$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

The Westin Chicago River North

4 stars
View map of 320 North Dearborn Street, 320 North Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60654

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Chicago River North

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Feb 15, 2010

Worthy

Great room, average food, and disappointing customer service. The bartender couldn't have cared less that my friend and i were there. Slow and tedious. Great room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indy
Feb 15, 2010

Not so heavenly

My overall experience was just OK. Nothing grand that's for sure. The bed wasn't all that heavenly. They charge for Wi-Fi. Most hotels that I stay at you can get Wi-Fi for free. My husband brought his computer from home to do work and had to pay for the Wi-Fi. There were flies in the bathroom too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save a little money park at one of the self-parks. This is where the valet parks your car anyways. It is $10 cheaper (plus there is no tip involved), especially if you know you won't be driving in and out of the hotel.

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I.MacKay
Business
Lake Orion, MI
Feb 15, 2010

Beware upgraded room bookers.

My girlfriend and I decided to take a romantic trip to Chicago for Valentine's Day. [...]The room was a mixed reaction. The beds were some of the most comfortable that we've ever crashed on. There was a lack of electical outlets, the bathroom looked as though a bad contractor threw it together in one night. Light switches were not even flush to the wall. The "heavenly" showerhead is actually 2, and not very practical for anyone shorter than 6ft. The minibar was outrageously expensive, as everything was maked up 400 to 500% over normal store prices. Not our idea of a luxury hotel. The manager was nice enough to allow us two continental breakfast vouchers at the in house restaurant, Ember, for the two of us and the rest of our stay. Said breakfast was good, service was ok, but we were thankful for the vouchers as the buffet breakfast we just had, with tax, was $49. Though not usually open for evening meals, Ember had a great VDay special: 4 course dinner for $42 with amazing food and excellent service. Could possibly be the only thing that saved our vacation.Their Hana Lounge was ok, great service, nice atmosphere but a little pricier.Location was decent, as it is directly across the street from The House of Blues, Harry Carey's and only a block or two from a CVS (where you can pick up unlimited bus/train passes) or Starbucks. Only a couple blocks from the loop, you can make anywhere in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If travelling long distances around town, puchase a CTA unlimited bus and train pass for the price of about two rides a day at CVS. You can pick them up at any CVS or the cultural center or the Sears/Willis Tower.

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Feb 15, 2010

The Couple Spot

The location is outstanding, downtown in the heart of Chicago. The room was beautiful, very large, private, quiet, and clean. Stayed at the Sheraton last time and would recommend the Westin over the Sheraton. Prices were a bit more due to being on a weekend but it was still worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants are nearby and are a quick walk away.

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 15, 2010

Not the Best stay this time

My husband and I are from Chicago and have stayed at the different Westin locations many of times since moving away from the city. We usually like the Westin River North because the rooms are nice and it generally has a good environment but this time things seemed to have really changed. The last time we were there was about 10 months ago, and I would say many things have changed. First, we were suppose to have a room with a king size bed, and instead, they gave us 2 double beds. I had to talk to reception to get things changed. [...] The staff there was not that pleasant to work with. Then, after complaining enough they offer to give us an accessible King room. This meant of was capable for handicapped people. However, this roomed seemed dirty. Our feet suck to the floor in the bathroom, and the room had a terrible smell. When we woke up the first night, it smelled like a combination of a bar the next day after too much alcohol had been spilled on the floor and a dirty ashtray. The room continued to have a funny smell in the bathroom which was very musty. I am not sure what this was from but it could have been from all the water that sprayed across the floor from the shower. In addition, it seemed like a completely different atmosphere from our previous stays. I would also say the service was not that great. There weren't even any doormen around on Sunday. The place seemed like a ghost town. Overall, I think the Westin River North needs a bit of a clean-up. It was a strange stay, and I think it will be awhile before we stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sep
Business
camden, sc
Jan 5, 2010

the hidden costs

hotel personnel were friendly and helpful. However the hidden cost of the parking fee... $48/day was a very unhappy surprise. I would have liked to know this info BEFORE booking! The constant running of the toilet and its inability to flush should not be a characteristic of a hotel of this caliber. After reviewing the info on the hotel as "heavenly", the towels as well left a LOT to be desired. Their number, minimal, and their advertised softness , non-existent. The robes, advertised as heavenly, were non-existent ...as in we DIDN'T have any!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Einsteins Bagels serves a great inexpensive breakfast. Always with a smile and quick service!

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LittleTexas
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 9, 2009

Chicago First Timer

Great trip. Excellent access to wherever you could want to go downtown. Only complaint was heater was not working in the bathroom during a snowstorm in December!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waylo
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 2, 2009

Great location

This is a great location smack in the middle of a very vibrant (ok, somewhat touristy) Chicago. Lots of nearby restaurants and shopping. The elevated train is very accessible so you can easily walk to and from the stations which connect you to the airports easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 22, 2009

Great location

Nice hotel with an excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MSP
Nov 16, 2009

Heavenly get away.

The hotel was quiet, and they truly do have heavenly beds - incredibly comfortable. Food was great at the hotel, and fantastic at nearby resturants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top