$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

The Westin Chicago River North

4 stars
320 North Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
53 reviews
Epicenter of Everything

the location on the river can't be beat. next to all the great restaurants and near all public... See full review

  • Local yocal
  • Jul 7, 2014
Hotel review

Nice bed, quiet, good breakfast though a bit expensive See full review

  • Edward Chicago trip
  • May 14, 2013
Luxury and comfort steps away from main Chicago shopping areas
The Westin Chicago River North, located within minutes of financial and shopping districts of Chicago, makes it ideal for guests traveling for business or leisure. This AAA Four-Diamond award-winning hotel provides comfort and convenience in a relaxed and peaceful atmosphere. Guests have access to a wide range of facilities and amenities, including a fully equipped business and fitness center and sauna. The Westin Chicago River North is near to many trendy Chicago restaurants, providing plenty of dining options.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Situated only minutes away from Chicago city center
  • Spectacular views of the Chicago River
  • Fully equipped gym and massage services on-site
The Westin Chicago River North Rooms
Accommodations at the Westin Chicago North consist of a combination of guest rooms and suites. All feature a wide range of amenities, as well as stunning views of the Chicago skyline and Chicago River. The guest rooms are equipped with TVs with movie channels and luxury marble bathrooms. Refreshments, such as tea and coffee, are included in every room, while guests who opt to stay in the suites have access to extra amenities, including iMac computers, free high-speed Internet access, complimentary breakfast, and luxury bathroom and bedroom accessories. Accommodation is spacious, with some suites extending to more than 1,200 square feet of floor space. Anyone traveling on business is likely to appreciate the selection of convenient amenities offered in some suites, which is typically a work desk and telephones with voice mail. The Westin Chicago River North offers an executive club, which provides access to extra in-room amenities, as well as entry to the on-site lounge. There are also rooms featuring disabled facilities. Prospective guests should be aware that this is a nonsmoking hotel.
Things To Do
  • Huron Street museums and galleries (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Michigan Avenue (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.7 km)
Policies and fees
Smoke-free policy

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8882 -87.6295
Area served
Oak Lawn, Bellwood, Cicero, Park Ridge, Elk Grove Village, Hoffman Estates, Joliet, Des Plaines, Northbrook, Naperville, Oak Brook, Palos Heights, Prospect Heights, Ravinia Park, Rosemont, Wheaton
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway International Airport, (MDW), 14.00, MI; O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 20.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Chicago River North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin Chicago River North Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Sauna
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Marina City: 0 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Chicago River North

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 15, 2010

Not the Best stay this time

My husband and I are from Chicago and have stayed at the different Westin locations many of times since moving away from the city. We usually like the Westin River North because the rooms are nice and it generally has a good environment but this time things seemed to have really changed. The last time we were there was about 10 months ago, and I would say many things have changed. First, we were suppose to have a room with a king size bed, and instead, they gave us 2 double beds. I had to talk to reception to get things changed. [...] The staff there was not that pleasant to work with. Then, after complaining enough they offer to give us an accessible King room. This meant of was capable for handicapped people. However, this roomed seemed dirty. Our feet suck to the floor in the bathroom, and the room had a terrible smell. When we woke up the first night, it smelled like a combination of a bar the next day after too much alcohol had been spilled on the floor and a dirty ashtray. The room continued to have a funny smell in the bathroom which was very musty. I am not sure what this was from but it could have been from all the water that sprayed across the floor from the shower. In addition, it seemed like a completely different atmosphere from our previous stays. I would also say the service was not that great. There weren't even any doormen around on Sunday. The place seemed like a ghost town. Overall, I think the Westin River North needs a bit of a clean-up. It was a strange stay, and I think it will be awhile before we stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sep
Business
camden, sc
Jan 5, 2010

the hidden costs

hotel personnel were friendly and helpful. However the hidden cost of the parking fee... $48/day was a very unhappy surprise. I would have liked to know this info BEFORE booking! The constant running of the toilet and its inability to flush should not be a characteristic of a hotel of this caliber. After reviewing the info on the hotel as "heavenly", the towels as well left a LOT to be desired. Their number, minimal, and their advertised softness , non-existent. The robes, advertised as heavenly, were non-existent ...as in we DIDN'T have any!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Einsteins Bagels serves a great inexpensive breakfast. Always with a smile and quick service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LittleTexas
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 9, 2009

Chicago First Timer

Great trip. Excellent access to wherever you could want to go downtown. Only complaint was heater was not working in the bathroom during a snowstorm in December!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waylo
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 2, 2009

Great location

This is a great location smack in the middle of a very vibrant (ok, somewhat touristy) Chicago. Lots of nearby restaurants and shopping. The elevated train is very accessible so you can easily walk to and from the stations which connect you to the airports easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 22, 2009

Great location

Nice hotel with an excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Packer fan and shopper
Business
Green bay
Nov 17, 2009

luxury hotel

My husband had a meeting in Chicago..my son works in Chicago so I wentalong to catch a play, shop and visit. The location is perfect for theater,,short 3 block walk. It is more of a hike to Water Tower shopping but easily done (just do not but much!!) Lots of restaurants close by. Dusappointed that some hotel TV cable channels were not working...we wanted to see the packer game

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters are do close by!!!Even without a prepaid ticket you can go the the theaters and waitlist!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arata
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 16, 2009

Westin

The hotel was great...closed to everything and very clean! My bedrrom was great...nothing to say about it. However, when i got there for the chek in, the girl was kind of cold tho!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MSP
Nov 16, 2009

Heavenly get away.

The hotel was quiet, and they truly do have heavenly beds - incredibly comfortable. Food was great at the hotel, and fantastic at nearby resturants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 27, 2009

Exactly what we wanted

Rooms were comfortable and quiet, room service was very prompt, and really reasonable considering we were downtown chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Oct 22, 2009

Westi River North-Couldnt be worse!

We were so excited for our stay in Chicago, probably too excited. Upon arriving at the hotel we accidently tried to check into our rooms at the concierge instead of at the front desk. The employee then proceeded to point to the front desk while her fellow female employee was laughing at us while she was on the telephone. Nonetheless we did manage to check into our rooms which was very nice but was told by the front desk attendant we'll give you a king sized bed but you'll have no view. As I questioned her for an upgrade she looked to her right and quickly stated "We're sold out" [...] No big deal, my wife and I just wanted to put our bags down as we had dinner reservations with friends from Chicago and the surrounding area. So we spent our nights staring at the bright House of Blues sign. No one ever asked how was our stay, no one gave us any reason to come back, in fact the checkout process was done by the coldest employee I have ever met in any customer service field. I was shocked that the gentleman who was being serviced next to me in line was asked questions such as How was your trip? how was your stay? Is there anything more I could do for you? Did you see "The Bean?" It was as if this employee really cared about the guest.As for me I told my desk attendant my flight isn't for another 8 hours where may i leave my bags and, of course, he pointed to nowhere in particular and said "Over There" while staring at his computer screen. We have stayed at many hotels this year alone at the Hyatt in Maui, the Wyndham in St. Thomas, both the Hilton and the Marriott in NYC, a cruise line to the bahamas,and even the Renaissance Hotel and we have never been profiled like this on any of our vactions. My wife and I couldnt believe that two minority professionals were treated this way repeatdly on our stay. Followed to the elevator at night? The only time the doors were opened for us was when we were picked up to go to the airport? Sorry for the long write-up but I'm not ever coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk the Double Decker Tour for three days its worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top