$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Westin Chicago River North

4 stars
320 North Dearborn Street, 320 North Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
54 reviews
Epicenter of Everything

the location on the river can't be beat. next to all the great restaurants and near all public... See full review

  • Local yocal
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great Central Location

This Westin definitely follows what you would expect in a Westin. Clean lines, modern luxury style... See full review

  • Crurle
  • Aug 5, 2010
Luxury and comfort steps away from main Chicago shopping areas
The Westin Chicago River North, located within minutes of financial and shopping districts of Chicago, makes it ideal for guests traveling for business or leisure. This AAA Four-Diamond award-winning hotel provides comfort and convenience in a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere. Guests have access to a wide range of facilities and amenities, including a fully equipped business and fitness center and sauna. The Westin Chicago River North is near to many trendy Chicago restaurants, providing plenty of dining options.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Situated only minutes away from Chicago city center
  • Spectacular views of the Chicago River
  • Fully equipped gym and massage services on-site
The Westin Chicago River North Rooms
Accommodations at the Westin Chicago North consist of a combination of guest rooms and suites. All feature a wide range of amenities, as well as stunning views of the Chicago skyline and Chicago River. The guest rooms are equipped with TVs with movie channels and luxury marble bathrooms. Refreshments, such as tea and coffee, are included in every room, while guests who opt to stay in the suites have access to extra amenities, including iMac computers, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary breakfast, and luxury bathroom and bedroom accessories. Accommodation is spacious, with some suites extending to more than 1,200 square feet of floor space. Anyone traveling on business is likely to appreciate the selection of convenient amenities offered in some suites, which is typically a work desk and telephones with voice mail. The Westin Chicago River North offers an executive club, which provides access to extra in-room amenities, as well as entry to the on-site lounge. There are also rooms featuring disabled facilities. Prospective guests should be aware that this is a nonsmoking hotel.
Things To Do
  • Huron Street museums and galleries (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Michigan Avenue (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies and fees
Smoke-free policy

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Chicago River North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin Chicago River North Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Sauna
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Marina City: 0 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Chicago River North

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Oct 22, 2009

Westi River North-Couldnt be worse!

We were so excited for our stay in Chicago, probably too excited. Upon arriving at the hotel we accidently tried to check into our rooms at the concierge instead of at the front desk. The employee then proceeded to point to the front desk while her fellow female employee was laughing at us while she was on the telephone. Nonetheless we did manage to check into our rooms which was very nice but was told by the front desk attendant we'll give you a king sized bed but you'll have no view. As I questioned her for an upgrade she looked to her right and quickly stated "We're sold out" [...] No big deal, my wife and I just wanted to put our bags down as we had dinner reservations with friends from Chicago and the surrounding area. So we spent our nights staring at the bright House of Blues sign. No one ever asked how was our stay, no one gave us any reason to come back, in fact the checkout process was done by the coldest employee I have ever met in any customer service field. I was shocked that the gentleman who was being serviced next to me in line was asked questions such as How was your trip? how was your stay? Is there anything more I could do for you? Did you see "The Bean?" It was as if this employee really cared about the guest.As for me I told my desk attendant my flight isn't for another 8 hours where may i leave my bags and, of course, he pointed to nowhere in particular and said "Over There" while staring at his computer screen. We have stayed at many hotels this year alone at the Hyatt in Maui, the Wyndham in St. Thomas, both the Hilton and the Marriott in NYC, a cruise line to the bahamas,and even the Renaissance Hotel and we have never been profiled like this on any of our vactions. My wife and I couldnt believe that two minority professionals were treated this way repeatdly on our stay. Followed to the elevator at night? The only time the doors were opened for us was when we were picked up to go to the airport? Sorry for the long write-up but I'm not ever coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk the Double Decker Tour for three days its worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Oct 12, 2009

Excellent hotel with a bad restaurant!

Overall, we had a good experience, however the service at the main restaurant is bad, for breakfast they are short of waiters, the buffet is poor but the price is high ($ 20 plus tax)... But don't worry, there are plenty of excellent restaurants and coffee shops in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lisle, IL
Aug 17, 2009

Great weekend get-away!

The rooms are super comfortable and very spacious! The resturaunt was great for lunch-- not too pricey. The location made everything better because we were close to eating, tourist spots and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anteem
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 5, 2009

Great location, staff and atmosphere

The hotel was in a perfect location for accessing transit, recreation and restaurants. We loved walking along the river and were a mile or less from any place we wanted to walk. The Club Level was worth the extra cost, we took advantage of the continental breakfast, appetizers in the evening, fitness center (with great equipment and even a free 10 minute seated massage!) and iMac in the room. Overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dover
Jul 29, 2009

enjoyable

close to resturants and shopping and is centrally located for most of the attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the waterfront resturant is located next door to the hotel and the food was great and the price was very reasonable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, New YOrk
Jul 10, 2009

Great Value

Afterr a day of work, I was able to relax in a beautiful room that was spacious, private and certainly felt like I paid double for it....clean, restful and more than worth my money - I will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a wonderful meal along the river and watch the sights and scenes of Chicago pass by...fabulous experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston , MA
Jun 27, 2009

Nice hotel

Overall we loved our stay, we got an executive floor , and a room looking over the river, it was really nice sitting on the chaise and looking out the windows. The restaurant was closed but the lounge was great. Rooms are aging, but ours was very nice still. They are conserving - we had one bar of soap for three nights. We had to ask for more. The robes were getting worn and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is not bad, although it is not right on Michigan Ave, it is minutes away and it's tucked between the river and Millenium park and the middle of Michigan ave, so actually it was a perfect location and a short walk to ferry stop away from Navy pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soby
Business
waukegan, il
Jun 7, 2009

Westin

The service was great and at a reasonable price. We requested extra towels and we got them right away, and then they even followed up to see if we got them. I would come back if I had a chance. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburg, CA
Sep 3, 2008

Very hip and chic hotel. Very contemporary.

I enjoyed my stay at the Westin. All of the features were gorgeous. This hotel was centrally located and within walking distance of lots of eatiers and historic sites. I didn't need a car or feel the need to take a taxi. I did have guests stay over and was unaware of the VERY expensive valet service, I'll know not to have that happen again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is seconds from the lovely Chicago River. There is an off-street entrance and also an entrance from the hotel. I spent many day and nights watching boaters go up and down the river. This river and its historic vibe reminded me of Paris' Seine River

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Auburn
Jun 17, 2008

Flawless Service

The Westin at River North in Chicago is a great place to stay. Right off the Magnificent Mile, it is convenient to the CTA ( public transportation ). The hotel staff could not do enough for you - every request I had was courteously respondedto immediately. The daily brunch is good value for the money ( around $ 20.00 ) It is very peaceful and quiet. The rooms were immaculate and the ambience encourages relaxation......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All kinds of great shopping and restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel, along with the House of Blues which is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top