$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Westin Chicago River North

4 stars
320 North Dearborn Street, 320 North Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
54 reviews
Epicenter of Everything

the location on the river can't be beat. next to all the great restaurants and near all public... See full review

  • Local yocal
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great Central Location

This Westin definitely follows what you would expect in a Westin. Clean lines, modern luxury style... See full review

  • Crurle
  • Aug 5, 2010
Luxury and comfort steps away from main Chicago shopping areas
The Westin Chicago River North, located within minutes of financial and shopping districts of Chicago, makes it ideal for guests traveling for business or leisure. This AAA Four-Diamond award-winning hotel provides comfort and convenience in a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere. Guests have access to a wide range of facilities and amenities, including a fully equipped business and fitness center and sauna. The Westin Chicago River North is near to many trendy Chicago restaurants, providing plenty of dining options.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Situated only minutes away from Chicago city center
  • Spectacular views of the Chicago River
  • Fully equipped gym and massage services on-site
The Westin Chicago River North Rooms
Accommodations at the Westin Chicago North consist of a combination of guest rooms and suites. All feature a wide range of amenities, as well as stunning views of the Chicago skyline and Chicago River. The guest rooms are equipped with TVs with movie channels and luxury marble bathrooms. Refreshments, such as tea and coffee, are included in every room, while guests who opt to stay in the suites have access to extra amenities, including iMac computers, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary breakfast, and luxury bathroom and bedroom accessories. Accommodation is spacious, with some suites extending to more than 1,200 square feet of floor space. Anyone traveling on business is likely to appreciate the selection of convenient amenities offered in some suites, which is typically a work desk and telephones with voice mail. The Westin Chicago River North offers an executive club, which provides access to extra in-room amenities, as well as entry to the on-site lounge. There are also rooms featuring disabled facilities. Prospective guests should be aware that this is a nonsmoking hotel.
Things To Do
  • Huron Street museums and galleries (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Michigan Avenue (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies and fees
Smoke-free policy

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Chicago River North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin Chicago River North Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Sauna
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Marina City: 0 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Chicago River North

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 22, 2009

Great location

Nice hotel with an excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Local yocal
Business
Winfield, IL
Jul 7, 2014

Epicenter of Everything

the location on the river can't be beat. next to all the great restaurants and near all public transportation. the rain shower head was a happy surprise as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Must for anyone from out of town is Millenium Park and you'll often encounter free music in the summer evenings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LED Travel
Business
Northern Illinois
Feb 17, 2014

Unwilling to be of assistance

The location is great. After a quick check-in, we went to our room which ended up being the ADA room (which we didn't request or need). The shower had little to no water pressure and obviously was handicapped accessible, thus, no lip on the shower pan which leads to a flooded bathroom floor. It also comes equipped with two double beds, not a king or queen. We went back to the front desk and were told "since you booked through a third-party, we can't switch you to a different room as we need to reserve the rooms for OUR guests." So when you use a third-party for your booking at this hotel, you are not considered a guest. We then went to the lobby bar for a bit and when arriving back in our room, the house-keeping manager was in our room with the door closed and promptly told us the room is supposed to be vacant and why are you in it! I asked her the better question is why is she in my room? We left for the evening and upon arrival at 3a, our key was deactivated and we had to call security to come up and let us back in. All in all, a very poor experience with terrible customer service. There many hotels in Chicago and we will make sure to visit another next time we go down for an event or the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shaw's Crab House Oyster Happy Hour is the way to go... 4-6p daily in the oyster bar 1/2 off the best oysters around!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boiler807
Business
Evansville, IN 47712, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Minor troubles at the Westin

1. Poor host coverage at restaurant. Had to find a waiter who seated us and then we had to serve drinks to ourselves (coffiee and juice) before a server came over. This was at the restaurant in the hotel. 2. House keeping did not visit our room all day and we had to call for new towels and to have room service dishware removed at 11 pm. 3. Floor ice maker did not work. Rm 502 Disappointed in these but consierge, valets, bar servers, and doormen were exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 12, 2010

Decent hotel

Overall, the Westin Riverfront is a good hotel. It is in a great location. The bed is comfortable with okay pillows and a great shower. Like most starwoods hotels, the service is excellent.My complaints are: You have to pay $10 to use the gym. I just think this should be included. [...] Lastly, the hotel hasn't been updated in a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is very close. The restaurant options if you are not a fan of steakhouses are mediocre. There is a decent wine bar across the street. Bin 36.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sep
Business
camden, sc
Jan 5, 2010

the hidden costs

hotel personnel were friendly and helpful. However the hidden cost of the parking fee... $48/day was a very unhappy surprise. I would have liked to know this info BEFORE booking! The constant running of the toilet and its inability to flush should not be a characteristic of a hotel of this caliber. After reviewing the info on the hotel as "heavenly", the towels as well left a LOT to be desired. Their number, minimal, and their advertised softness , non-existent. The robes, advertised as heavenly, were non-existent ...as in we DIDN'T have any!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Einsteins Bagels serves a great inexpensive breakfast. Always with a smile and quick service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st time party planner
Business
St. Louis
Nov 17, 2014

Great girls weeknd

Went to Chicago for a girls trip and had a good experience at the westin. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Location was perfect! Close to shopping, food, and nightlife. A little more expensive to park the car than expected. Alan the concierge was amazing!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
Aug 8, 2010

Don't stay at this Westin!

Doorman frequently absent and doors were dirty. Toilet ran for 4 days, despite numerous requests to have it fixed-I had to take the top off myself every day to get it to stop. Called to leave a wake-up call, and no one every answered. Had to go down to the desk at midnight to take care of it. Keys repeatedly did not work, and my wife was refused access to our room for over an hour, even with proper identification. Clearly not a Westin experience I would care to repeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great places. Concierge was helpful and knowledgeable. Location is great in summer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2008

Great room, loud neighbors

The Westin Chicago River North has large, comfortable rooms, but they do not keep out the sound from the hallway or surrounding rooms. Our second night we were kept awake all night long by a loud wedding party; around 4:00 a.m. the manager of the hotel finally threatened to make the party members leave the property if they did not quiet down. When we complained the next day to the front desk, they offered to move us to another room, but said they had two more wedding parties checking in that day, and could not guarantee that we would not be subjected to more of the same type of noise if we moved. Location of the hotel is wonderful, close to all types of restaurants, attractions, and public transportation. I would think twice before staying at this Westin property again, they didn't seem too concerned that we were unsatisfied guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The House of Blues and Harry Carey's Bar is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indy
Feb 15, 2010

Not so heavenly

My overall experience was just OK. Nothing grand that's for sure. The bed wasn't all that heavenly. They charge for Wi-Fi. Most hotels that I stay at you can get Wi-Fi for free. My husband brought his computer from home to do work and had to pay for the Wi-Fi. There were flies in the bathroom too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save a little money park at one of the self-parks. This is where the valet parks your car anyways. It is $10 cheaper (plus there is no tip involved), especially if you know you won't be driving in and out of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top