$224 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

The Westin Chicago River North

4 stars
View map of 320 North Dearborn Street, 320 North Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Chicago River North

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Packer fan and shopper
Business
Green bay
Nov 17, 2009

luxury hotel

My husband had a meeting in Chicago..my son works in Chicago so I wentalong to catch a play, shop and visit. The location is perfect for theater,,short 3 block walk. It is more of a hike to Water Tower shopping but easily done (just do not but much!!) Lots of restaurants close by. Dusappointed that some hotel TV cable channels were not working...we wanted to see the packer game

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters are do close by!!!Even without a prepaid ticket you can go the the theaters and waitlist!!

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arata
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 16, 2009

Westin

The hotel was great...closed to everything and very clean! My bedrrom was great...nothing to say about it. However, when i got there for the chek in, the girl was kind of cold tho!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MSP
Nov 16, 2009

Heavenly get away.

The hotel was quiet, and they truly do have heavenly beds - incredibly comfortable. Food was great at the hotel, and fantastic at nearby resturants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arata
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 16, 2009

Westin

The hotel was great...closed to everything and very clean! My bedrrom was great...nothing to say about it. However, when i got there for the chek in, the girl was kind of cold tho!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 27, 2009

Exactly what we wanted

Rooms were comfortable and quiet, room service was very prompt, and really reasonable considering we were downtown chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Oct 22, 2009

Westi River North-Couldnt be worse!

We were so excited for our stay in Chicago, probably too excited. Upon arriving at the hotel we accidently tried to check into our rooms at the concierge instead of at the front desk. The employee then proceeded to point to the front desk while her fellow female employee was laughing at us while she was on the telephone. Nonetheless we did manage to check into our rooms which was very nice but was told by the front desk attendant we'll give you a king sized bed but you'll have no view. As I questioned her for an upgrade she looked to her right and quickly stated "We're sold out" [...] No big deal, my wife and I just wanted to put our bags down as we had dinner reservations with friends from Chicago and the surrounding area. So we spent our nights staring at the bright House of Blues sign. No one ever asked how was our stay, no one gave us any reason to come back, in fact the checkout process was done by the coldest employee I have ever met in any customer service field. I was shocked that the gentleman who was being serviced next to me in line was asked questions such as How was your trip? how was your stay? Is there anything more I could do for you? Did you see "The Bean?" It was as if this employee really cared about the guest.As for me I told my desk attendant my flight isn't for another 8 hours where may i leave my bags and, of course, he pointed to nowhere in particular and said "Over There" while staring at his computer screen. We have stayed at many hotels this year alone at the Hyatt in Maui, the Wyndham in St. Thomas, both the Hilton and the Marriott in NYC, a cruise line to the bahamas,and even the Renaissance Hotel and we have never been profiled like this on any of our vactions. My wife and I couldnt believe that two minority professionals were treated this way repeatdly on our stay. Followed to the elevator at night? The only time the doors were opened for us was when we were picked up to go to the airport? Sorry for the long write-up but I'm not ever coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk the Double Decker Tour for three days its worth it.

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Oct 12, 2009

Excellent hotel with a bad restaurant!

Overall, we had a good experience, however the service at the main restaurant is bad, for breakfast they are short of waiters, the buffet is poor but the price is high ($ 20 plus tax)... But don't worry, there are plenty of excellent restaurants and coffee shops in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lisle, IL
Aug 17, 2009

Great weekend get-away!

The rooms are super comfortable and very spacious! The resturaunt was great for lunch-- not too pricey. The location made everything better because we were close to eating, tourist spots and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anteem
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 5, 2009

Great location, staff and atmosphere

The hotel was in a perfect location for accessing transit, recreation and restaurants. We loved walking along the river and were a mile or less from any place we wanted to walk. The Club Level was worth the extra cost, we took advantage of the continental breakfast, appetizers in the evening, fitness center (with great equipment and even a free 10 minute seated massage!) and iMac in the room. Overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dover
Jul 29, 2009

enjoyable

close to resturants and shopping and is centrally located for most of the attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the waterfront resturant is located next door to the hotel and the food was great and the price was very reasonable

Back to menu Return to top