The Westin Chicago River North

4 stars
320 North Dearborn Street, 320 North Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
54 reviews
Epicenter of Everything

the location on the river can't be beat. next to all the great restaurants and near all public... See full review

  • Local yocal
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great Central Location

This Westin definitely follows what you would expect in a Westin. Clean lines, modern luxury style... See full review

  • Crurle
  • Aug 5, 2010
Luxury and comfort steps away from main Chicago shopping areas
The Westin Chicago River North, located within minutes of financial and shopping districts of Chicago, makes it ideal for guests traveling for business or leisure. This AAA Four-Diamond award-winning hotel provides comfort and convenience in a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere. Guests have access to a wide range of facilities and amenities, including a fully equipped business and fitness center and sauna. The Westin Chicago River North is near to many trendy Chicago restaurants, providing plenty of dining options.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Situated only minutes away from Chicago city center
  • Spectacular views of the Chicago River
  • Fully equipped gym and massage services on-site
The Westin Chicago River North Rooms
Accommodations at the Westin Chicago North consist of a combination of guest rooms and suites. All feature a wide range of amenities, as well as stunning views of the Chicago skyline and Chicago River. The guest rooms are equipped with TVs with movie channels and luxury marble bathrooms. Refreshments, such as tea and coffee, are included in every room, while guests who opt to stay in the suites have access to extra amenities, including iMac computers, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary breakfast, and luxury bathroom and bedroom accessories. Accommodation is spacious, with some suites extending to more than 1,200 square feet of floor space. Anyone traveling on business is likely to appreciate the selection of convenient amenities offered in some suites, which is typically a work desk and telephones with voice mail. The Westin Chicago River North offers an executive club, which provides access to extra in-room amenities, as well as entry to the on-site lounge. There are also rooms featuring disabled facilities. Prospective guests should be aware that this is a nonsmoking hotel.
Things To Do
  • Huron Street museums and galleries (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Michigan Avenue (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies and fees
Smoke-free policy

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Chicago River North Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Hotel Map

41.8882 -87.6295
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 32.19, KM; Midway Airport, (MDW), 22.53, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Nearby points of interest

  • Marina City: 0 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi

Dining

Ember Grille
An eclectic menu of American favorites, an exciting wine list, and our chic contemporary décor make Ember Grille a hot spot for breakfast, lunch, and private dinners.
Hana Lounge
The exotic flavors of Japan take center stage at Hana Lounge, where a cozy wood bar invites you to relax over sushi, sake, and spirits.
Kamehachi Sushi Bar
Located at the heart of Hana Lounge, Kamehachi Sushi Bar delights sushi lovers and novices alike with expertly prepared nigri, maki, and sashimi, all made with the highest—and most delicious—grade of fresh seafood.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Chicago River North

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
former downtown girl
Business
chicago
Mar 29, 2010

Great location, beautiful hotel

Went to dinner and out on the town. Many great restaurants in the area within walking distance. Room had great view of the river. Only issue was nightcap at the hotel was almost the price of 1/2 of our entire dinner tab at a nice nearby restaurant (incl bottle of wine). No wine or drink specials there! Beautiful comfortable seating area though and sleek modern decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NY Writer
Business
Yaphank, NY
Mar 22, 2010

Great hotel in a great location

The Westin Chicago River North was arguably the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The location of the hotel, right off the river, couldn't have been any better, especially for a St. Patrick's Day trip. It was centrally located to almost everything. If you're looking to do most of your activities in downtown Chicago this is the hotel to book. Wrigleyville was a bit far away, about a 15 minute subway ride, but you can't have everything I guess. The service was awesome as well. I did not get the names of the people at the front desk or the concierges but they were all very knowledgable of the area and super friendly. One concierge took her time to tell me exactly where everything is one a map and how to get to the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is within waking distance of this hotel. If not walking distance than a short, cheap cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Troy, WI
Mar 11, 2010

Excellent hotel, great location

We stayed one night during the week. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the bell captain and front desk person. Although we arrived early (2 hours before check in) we were given a room quickly and efficiently. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable, with the added bonus of a great view. We will stay at the hotel again whenever we go to Chicago; the location is perfect for what we like to do. It's pricey, but this is Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many great restaurants within easy walking distance of Westin North. Also, House of Blues is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Feb 23, 2010

Couples Retreat

The most comfortable bed ever and the dual shower heads, heavinly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Japanese student
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Feb 21, 2010

Good hotel

They kindly gave us the information about the landmarks and places to see. The location was good, not that far from CTA(train) station. They had a lot of things (BGMs, decorations) including Japanese taste in the hotel. I didn't know why, but it was interesting for our Japanese.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

John-hankock tower

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 16, 2010

Fantastic

This hotel is fantastic! Great location, walkable to Michigan Ave shopping and Millenium Park as well as many bars and resturants. The Concierge was absolutely wonderful, giving almost flawless directions and great suggestions too (Thank you [...]). Everyone was very polite and eager to serve you. I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Train station is steps away and super easy to navigate the city. Use it if you are not in a time crunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blackie Chigago
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Feb 16, 2010

Westin is TOPS

I would stay at the Westin next time I return. It's location, the room, the staff, was PERFECT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Feb 15, 2010

Worthy

Great room, average food, and disappointing customer service. The bartender couldn't have cared less that my friend and i were there. Slow and tedious. Great room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indy
Feb 15, 2010

Not so heavenly

My overall experience was just OK. Nothing grand that's for sure. The bed wasn't all that heavenly. They charge for Wi-Fi. Most hotels that I stay at you can get Wi-Fi for free. My husband brought his computer from home to do work and had to pay for the Wi-Fi. There were flies in the bathroom too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save a little money park at one of the self-parks. This is where the valet parks your car anyways. It is $10 cheaper (plus there is no tip involved), especially if you know you won't be driving in and out of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I.MacKay
Business
Lake Orion, MI
Feb 15, 2010

Beware upgraded room bookers.

My girlfriend and I decided to take a romantic trip to Chicago for Valentine's Day. [...]The room was a mixed reaction. The beds were some of the most comfortable that we've ever crashed on. There was a lack of electical outlets, the bathroom looked as though a bad contractor threw it together in one night. Light switches were not even flush to the wall. The "heavenly" showerhead is actually 2, and not very practical for anyone shorter than 6ft. The minibar was outrageously expensive, as everything was maked up 400 to 500% over normal store prices. Not our idea of a luxury hotel. The manager was nice enough to allow us two continental breakfast vouchers at the in house restaurant, Ember, for the two of us and the rest of our stay. Said breakfast was good, service was ok, but we were thankful for the vouchers as the buffet breakfast we just had, with tax, was $49. Though not usually open for evening meals, Ember had a great VDay special: 4 course dinner for $42 with amazing food and excellent service. Could possibly be the only thing that saved our vacation.Their Hana Lounge was ok, great service, nice atmosphere but a little pricier.Location was decent, as it is directly across the street from The House of Blues, Harry Carey's and only a block or two from a CVS (where you can pick up unlimited bus/train passes) or Starbucks. Only a couple blocks from the loop, you can make anywhere in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If travelling long distances around town, puchase a CTA unlimited bus and train pass for the price of about two rides a day at CVS. You can pick them up at any CVS or the cultural center or the Sears/Willis Tower.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top