$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

The Westin Chicago River North

4 stars
320 North Dearborn Street, 320 North Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
55 reviews
great couple trip

It was great however you need to understand that this hotel will try to get as much money as... See full review

  • Michael W.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Epicenter of Everything

the location on the river can't be beat. next to all the great restaurants and near all public... See full review

  • Local yocal
  • Jul 7, 2014
Luxury and comfort steps away from main Chicago shopping areas
The Westin Chicago River North, located within minutes of financial and shopping districts of Chicago, makes it ideal for guests traveling for business or leisure. This AAA Four-Diamond award-winning hotel provides comfort and convenience in a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere. Guests have access to a wide range of facilities and amenities, including a fully equipped business and fitness center and sauna. The Westin Chicago River North is near to many trendy Chicago restaurants, providing plenty of dining options.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Situated only minutes away from Chicago city center
  • Spectacular views of the Chicago River
  • Fully equipped gym and massage services on-site
The Westin Chicago River North Rooms
Accommodations at the Westin Chicago North consist of a combination of guest rooms and suites. All feature a wide range of amenities, as well as stunning views of the Chicago skyline and Chicago River. The guest rooms are equipped with TVs with movie channels and luxury marble bathrooms. Refreshments, such as tea and coffee, are included in every room, while guests who opt to stay in the suites have access to extra amenities, including iMac computers, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary breakfast, and luxury bathroom and bedroom accessories. Accommodation is spacious, with some suites extending to more than 1,200 square feet of floor space. Anyone traveling on business is likely to appreciate the selection of convenient amenities offered in some suites, which is typically a work desk and telephones with voice mail. The Westin Chicago River North offers an executive club, which provides access to extra in-room amenities, as well as entry to the on-site lounge. There are also rooms featuring disabled facilities. Prospective guests should be aware that this is a nonsmoking hotel.
Things To Do
  • Huron Street museums and galleries (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Michigan Avenue (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies and fees
Smoke-free policy

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Chicago River North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin Chicago River North Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Sauna
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Marina City: 0 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Chicago River North

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 55
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael W.
Business
cape giardeau
Dec 23, 2014

great couple trip

It was great however you need to understand that this hotel will try to get as much money as possible out of you. From expensive Internet to 12 dollar domestic beers at the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Local yocal
Business
Winfield, IL
Jul 7, 2014

Epicenter of Everything

the location on the river can't be beat. next to all the great restaurants and near all public transportation. the rain shower head was a happy surprise as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Must for anyone from out of town is Millenium Park and you'll often encounter free music in the summer evenings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LED Travel
Business
Northern Illinois
Feb 17, 2014

Unwilling to be of assistance

The location is great. After a quick check-in, we went to our room which ended up being the ADA room (which we didn't request or need). The shower had little to no water pressure and obviously was handicapped accessible, thus, no lip on the shower pan which leads to a flooded bathroom floor. It also comes equipped with two double beds, not a king or queen. We went back to the front desk and were told "since you booked through a third-party, we can't switch you to a different room as we need to reserve the rooms for OUR guests." So when you use a third-party for your booking at this hotel, you are not considered a guest. We then went to the lobby bar for a bit and when arriving back in our room, the house-keeping manager was in our room with the door closed and promptly told us the room is supposed to be vacant and why are you in it! I asked her the better question is why is she in my room? We left for the evening and upon arrival at 3a, our key was deactivated and we had to call security to come up and let us back in. All in all, a very poor experience with terrible customer service. There many hotels in Chicago and we will make sure to visit another next time we go down for an event or the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shaw's Crab House Oyster Happy Hour is the way to go... 4-6p daily in the oyster bar 1/2 off the best oysters around!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HedFxr
Business
Madison, WI
Jul 2, 2012

As expected!

The Westin is a great hotel. Very convenient location, very professional and friendly staff and amenities. Only complain was $54/day for valet parking. This is a bit over the top. If they are going to charge it, they should say so up front when you are making your reservation, since it is actually part of the price of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CLWUSA
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Weekend In Chicago

The hotel was very nice and clean and our room was nice size for a big city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boiler807
Business
Evansville, IN 47712, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Minor troubles at the Westin

1. Poor host coverage at restaurant. Had to find a waiter who seated us and then we had to serve drinks to ourselves (coffiee and juice) before a server came over. This was at the restaurant in the hotel. 2. House keeping did not visit our room all day and we had to call for new towels and to have room service dishware removed at 11 pm. 3. Floor ice maker did not work. Rm 502 Disappointed in these but consierge, valets, bar servers, and doormen were exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
windsor, ont
Mar 14, 2011

nice and cozy

The staff was nice and prompt. great location. The only thing to complain of was the price of valet parking, but everything else was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Jan 25, 2011

GREAT NIGHT!

We arrived in Chicago pretty late and were met with a very friendly and attentive front desk attendant. We checked in quickly and went right to a very nice room with an awesome river view. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable and we slept in before going to our ultimate theater destination. Wicked was awesome and the good hotel experience made the weekend very romantic and perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cote D'Or
Business
Chicago
Dec 12, 2010

Westin Chicago

We stay at the Westin nearly every time we stay overnight in the city. This time we were there for our annual get together with friends for Christmas. The hotel always has a peaceful atmosphere (an important detail if you've had a little to drink the night before). The service is always really great with every member of the staff being helpful and very friendly. The beds are great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
Aug 8, 2010

Don't stay at this Westin!

Doorman frequently absent and doors were dirty. Toilet ran for 4 days, despite numerous requests to have it fixed-I had to take the top off myself every day to get it to stop. Called to leave a wake-up call, and no one every answered. Had to go down to the desk at midnight to take care of it. Keys repeatedly did not work, and my wife was refused access to our room for over an hour, even with proper identification. Clearly not a Westin experience I would care to repeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great places. Concierge was helpful and knowledgeable. Location is great in summer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top