to extra amenities, including iMac computers, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary breakfast, and luxury bathroom and bedroom accessories. Accommodation is spacious, with some suites extending to more than 1,200 square feet of floor space. Anyone traveling on business is likely to appreciate the selection of convenient amenities offered in some suites, which is typically a work desk and telephones with voice mail. The Westin Chicago River North offers an executive club, which provides access to extra in-room amenities, as well as entry to the on-site lounge. There are also rooms featuring disabled facilities. Prospective guests should be aware that this is a nonsmoking hotel.
Things To Do
  • Huron Street museums and galleries (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Michigan Avenue (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies and fees
Smoke-free policy

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Chicago River North Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Sauna
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Chicago River North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8882 -87.6295
Area served
Oak Lawn, Bellwood, Cicero, Park Ridge, Elk Grove Village, Hoffman Estates, Joliet, Des Plaines, Northbrook, Naperville, Oak Brook, Palos Heights, Prospect Heights, Ravinia Park, Rosemont, Wheaton
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway International Airport, (MDW), 14.00, MI; O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 20.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Marina City: 0 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Chicago River North

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado Springs, CO
Nov 29, 2010

Lovely hotel, great location

The Westin Chicago River North is a lovely hotel, with clean, spacious rooms and all the necessary amenities. The staff was courteous and anxious to please. We will return to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do visit Millennium Park, The Bean, and the Art Institute of Chicago. We also enjoyed the caroling at Millennium Park the night after Thanksgiving. Shopping in the area is just wonderful.

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado Springs, CO
Nov 29, 2010

Lovely hotel, great location

The Westin Chicago River North is a lovely hotel, with clean, spacious rooms and all the necessary amenities. The staff was courteous and anxious to please. We will return to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Do visit Millennium Park, The Bean, and the Art Institute of Chicago. We also enjoyed the caroling at Millennium Park the night after Thanksgiving. Shopping in the area is just wonderful.

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 25, 2008

Great room, loud neighbors

The Westin Chicago River North has large, comfortable rooms, but they do not keep out the sound from the hallway or surrounding rooms. Our second night we were kept awake all night long by a loud wedding party; around 4:00 a.m. the manager of the hotel finally threatened to make the party members leave the property if they did not quiet down. When we complained the next day to the front desk, they offered to move us to another room, but said they had two more wedding parties checking in that day, and could not guarantee that we would not be subjected to more of the same type of noise if we moved. Location of the hotel is wonderful, close to all types of restaurants, attractions, and public transportation. I would think twice before staying at this Westin property again, they didn't seem too concerned that we were unsatisfied guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The House of Blues and Harry Carey's Bar is right across the street.

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 25, 2008

Great room, loud neighbors

The Westin Chicago River North has large, comfortable rooms, but they do not keep out the sound from the hallway or surrounding rooms. Our second night we were kept awake all night long by a loud wedding party; around 4:00 a.m. the manager of the hotel finally threatened to make the party members leave the property if they did not quiet down. When we complained the next day to the front desk, they offered to move us to another room, but said they had two more wedding parties checking in that day, and could not guarantee that we would not be subjected to more of the same type of noise if we moved. Location of the hotel is wonderful, close to all types of restaurants, attractions, and public transportation. I would think twice before staying at this Westin property again, they didn't seem too concerned that we were unsatisfied guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The House of Blues and Harry Carey's Bar is right across the street.

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indy
Feb 15, 2010

Not so heavenly

My overall experience was just OK. Nothing grand that's for sure. The bed wasn't all that heavenly. They charge for Wi-Fi. Most hotels that I stay at you can get Wi-Fi for free. My husband brought his computer from home to do work and had to pay for the Wi-Fi. There were flies in the bathroom too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save a little money park at one of the self-parks. This is where the valet parks your car anyways. It is $10 cheaper (plus there is no tip involved), especially if you know you won't be driving in and out of the hotel.

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I.MacKay
Lake Orion, MI
Feb 15, 2010

Beware upgraded room bookers.

My girlfriend and I decided to take a romantic trip to Chicago for Valentine's Day. [...]The room was a mixed reaction. The beds were some of the most comfortable that we've ever crashed on. There was a lack of electical outlets, the bathroom looked as though a bad contractor threw it together in one night. Light switches were not even flush to the wall. The "heavenly" showerhead is actually 2, and not very practical for anyone shorter than 6ft. The minibar was outrageously expensive, as everything was maked up 400 to 500% over normal store prices. Not our idea of a luxury hotel. The manager was nice enough to allow us two continental breakfast vouchers at the in house restaurant, Ember, for the two of us and the rest of our stay. Said breakfast was good, service was ok, but we were thankful for the vouchers as the buffet breakfast we just had, with tax, was $49. Though not usually open for evening meals, Ember had a great VDay special: 4 course dinner for $42 with amazing food and excellent service. Could possibly be the only thing that saved our vacation.Their Hana Lounge was ok, great service, nice atmosphere but a little pricier.Location was decent, as it is directly across the street from The House of Blues, Harry Carey's and only a block or two from a CVS (where you can pick up unlimited bus/train passes) or Starbucks. Only a couple blocks from the loop, you can make anywhere in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If travelling long distances around town, puchase a CTA unlimited bus and train pass for the price of about two rides a day at CVS. You can pick them up at any CVS or the cultural center or the Sears/Willis Tower.

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Oct 22, 2009

Westi River North-Couldnt be worse!

We were so excited for our stay in Chicago, probably too excited. Upon arriving at the hotel we accidently tried to check into our rooms at the concierge instead of at the front desk. The employee then proceeded to point to the front desk while her fellow female employee was laughing at us while she was on the telephone. Nonetheless we did manage to check into our rooms which was very nice but was told by the front desk attendant we'll give you a king sized bed but you'll have no view. As I questioned her for an upgrade she looked to her right and quickly stated "We're sold out" [...] No big deal, my wife and I just wanted to put our bags down as we had dinner reservations with friends from Chicago and the surrounding area. So we spent our nights staring at the bright House of Blues sign. No one ever asked how was our stay, no one gave us any reason to come back, in fact the checkout process was done by the coldest employee I have ever met in any customer service field. I was shocked that the gentleman who was being serviced next to me in line was asked questions such as How was your trip? how was your stay? Is there anything more I could do for you? Did you see "The Bean?" It was as if this employee really cared about the guest.As for me I told my desk attendant my flight isn't for another 8 hours where may i leave my bags and, of course, he pointed to nowhere in particular and said "Over There" while staring at his computer screen. We have stayed at many hotels this year alone at the Hyatt in Maui, the Wyndham in St. Thomas, both the Hilton and the Marriott in NYC, a cruise line to the bahamas,and even the Renaissance Hotel and we have never been profiled like this on any of our vactions. My wife and I couldnt believe that two minority professionals were treated this way repeatdly on our stay. Followed to the elevator at night? The only time the doors were opened for us was when we were picked up to go to the airport? Sorry for the long write-up but I'm not ever coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk the Double Decker Tour for three days its worth it.

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I.MacKay
Lake Orion, MI
Feb 15, 2010

Beware upgraded room bookers.

My girlfriend and I decided to take a romantic trip to Chicago for Valentine's Day. [...]The room was a mixed reaction. The beds were some of the most comfortable that we've ever crashed on. There was a lack of electical outlets, the bathroom looked as though a bad contractor threw it together in one night. Light switches were not even flush to the wall. The "heavenly" showerhead is actually 2, and not very practical for anyone shorter than 6ft. The minibar was outrageously expensive, as everything was maked up 400 to 500% over normal store prices. Not our idea of a luxury hotel. The manager was nice enough to allow us two continental breakfast vouchers at the in house restaurant, Ember, for the two of us and the rest of our stay. Said breakfast was good, service was ok, but we were thankful for the vouchers as the buffet breakfast we just had, with tax, was $49. Though not usually open for evening meals, Ember had a great VDay special: 4 course dinner for $42 with amazing food and excellent service. Could possibly be the only thing that saved our vacation.Their Hana Lounge was ok, great service, nice atmosphere but a little pricier.Location was decent, as it is directly across the street from The House of Blues, Harry Carey's and only a block or two from a CVS (where you can pick up unlimited bus/train passes) or Starbucks. Only a couple blocks from the loop, you can make anywhere in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If travelling long distances around town, puchase a CTA unlimited bus and train pass for the price of about two rides a day at CVS. You can pick them up at any CVS or the cultural center or the Sears/Willis Tower.

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Oct 22, 2009

Westi River North-Couldnt be worse!

We were so excited for our stay in Chicago, probably too excited. Upon arriving at the hotel we accidently tried to check into our rooms at the concierge instead of at the front desk. The employee then proceeded to point to the front desk while her fellow female employee was laughing at us while she was on the telephone. Nonetheless we did manage to check into our rooms which was very nice but was told by the front desk attendant we'll give you a king sized bed but you'll have no view. As I questioned her for an upgrade she looked to her right and quickly stated "We're sold out" [...] No big deal, my wife and I just wanted to put our bags down as we had dinner reservations with friends from Chicago and the surrounding area. So we spent our nights staring at the bright House of Blues sign. No one ever asked how was our stay, no one gave us any reason to come back, in fact the checkout process was done by the coldest employee I have ever met in any customer service field. I was shocked that the gentleman who was being serviced next to me in line was asked questions such as How was your trip? how was your stay? Is there anything more I could do for you? Did you see "The Bean?" It was as if this employee really cared about the guest.As for me I told my desk attendant my flight isn't for another 8 hours where may i leave my bags and, of course, he pointed to nowhere in particular and said "Over There" while staring at his computer screen. We have stayed at many hotels this year alone at the Hyatt in Maui, the Wyndham in St. Thomas, both the Hilton and the Marriott in NYC, a cruise line to the bahamas,and even the Renaissance Hotel and we have never been profiled like this on any of our vactions. My wife and I couldnt believe that two minority professionals were treated this way repeatdly on our stay. Followed to the elevator at night? The only time the doors were opened for us was when we were picked up to go to the airport? Sorry for the long write-up but I'm not ever coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk the Double Decker Tour for three days its worth it.

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Feb 15, 2010

Not the Best stay this time

My husband and I are from Chicago and have stayed at the different Westin locations many of times since moving away from the city. We usually like the Westin River North because the rooms are nice and it generally has a good environment but this time things seemed to have really changed. The last time we were there was about 10 months ago, and I would say many things have changed. First, we were suppose to have a room with a king size bed, and instead, they gave us 2 double beds. I had to talk to reception to get things changed. [...] The staff there was not that pleasant to work with. Then, after complaining enough they offer to give us an accessible King room. This meant of was capable for handicapped people. However, this roomed seemed dirty. Our feet suck to the floor in the bathroom, and the room had a terrible smell. When we woke up the first night, it smelled like a combination of a bar the next day after too much alcohol had been spilled on the floor and a dirty ashtray. The room continued to have a funny smell in the bathroom which was very musty. I am not sure what this was from but it could have been from all the water that sprayed across the floor from the shower. In addition, it seemed like a completely different atmosphere from our previous stays. I would also say the service was not that great. There weren't even any doormen around on Sunday. The place seemed like a ghost town. Overall, I think the Westin River North needs a bit of a clean-up. It was a strange stay, and I think it will be awhile before we stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top